Skip to main content

InterLibrary Loan: Interlibrary Loan Service

Get books and articles when the library does not have what you want

Find more books

Find more articles

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a voluntary system of sharing materials between libraries. ILL provides access to items not currently available in our own library collection or not available in full-text through our online databases.

This service is available to all current TMU students, faculty and staff who reside within LA County.  

Distance students, Summer Intensive Program students, TMU alumni, and Non-TMU patrons who hold a current TMU library card, should request ILL items through a local public library.  

International students may contact the Reference Librarian, Miss T., for other possible alternatives (jtillman@masters.edu).

Master's Seminary students must request ILL through The Master's Seminary Library.

  1. Check the Library Catalog (Discovery) before placing an InterLibrary Loan request.  Verify that the item is not available either on the shelf or online.
  2. Use Discovery's "Request" option to submit the ILL request.  See "ILL from Discovery" for details.
  3. A limit of five ILL requests per day, per student will be accepted.
  4. When necessary, ILL forms can be accessed using the ILL Order Forms box to the left of this page.
  5. Submitting an ILL form for articles or for chapters or select pages from a book indicates the patron has read the copyright statement below and is willing to comply with all pertinent copyright laws.
  6. Instead of ordering a whole book, which can take a minimum of seven to ten days to receive, it is possible to request a few chapters or select pages from a book.  If the request is less than 50 pages in total, the material might be received within three to five days.  The total number of pages requested from a single title must be in keeping with the copyright law.
Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyright material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries are authorized to furnish a copy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Items usually not available through ILL:

  • Textbooks that are in use during the current semester
  • Genealogy materials
  • Newly published books
  • Books published before 1900
  • Dissertations and Theses
  • AV materials (videos, CDs, DVDs, tape cassettes, LPs, etc. are almost impossible to get)

Although many libraries don't loan these materials, there are some libraries that do, so please do submit your requests anyway.

Books:

The average wait time for a book is between 7 to 10 days and may take longer.

Chapters/Pages from Books:

The average wait time for chapters or select pages from a book is 3 to 5 days.  The pages are yours to keep.

Articles:

The average wait time for an article is 3 to 5 days (maybe less).  The article is then yours to keep.

BOOKS

All ILL books must be picked up in the Powell library. Patrons will be notified by email when the item is available. 

ILL Books must be returned to the Powell Library as well.

Chapters/Pages from a Book

Chapters or select pages from a book will be sent to the patron via email.  The pages are yours to keep

Articles

Articles will be sent to patrons through email as they are usually digital.  The article is yours to keep

There are no charges for ILL services via the TMU Robert L. Powell Library.

Loan periods are set by the lending libraries. Books are generally loaned for 2 to 4 weeks.  Articles are yours to keep.

Renewals are at the discretion of the lending library. One renewal is usually available unless otherwise indicated on the item. Renewal requests must be made to the Interlibrary Loan Department by email (interlibraryloan@masters.edu) on or before the due date.  If the lending library grants the renewal, the ILL department will email the patron with the new due date.

ILLs cannot be renewed at the circulation desk. They must be renewed through the TMU ILL department. Renewals are not needed for copies of articles as they become the property of the patron.

Loans are made possible through the courtesy of another library. Respect their generosity by returning material on time.

Overdue material will incur fines and possible blocks on the patron record.

A fine of $1.00 per day per item will be charged for items not returned or renewed by the due date.

Overdue fines on any library items in excess of $25 will block future use of ILL until fines are paid.

Loans are made possible through the courtesy of another library.  Respect their generosity by returning material on time.

Borrowers are responsible for lost or damaged books.

Questia.com <http://www.questia.com/>

As an alternative to ILL or buying the resources outright,  you may want to try this online library of resources.

  1. Questia is a subscription based service that provides 24/7 access to scholarly books and journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
  2. Questia contains the full text of all books in the collection, including the front and back matter.
  3. You can search each and every word of all of the books and journal articles in the collection.
  4. Tools are provided to enable you to write notes in the margins and highlight passages as if you were working with actual physical books.
  5. It also has tools to create footnotes and bibliographies.
  6. You can subscribe to Questia by the month, by the quarter or for a year at a time.  Your subscription automatically renews. You may cancel at any time.
Loading ...