Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Master’s Seminary Style Guide
The Master’s Seminary 2020-2021 | Style Guide: A Guide to Turabian’s Manual for Writers is a concise reference guide to properly preparing documents according to the seminary’s academic writing requirements in all academic programs (DipTh, BTh, MDiv, ThM, PhD, DMin). The guide follows, but also amends the style and formatting requirements in Kate L. Turabian’s A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers (9th ed., 2018). There are many formatting particulars specifically approved by the faculty of The Master’s Seminary which go beyond Turabian standards.
This guide contains four main chapters: general formatting requirements for academic papers; source citation; style and grammar guidelines; how to use proper argumentation in an academic paper. Additionally, the following appendices are included: list of abbreviations; common writing problems categorized for grading purposes; thesis and dissertation formatting requirements. Finally, the Style Guide includes a ready-to-use Bibliography of several common titles per category of work.
Last updated May, 2020.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: 808.027 C432u, 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th edition by
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
This new 9th edition recognizes that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online. It is fully aligned with the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. This edition also covers how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project.