TMU Faculty Favorites: Most Influential

Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics

For seminary students, the goal of studying Greek grammar is the accurate exegesis of biblical texts. Sound exegesis requires that the exegete consider grammar within a larger framework that includes context, lexeme, and other linguistic features.While the trend of some grammarians has been to take a purely grammatical approach to the language, Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics integrates the technical requirements for proper Greek interpretation with the actual interests and needs of Bible students. It is the first textbook to systematically link syntax and exegesis of the New Testament for second-year Greek students. It explores numerous syntactical categories, some of which have not previously been dealt with in print.Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics is the most up-to-date Greek grammar available. It equips intermediate Greek students with the skills they need to do exegesis of biblical texts in a way that is faithful to their intended meaning. The expanded edition contains a subject index, a Greek word index, and page numbers in the Syntax Summary section.

Living by the Book

Principles and procedures that will make your personal Bible study more fruitful and productive. You'll be challenged to read more closely and probe more deeply, and you'll learn how to make key observations that will bring fresh application to your life.

Business for the Glory of God

Can business activity in itself be morally good and pleasing to God? Sometimes business can seem so shady-manipulating the "bottom line," deceiving the consumer, or gaining promotions because of whom you know. But Wayne Grudem introduces a novel concept: business itself glorifies God when it is conducted in a way that imitates God's character and creation. He shows that all aspects of business, including ownership, profit, money, competition, and borrowing and lending, glorify God because they are reflective of God's nature. See how your business, and your life in business, can be dedicated to God's glory.

How Should We Then Live?

As one of the foremost evangelical thinkers of the twentieth century, Francis Schaeffer long pondered the fate of declining Western culture. In this brilliant book he analyzed the reasons for modern society's state of affairs and presented the only viable alternative: living by the Christian ethic, acceptance of God's revelation, and total affirmation of the Bible's morals, values, and meaning.

The Greatness of the Kingdom

This classic, penetrating analysis of the Kingdom of God as taught in both the Old and New Testaments has been republished in a handsome hardback dust jacket edition. This masterwork was written by the founding president of Grace Theological Seminary, who was a member of the Scofield Reference Bible Revision Committee and a charter member of the Evangelical Theological Society.

Don't Waste Your Life

A passionate call for this generation to make their lives count for eternity. Piper discusses the risks for those who seek to accomplish something in life for the sake of Christ.

Areopagitica and of Education

In one volume. The classic defense of intellectual liberty and the freedom to publish, and Milton's plan for training rulers to be fit to govern. Also includes three autobiographical passages from other prose works. Edited by George H. Sabine, who provides a short introduction, this edition also contains a list of principal dates in the life of Milton and a bibliography.

On Writing Well

On Writing Well has been praised for its sound advice, its clarity and the warmth of its style. It is a book for everybody who wants to learn how to write or who needs to do some writing to get through the day, as almost everybody does in the age of e-mail and the Internet. Whether you want to write about people or places, science and technology, business, sports, the arts or about yourself in the increasingly popular memoir genre, On Writing Well offers you fundamental priciples as well as the insights of a distinguished writer and teacher. With more than a million copies sole, this volume has stood the test of time and remains a valuable resource for writers and would-be writers.

Gospel According to Jesus

The first edition of The Gospel According to Jesus won wide acclaim in confronting the "easy-believism" that has characterized some aspects of evangelical Christianity. In The Gospel According to Jesus, MacArthur tackles the idea of "easy believism," challenging Christians to re-evaluate their commitment to Christ by examining their fruits. MacArthur asks, "What does it really mean to be saved?" He urges readers to understand that their conversion was more than a mere point in time, that, by definition, it includes a lifetime of obediently walking with Jesus as Lord. This 20th anniversary edition of MacArthur's provocative, Scripture-based book contains one new chapterand is further revised to provide Christians in the 21st century a fresh perspective on the intrinsic relationship between faith and works, clearly revealing Why Jesus is both Savior and Lord to all who believe.

The Fountainhead

The revolutionary literary vision that sowed the seeds of Objectivism, Ayn Rand's groundbreaking philosophy, and brought her immediate worldwide acclaim. This modern classic is the story of intransigent young architect Howard Roark, whose integrity was as unyielding as granite...of Dominique Francon, the exquisitely beautiful woman who loved Roark passionately, but married his worst enemy...and of the fanatic denunciation unleashed by an enraged society against a great creator. As fresh today as it was then, Rand's provocative novel presents one of the most challenging ideas in all of fiction--that man's ego is the fountainhead of human progress... "A writer of great power. She has a subtle and ingenious mind and the capacity of writing brilliantly, beautifully, bitterly...This is the only novel of ideas written by an American woman that I can recall."--The New York Times

The Sovereignty of God

With admirable facility and clear, simple language, Pink uses the Scriptures to answer a host of questions that may have remained unresolved in the minds of many Christians. The result is an important guide post for the recently converted as well as a strong defense against the free will of man.

True Spirituality

Francis Shaeffer had been serving as a pastor for over a decade when he began to wonder if Christianity really made a difference in people's lives. True Spirituality, a twentieth-century spiritual classic, outlines the result of his effort to "start at the beginning" and re-examine his faith. The book is a treasure trove of wisdom for Christians trying to discover what true spirituality looks like in everyday life. Includes a foreword by Chuck Colson and an introduction by Dr. Jerram Barrs, director of the Schaeffer Institute.

Knowing God

Knowing God brings together two important facets of the Christian faith-- knowing about God and also knowing God through the context of a close relationship with the person of Jesus Christ. Explaining both who God is and how we can relate to him, Packer divides his book into three sections: The first directs our attention to how and why we know God, the second to the attributes of God and the third to the benefits enjoyed by a those who know him intimately. 

Mere Christianity

Mere Christianity brings together what Lewis sees as the fundamental truths of the religion. Rejecting the boundaries that divide Christianity s many denomin-ations, Lewis finds a common ground on which all those who have Christian faith can stand together.

Found God's Will

John MacArthur elaborates on six principles he discovers in the Psalmist's admonition to: Delight thyself also in the Lord; and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Who Are You to Judge?

Defines "judging" and "legalism," and develops two principles: Do not pass judgment before the time and do not exceed what is written (1 Cor. 4:5-6).

Evangelicalism Divided

A penetrating review of fifty years of crucial change in evangelical attitudes and alignments, 1950-2000. Murray leads the reader back to the most basic question of all, 'What is a Christian?'

When People Are Big and God Is Small

Overly concerned about what people think of you? Welch uncovers the spiritual dimension of people-pleasing and points the way through a true knowledge of God, ourselves, and others.

The Universe Next Door

Voted one of Christianity Today's 1998 Books of the Year!For more than thirty years, The Universe Next Door has set the standard for a clear, readable introduction to worldviews. In this new fifth edition James Sire offers additional student-friendly features to his concise, easily understood introductions to theism, deism, naturalism, Marxism, nihilism, existentialism, Eastern monism, New Age philosophy and postmodernism. Included in this expanded format are a new chapter on Islam and informative sidebars throughout.The book continues to build on Sire's refined definition of worldviews from the fourth edition and includes other updates as well, keeping this standard text fresh and useful. In a world of ever-increasing diversity, The Universe Next Door offers a unique resource for understanding the variety of worldviews that compete with Christianity for the allegiance of minds and hearts.

The Lie

An eye-opening look at the harmful effects of evolutionary thought on modern culture and religion. Author Ken Ham uses his years of teaching and ministry experience to expose false teaching that is destroying children and families.

The Screwtape Letters

A masterpiece of satire, this classic has entertained and enlightened readers the world over with its sly and ironic portrayal of human life from the vantage point of Screwtape, a highly placed assistant to "Our Father Below." At once wildly comic, deadly serious, and strikingly original, C. S. Lewis gives us the correspondence of the -worldly-wise old devil to his nephew Wormwood, a novice demon in charge of securing the damnation of an ordinary young man. The Screwtape Letters is the most engaging and humorous account of temptation--and triumph over it--ever written.

Love Your God with All Your Mind

Author J. P. Moreland presents a logical case for the role of the mind in spiritual transformation, challenging us to develop a Christian mind and to use our intellect to further God’s kingdom through • evangelism • apologetics • worship • vocation

Holiness by Grace

How can God expect us to be as holy as He is? He is infinitely pure and we are clearly imperfect. God's grace reminds us that the standard for entrance into His kingdom has already been met on our behalf. Yet righteousness is still a requirement for the Christian life because it glorifies God and protects us from spiritual harm. A gifted preacher and teacher, Bryan Chapell illustrates the principles of grace, the practices of faith and the motives of love in relation to our living a life of holiness. Readers will journey through key biblical texts that remove our performance as a means of establishing or maintaining our salvation but that also confirm the emphasis on obedience as a grateful response to God's mercy. This book encourages readers that when they understand God's love for His children never wavers, then His grace will quicken their steps, strengthen their hearts and delight their souls to carry on.

The Biblical Basis for Modern Science

The Valley of Vision

A selection of prayers and meditations in the Puritan tradition, widely valued since publication in 1975. (See also P.2)

All the Promises of the Bible

Promises You Can Stand On Through Thick and ThinThe Bible is filled with hundreds of what the apostle Peter called "exceeding great and precious promises": definite, explicit declarations God has made that you can count on. In All the Promises of the Bible, Dr. Herbert Lockyer discusses the nature of God's promises--their substance #65533; simplicity #65533; surety #65533; source #65533; security #65533; scope.Lockyer's in-depth look at the scope of God's promises arranges them in categories that cover the full array of human concerns, from the spiritual to the material and the corporate to the personal. As you come to understand God's promises and how they apply to every aspect of your life, you'll gain a trust in God that will sustain you through the worst of times and be your source of rejoicing in the best.

Walking with God in the Classroom: Christian Approaches to Teaching and Learning

The Collected Poems of Robert Frost

Likely one of the most well-known poets in American literary history, Robert Frost, born in California, lived much of his life in Massachusetts and New Hampshire, thus, his most popular poetry depicted subtle New England charm. Frost's style was largely free verse, though he did find a fair amount of structure in poetry could often be inspiring. Forever searching for 'the sound of sense,' Robert Frost's lyrical poetry is eloquent, precise, and robust. The Collected Poems of Robert Frost, includes the inspiring poetry of Frost's first three collections, including his earliest major poems "The Road Not Taken" and "Mending Wall" making this edition one you shouldn't miss!

Crisis of Classical Music in America

The Crisis of Classical Music in America by Robert Freeman focuses on solutions for the oversupply of classically trained musicians in America, problem that grows ever more chronic as opportunities for classical musicians to gain full-time professional employment diminishes year upon year. An acute observer of the professional music scene, Freeman argues that music schools that train our future instrumentalists, composers, conductors, and singers need to equip their students with the communications and analytical skills they need to succeed in the rapidly changing music scene. This book maps a broad range of reforms required in the field of advanced music education and the organizations responsible for that education. Featuring a foreword by Leonard Slatkin, music director of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, The Crisis of Classical Music in America speaks to parents, prospective and current music students, music teachers and professors, department deans, university presidents and provosts, and even foundations and public organizations that fund such music programs. This book reaches out to all of these stakeholders and argues for meaningful change though wide-spread collaboration.

Because He Loves Me

Step 1: knowing you can make the change and doing something about it.Step 2: knowing where you are and making a plan to get where you want to be.Step 3 is the follow through. Doing what ever it takes to work your plan. If you do not know you can change, then you will not make a plan to do so. Having no plan means having no follow through. No follow through results in a life of disappointments.Change, plan, and follow through.

Secret Power

Dwight L Moody believed that the power of the Holy Spirit had been too much overlooked, as though it were not practical. He wrote, ''''The result is lack of power in testimony and work. If we would work, not as one that beats the air, but to some definite purpose, we must have this power from on high. Without this power, our work will be a drudgery. With it, it becomes a joyful task, a refreshing service. May God make this book a blessing to many. This is my prayer.

Modern Times : the world from the twenties to the nineties

Covers a seventy year span in chronological essays. Includes master index.

Competent to Counsel

A Classic in the Field of Christian Counseling Competent to Counsel has helped thousands of pastors, students, laypersons, and Christian counselors develop both a general approach to Christian counseling and a specific response to particular problems.

Against Method

Paul Feyerabend's globally acclaimed work, which sparked and continues to stimulate fierce debate, examines the deficiencies of many widespread ideas about scientific progress and the nature of knowledge. Feyerabend argues that scientific advances can only be understood in a historical context. He looks at the way the philosophy of science has consistently overemphasized practice over method, and considers the possibility that anarchism could replace rationalism in the theory of knowledge. This updated edition of the classic text includes a new introduction by Ian Hacking, one of the most important contemporary philosophers of science. Hacking reflects on both Feyerabend's life and personality as well as the broader significance of the book for current discussions.

Anti-Oedipus: Capitalism and Schizophrenia

Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari set forth the following theory: Western society's innate herd instinct has allowed the government, the media, and even the principles of economics to take advantage of each person's unwillingness to be cut off from the group. More than twenty-five years after its original publication, Anti-Oedipus still stands as a controversial contribution to a much-needed dialogue on the nature of free thinking.

Leading with Love

A guide for church leaders and teachers to assist with relational skills, diminish senseless conflict, build a healthier church, and promote evangelism.

Two Mighty Rivers

This book for children ages 8-12 introduces the son of Pocahontas, Pepsicanough, who joins forces with a girl named Jane to try to create peace between the Algonquin Indians & the people of Jamestown.

Decision Making and the Will of God

Garry Friesen, ThM, PhD, former academic dean and current professor of Bible at Multnomah Bible College in Portland, Oregon, is a graduate of John Brown University and Dallas Theological Seminary.

The Invisible War

An exploration of the great conflict going on between good and evil within the spiritual realm, Dr. Barnhouse carefully traces this vast spiritual conflict back to the period before the beginning of recorded time. Step by step, he then follows its unfolding to the final battle at the end of time. Here are answers to questions that have long troubled thinking people--concerning the trials, sufferings, and difficulties of life--with added helpful suggestions for facing life's obstacles. Dr. Herbert Henry Ehrenstein says, "I am certain that this book will take its place as one of the greatest Dr. Barnhouse wrote during his lifetime, unfolding as it does an entirely new area of biblical truth for many readers who have never before contemplated this invisible battle involving God, Satan, angels, demons, and mankind. Indeed, I know of no other available book of so complex a subject."

Toward an Old Testament Theology

Recognizing the major crisis in biblical theology, namely the inability of the discipline to restate and reapply the authority of the Bible, Walter Kaiser here offers a solution to the unresolved issues of definition and methodology in Old Testament theology. A proper understanding of biblical theology, explains the author, "shows us an inner center of plan to which each biblical writer consciously and deliberately contributed; however, this inner biblical unity, which biblical theologians traditionally have been loathe to adopt for fear of gratuitously imposing a grid of their own devising over the text, is a center that is inductively supplied and confirmed by the text of Scripture itself. That center is the promise of God." In Part I of his book, Dr. Kaiser discusses the inherent difficulty in determining the true nature, method, scope, and motivation for Old Testament theology. In Part II, he applies his solutions clearly and methodically by chronologically discussing the Old Testament eras from the Prepatriarchical (Prolegomena to the Promise) to that of the Postexillic (Triumph of the Promise). A special section examines the connections between Old and New Testament theology. Toward an Old Testament Theology includes an annotated bibliography and topical, Scripture, and name indexes.

The Great Divorce

C. S. Lewis's dazzling allegory about Heaven and Hell - and the chasm fixed between them - is one of his most brilliantly imaginative tales, where we discover that the gates of Hell are locked from the inside. In a dream, the narrator boards a bus on a drizzly afternoon in Hell and embarks on an incredible voyage to Heaven. Anyone in Hell is invited on board, and anyone may remain in Heaven if he or she so chooses. But do we really want to live in Heaven? This powerful, exquisitely written fantasy is one of C. S. Lewis's most enduring works of fiction and a profound meditation on good and evil and on what God really offers us.

The Abolition of Man

The Abolition of Man is subtitled "Reflections on education with special reference to the teaching of English in the upper forms of schools." It is a defense of objective value, the pursuit of science and natural law, and a warning of the consequences of doing away with those things.

Looking unto Jesus

The Confessions of St. Augustine

In this gorgeously illustrated volume Oxford scholar Carolinne White presents fresh translations of choice passages from the Confessions. These extracts have been chosen to express Augustine's wisdom and his mystical yearning for God. Lively narrative and colorful anecdotes are interspersed with passages of great poetry in praise of God. In the process of describing his own failings, Augustine also gives relevant advice on how to live a Christian life. In this first modern illustrated edition of the Confessions, Augustine's words are accompanied by beautiful medieval and Renaissance illuminations from manuscripts in the collection at the British Library -- making this a volume to treasure for a lifetime.