A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations – also known as “Turabian” -- is the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research.
Turabian is the preferred style for the TMU Bible, Biblical Counseling and History Departments.
The attached examples illustrate the notes and bibliography style. Sample notes show full citations followed by shortened forms that may be used after the first full citation. Sample bibliography entries follow the notes. For more details and many more examples, see chapters 16 and 17 of A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, by Kate L. Turabian Revised by: Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, and William T. FitzGerald, 9th edition. ISBN: 9780226430577; Library Call Number: 808.066378 T84m, 2018; Web site: https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian
Taken from: https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018.
1. Katie Kitamura, A Separation (New York: Riverhead Books, 2017), 25.
2. Sharon Sassler and Amanda Jayne Miller, Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships (Oakland: University of California Press, 2017), 114.
3. Kitamura, Separation, 91–92.
4. Sassler and Miller, Cohabitation Nation, 205.
Kitamura, Katie. A Separation. New York: Riverhead Books, 2017.
Sassler, Sharon, and Amanda Jayne Miller. Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships. Oakland: University of California Press, 2017.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
NOTES
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Kinzie, Mary. A Poet's Guide to Poetry, 2nd ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2013.
Last updated April 2023.
To cite an edited book as a whole, list the editor(s) first.
1. John D’Agata, ed., The Making of the American Essay (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 19–20.
2. D’Agata, American Essay, 48.
D’Agata, John, ed. The Making of the American Essay. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
In a note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.
1. Mary Rowlandson, “The Narrative of My Captivity,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 19–20.
2. Rowlandson, “Captivity,” 48.
Rowlandson, Mary. “The Narrative of My Captivity.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 19–56. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
When citing a single volume of a multivolume work and it has it's own author, editor or title, include author/editor and titles of both the single volume and the multivolume work as a whole. (17.1.4.1).
NOTE:
1. John Chrysostom, "Saint Chrysostom: Homilies on Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossian, Thessalonians, Timothy, Titus, and Philemon", in A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church, ed. Philip Schaff, trans. W. C. Cotton and John Albert Broadhus, vol. 13, (New York: Christian Literature Company, 1889), 203, Logos Bible Software.
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Chrysostom, John. “Saint Chrysostom: Homilies on Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, Thessalonians, Timothy, Titus, and Philemon.” In A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church. Edited by Philip Schaff. Translated by W. C. Cotton and John Albert Broadus. Vol. 13. New York: Christian Literature Company, 1889. Logos Bible Software.
1. Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.
2. Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.
Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. For other types of e-books, name the format. If no fixed page numbers are available, cite by chapter or section number (abbreviated chap., sec.) or, if these are unnumbered, by the name of the chapter or section.
1. Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, trans. Constance Garnett, ed. William Allan Neilson (New York: P. F. Collier & Son, 1917), 444, https://archive.org/details/crimepunishment00dostuoft.
2. Eric Schlosser, Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the American Meal (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001), 88, ProQuest Ebrary.
3. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), chap. 3, Kindle.
4. Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, 504–5.
5. Schlosser, Fast Food Nation, 100.
6. Austen, Pride and Prejudice, chap. 14.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.
Dostoevsky, Fyodor. Crime and Punishment. Translated by Constance Garnett, edited by William Allan Neilson. New York: P. F. Collier & Son, 1917. https://archive.org/details/crimepunishment00dostuoft.
Schlosser, Eric. Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the American Meal. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001. ProQuest Ebrary.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
eAudiobooks require a combination of the rules for Electronic Books (17.1.10) and Sound Recordings (17.10.3.4). They are cited the same as books with the additional recording and electronic information added:
-- Include "Read by author" or the name of the reader(s): "Read by ..." after the Title.
-- Include the date recorded, if available, after the name of the Reader: "Recorded month (unabbreviated), day, year."
-- After the date of publication, put "Audio recording, hrs., min.,"
-- Add the DOI, URL or the name of the commercial database at the end of the cite.
BIBLIOGRAPHY
Author. Title. Read by [put the reader here]. Recorded [put date recorded if available]. Place of
publication: Publisher, date. Audio recording, [put hours and minutes, i.e., 13 hr., 6min.], URL.
Last updated October 2022.
1. Guadalupe Navarro-Garcia, “Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership: A Study of African American and Black University Presidents” (PhD diss., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016), 44, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
2. Navarro-Garcia, “Social Justice Values,” 125–26.
Navarro-Garcia, Guadalupe. “Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership: A Study of African American and Black University Presidents.” PhD diss., University of California, Los Angeles, 2016. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
1. Ashley Hope Pérez, “Material Morality and the Logic of Degrees in Diderot’s Le neveu de Rameau,” Modern Philology 114, no. 4 (May 2017): 874, https://doi.org/10.1086/689836.
2. Shao-Hsun Keng, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem, “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality,” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 9–10, https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
3. Peter LaSalle, “Conundrum: A Story about Reading,” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95, Project MUSE.
4. Pérez, “Material Morality,” 880–81.
5. Keng, Lin, and Orazem, “Expanding College Access,” 23.
6. LaSalle, “Conundrum,” 101.
Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 1–34. https://doi.org/10.1086/690235.
LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.
Pérez, Ashley Hope. “Material Morality and the Logic of Degrees in Diderot’s Le neveu de Rameau.” Modern Philology 114, no. 4 (May 2017): 872–98. https://doi.org/10.1086/689836.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors (not shown here), list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.
7. Jesse N. Weber et al., “Resist Globally, Infect Locally: A Transcontinental Test of Adaptation by Stickleback and Their Tapeworm Parasite,” American Naturalist 189, no. 1 (January 2017): 45, https://doi.org/10.1086/689597.
8. Weber et al., “Resist Globally,” 48–49.
Weber, Jesse N., Martin Kalbe, Kum Chuan Shim, Noémie I. Erin, Natalie C. Steinel, Lei Ma, and Daniel I. Bolnick. “Resist Globally, Infect Locally: A Transcontinental Test of Adaptation by Stickleback and Their Tapeworm Parasite.” American Naturalist 189, no. 1 (January 2017): 43–57. https://doi.org/10.1086/689597.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like are cited similarly. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in a note but are omitted from a bibliography entry. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.
1. Farhad Manjoo, “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera,” New York Times, March 8, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
2. Erin Anderssen, “Through the Eyes of Generation Z,” Globe and Mail(Toronto), June 25, 2016, http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/through-the-eyes-of-generation-z/article30571914/.
3. Rob Pegoraro, “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple,” Washington Post, July 5, 2007, LexisNexis Academic.
4. Vinson Cunningham, “You Don’t Understand: John McWhorter Makes His Case for Black English,” New Yorker, May 15, 2017, 85.
5. Dara Lind, “Moving to Canada, Explained,” Vox, September 15, 2016, http://www.vox.com/2016/5/9/11608830/move-to-canada-how.
6. Manjoo, “Snap.”
7. Anderssen, “Generation Z.”
8. Pegoraro, “Apple’s iPhone.”
9. Cunningham, “Black English,” 86.
10. Lind, “Moving to Canada.”
Anderssen, Erin. “Through the Eyes of Generation Z.” Globe and Mail(Toronto), June 25, 2016. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/through-the-eyes-of-generation-z/article30571914/.
Cunningham, Vinson. “You Don’t Understand: John McWhorter Makes His Case for Black English.” New Yorker, May 15, 2017.
Lind, Dara. “Moving to Canada, Explained.” Vox, September 15, 2016. http://www.vox.com/2016/5/9/11608830/move-to-canada-how.
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Pegoraro, Rob. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, July 5, 2007. LexisNexis Academic.
Readers’ comments are cited in the text or in a note but omitted from a bibliography.
11. Eduardo B (Los Angeles), March 9, 2017, comment on Manjoo, “Snap.”
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Web pages and other website content can be cited as shown here. For a source that does not list a date of publication, posting, or revision, include an access date (as in the Columbia example).
1. “Privacy Policy,” Privacy & Terms, Google, last modified April 17, 2017, https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
2. “History,” Columbia University, accessed May 15, 2017, http://www.columbia.edu/content/history.html.
3. Google, “Privacy Policy.”
4. Columbia University, “History.”
Columbia University. “History.” Accessed May 15, 2017. http://www.columbia.edu/content/history.html.
Google. “Privacy Policy.” Privacy & Terms. Last modified April 17, 2017. https://www.google.com/policies/privacy/.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Follow these patterns when citing lecture notes, syllabus content or sermons.
NOTE:
1. Jason Beals, "New Testament Survey 1" (lecture notes from B201.2 at The Master's University, Santa Clarita, CA, Fall Semester, 2019).
2. Mike Riccardi, "The Day of Distinction" (sermon presented at Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, CA., October 23, 2022).
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Beals, Jason. "New Testament Survey 1." Lecture notes from B201.2 at The Master's University, Santa Clarita, CA, Fall Semester, 2019.
Riccardi, Mike. "The Day of Distinction." Sermon presented at Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, CA., October 23, 2022.
Last updated October 2022.
1. Fernanda Eberstadt, “Gone Guy: A Writer Leaves His Wife, Then Disappears in Greece,” review of A Separation, by Katie Kitamura, New York Times, February 15, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/15/books/review/separation-katie-kitamura.html.
2. Eberstadt, “Gone Guy.”
Eberstadt, Fernanda. “Gone Guy: A Writer Leaves His Wife, Then Disappears in Greece.” Review of A Separation, by Katie Kitamura. New York Times, February 15, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/15/books/review/separation-katie-kitamura.html.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
1. Kory Stamper, “From ‘F-Bomb’ to ‘Photobomb,’ How the Dictionary Keeps Up with English,” interview by Terry Gross, Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017, audio, 35:25, http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english.
2. Beyoncé, “Sorry,” directed by Kahlil Joseph and Beyoncé Knowles, June 22, 2016, music video, 4:25, https://youtu.be/QxsmWxxouIM.
3. Stamper, interview.
4. Beyoncé, “Sorry.”
Beyoncé. “Sorry.” Directed by Kahlil Joseph and Beyoncé Knowles. June 22, 2016. Music video, 4:25. https://youtu.be/QxsmWxxouIM.
Stamper, Kory. “From ‘F-Bomb’ to ‘Photobomb,’ How the Dictionary Keeps Up with English.” Interview by Terry Gross. Fresh Air, NPR, April 19, 2017. Audio, 35:25. http://www.npr.org/2017/04/19/524618639/from-f-bomb-to-photobomb-how-the-dictionary-keeps-up-with-english.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Citations of content shared through social media can usually be limited to the text (as in the first example below). A note may be added if a more formal citation is needed or to include a link. In rare cases, a bibliography entry may also be appropriate. In place of a title, quote up to the first 160 characters of the post. Comments are cited in reference to the original post.
Sloane Crosley offers the following advice: “How to edit: Attack a sentence. Write in the margins. Toss in some arrows. Cross out words. Rewrite them. Circle the whole mess and STET” (@askanyone, Twitter, May 8, 2017).
1. Pete Souza (@petesouza), “President Obama bids farewell to President Xi of China at the conclusion of the Nuclear Security Summit,” Instagram photo, April 1, 2016, https://www.instagram.com/p/BDrmfXTtNCt/.
2. Chicago Manual of Style, “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993,” Facebook, April 17, 2015, https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.
3. Souza, “President Obama.”
4. Michele Truty, April 17, 2015, 1:09 p.m., comment on Chicago Manual of Style, “singular they.”
Chicago Manual of Style. “Is the world ready for singular they? We thought so back in 1993.” Facebook, April 17, 2015. https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoManual/posts/10152906193679151.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Personal interviews, correspondence, and other types of personal communications—including email and text messages and direct messages sent through social media—are usually cited in the text or in a note only; they are rarely included in a bibliography.
1. Sam Gomez, Facebook message to author, August 1, 2017.
2. Interview with home health aide, July 31, 2017.
Taken from https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/turabian/turabian-notes-and-bibliography-citation-quick-guide.html
Last updated August, 2018
Cite the Bible and other sacred works in footnotes or parenthetical notes (see. 16.4.3). You do not need to include these works in your bibliography.
For citations from the Bible, include the abbreviated name of the book, the chapter number, and the verse number -- never a page number. Depending on the context, you may use either traditional or shorter abbreviations for the names of the books (see 24.6); consult your professor if you are unsure which form is appropriate. Use arabic numerals for chapter and verse numbers (with a colon between them) and for numbered books.
Since books and numbering differ among version of the scriptures, identify the version you are using in your first citation with either the spelled-out name or an accepted abbreviation (see 24.6.4)
NOTE:
1. 2 Kings 11:8 (New Revised Standard Version).
2. 1Cor. 6:1-10 (NAB)
3. I Thess. 4:11, 5:2-5, 5:14.
Taken from Turabian Manual 9th ed. 17.8.2, p. 203-4.
Last updated April 2023.
Formatting Page Numbers in Turabian
If you have already written the paper, go to Home and from the Paragraph box select the paragraph symbol "¶". This will reveal any Page Breaks you have inserted.
Go through the document and remove all of the Page Breaks.
Preliminary Pages
Go to the Title page, put cursor one line below the end of the text (double click left of the final ¶).
Go to Layout in the toolbar ribbon. Under Page Set up select Breaks then under Section Breaks select Next Page.
Go to the first page needing a page number and put the cursor in the footer (double click). The Header & Footer toolbar will appear.
In the Navigation group of the toolbar, uncheck Link to Previous.
Go to Page number in the Header & Footer group of the toolbar.
Select Bottom of Page -- Plain number 2.
Select Page number again and then select Format Page number.
Change Number Format to “i, ii, iii,”.
First page of Chapter 1
Put the cursor at the end of the text on the last of the preliminary pages (one line above the first page of the chapter).
Go to the Layout tab in the toolbar.
In the Page Set up group, select Breaks and under Section Breaks select Next Page.
Double click in the footer of the first page of the chapter. Notice “Same as Previous” appears.
Go to the Navigation group and uncheck Link to Previous (“Same as Previous” should disappear).
Go back to Page Number and select Format Page number and change the Number format to “1, 2, 3,” then under Page Numbering change Continue from previous to Start at and insert “1”.
Second Page of Chapter 1:
Put the cursor at the end of the text of the first page of the chapter.
Go to the Layout tab and in the Page Set up group select Breaks then under Section Breaks select Continuous.
Go to the bottom of the second page of the chapter and double click in the footer.
Uncheck Link to Previous (Navigation bar).
Go back to the footer and delete the page number (double click).
Put the cursor in the header of the same page and uncheck Link to Previous.
Go to Page Number, select Top of page then select Plain number 3 (showing page number in top right corner).
Go back to Page Number and select Format Page Numbers then under Page Numbering select Continue from previous section.
Chapter 2
Repeat the following steps for the first and second page of each subsequent chapter:
First Page of New Chapter
Put the cursor at the end of the text on the last page of the previous chapter.
Go to Layout and under Page Set up select Breaks and under Section Breaks select Next Page.
Double click in the footer of the first page of the chapter. Notice “Same as Previous” appears.
Go to Navigation and uncheck Link to Previous (“Same as Previous” should disappear).
Go to Page Number, Bottom of Page: Plain Number 2.
Put the cursor in the header of the same page and uncheck Link to Previous.
Delete the page number from the header.
Second Page of New Chapter
Put the cursor at the end of the text of the first page of the chapter.
Go to Layout, Page Set up select Breaks then under Section Breaks select Continuous.
Go to the bottom of the second page of the chapter and double click in the footer.
Uncheck Link to Previous.
Delete the page number (double click) from the footer.
Put the cursor in the header of the same page and uncheck Link to Previous.
Go to Page Number, select Top of page and then select Plain number 3 (showing page number in top right).
Last updated March 2022.