LibGuides: Biblical Counseling: Databases, Open Access Resources, Theses & Dissertations

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ATLAReligion with Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 650 full text titles. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Audio eBook Collection by Axis 360 This link opens in a new window
Find religious audio books hand selected by John Stone, Powell Library Director.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity related to religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology. It also indexes journals from other disciplines which put forth a Christian worldview. Current indexing includes over 140 titles back to 1976. The index is owned and indexed by the Association of Christian Librarians.
Electronic Collections Online This link opens in a new window
An OCLC index of scholarly journals. Last updated June 2012.
Freely view abstracts from numerous university and scholarly publishers. Full-text articles may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. 1995 to present. Updated daily.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Access to high-quality, comprehensive information.
Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, the Encyclopædia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights that users will not find anywhere else.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to literature in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Last updated December 2010.
Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. 1950 to present. Updated daily.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals and is updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition.
Merck Manuals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Merck Manuals one of the most widely used medical information resources containing the best current medical information to enable more informed decisions, enhance relationships between patients and professionals and improve health care outcomes around the world.
Professional version <>
Consumer version <>
Veterinary edition <>
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy & Religion This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading scholars discuss research and the latest thinking in the fields of Philosophy & Religion. Select Unlocked and Free, left of the results list.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
ProQuest Religion This link opens in a new window
International religion and spirituality - journal articles.
Covers formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. 1986 - current.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry® (RIM®)is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA subject headings. Abstracts can be searched by keyword. Links have also been added to records for schools that also participate in the Theological Research Exchange Network.
TREN This link opens in a new window
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.

The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Like:
Evangelical Theological Society
American Society of Church History
Society for Pentecostal Studies
North American Patristic Society
American Catholic Historical Association

Open Access Resources

Biblical Counsel: Resources for Renewal Web Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A topical annotated bibliography of works containing biblical counsel for persons seeking lasting solutions to life's problems
THE WEB EDITION is a substantially larger database than the print edition. The website contains about 77 pages, over 20 MBs of annotated bibliography and links. We attempt to exercise the utmost spiritual discernment in making additions and alterations. It is constantly changing as the amount of information increases.
Digital Collections @ Dordt This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wealth of Knowledge can be explored through Exhibitions, by Places, by Dates.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
DPLA is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America.
DPLA is a platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage.
DPLA seeks to multiply openly accessible materials to strengthen the public option that libraries represent in their communities.
DOAB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
eScholarship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to
the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform
to scholars worldwide.
Powered by the California Digital Library eScholarship provides deposit and dissemination services for postprints, or previously published articles. Publications benefit from manuscript and peer-review management systems, as well as a full range of persistent access and preservation services.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher
Internet Archive: Open Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Other projects include:
Open Library: goal is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world.
Wayback Machine: archive of web pages
Archive-it.org: a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curated high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
OSF Preprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OSF is a scholarly commons to connect the entire research cycle. OSF helps document and archive study designs, materials, and data. It facilitates sharing of materials and data and also facilitates transparency of laboratory research. OSF provides a network design that details and credits individual contributions for all aspects of the research process.
PeerJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed & Open Access journal publishing primary research and reviews in biology, life sciences, environmental sciences, medicine and computing.
PTSD: National Center for PTSD This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) is an extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books.
It has a high-level peer-review and production processes guaranteeing the quality and reliability of the work. The use of a Creative Commons License enables authors/editors to retain copyright to their work. Publications can be reused and redistributed as long as the original author is correctly attributed.
The work is freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication,

Downloadable Theses and Dissertations

American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is house.
A free resource accessible to all researchers, American Doctoral Dissertations is available on the EBSCOhost® platform, and the content is available via EBSCO Discovery Service™.
ATS Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ePlace is a digital collection of research and writing produced by the faculty, staff, and students of Asbury Theological Seminary. Managed by the B.L. Fisher Library, ePlace is designed to promote the open access of material from the Wesleyan and Holiness traditions to be shared with a global audience. It also serves as a place to preserve rare and difficult to locate material and encourage academic research and ongoing dialog between scholars in the field.
Dissertations Express This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Students, faculty, and other researchers search the database for titles related to their scholarly interests. You may purchase either unbound, shrink-wrapped print copies or PDF files.
EThOS -- TEMPORARILY OUT OF SERVICE
- This link opens in a new window
E-Theses Online Service provides access to the full text of all UK doctoral theses, either via download or digitization-on-demand.
A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions with free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Use the Global ETD search to find electronic theses & dissertation.
Supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
PQDT Open This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
TREN This link opens in a new window
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.

The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Like:
Evangelical Theological Society
American Society of Church History
Society for Pentecostal Studies
North American Patristic Society
American Catholic Historical Association