For a complete directory listing of library systems and all their branch locations across the United States see Public Libraries.com. For libraries throughout the world see libraries.org.
Libdex is a worldwide directory of university and public library homepages, web-based OPACS, Friends of the Library pages, and library e-commerce affiliate links. [last updated 2019]
LibWeb -- find online libraries in 146 countries. United States libraries include Academic, Public, State, Special & School Libraries as well as National Libraries and Regional Consortia.
Alabama -- Alabama Virtual Library is available for all Alabama residents. The databases available through the AVL are IP authenticated so there is no logging in as long as your IP shows you are in Alabama.
Alaska -- SLED: the Statewide Library Electronic Doorway, is an easy-to-use website that connects people to high quality Alaska information.-- resources are licensed for all Alaska residents. If you're an Alaska resident, call 1-800-440-2919 for a password.
Arizona -- DAZL: Digital Arizona Library
Arkansas -- Traveler Resources: Access to databases provided through the Traveler Program is available to Arkansas citizens residing within the state, and to academic, public and school libraries statewide. Arkansas libraries may register with the State Library to offer Traveler resources through their own institutional websites.
California -- While California does not offer statewide access to online databases, it does now provide a shared collection of ebooks for public library users. The California State Library, in partnership with the Black Gold Cooperative Library System, has launched E-books for All California. Created to equalize access across California, this statewide collection can be accessed by anyone with a California public library card and an internet connection. For access to online databases see individual city/county libraries.
Colorado -- no statewide access to online databases. See individual city/county libraries
Connecticut -- researchIT CT is available to all persons holding a valid library card from one of the Connecticut public libraries (the 195 Connecticut Public Libraries and their branches, the Connecticut State Library, the Middletown Library Service Center, the Willimantic Library Service Center, and the Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped.) as well as those whose computer's IP address is determined to originate from within the state of Connecticut.
Delaware -- Delaware Libraries offer a wide range of resources, tools, and training across the state. Must have a Delaware address to register for a Delaware Library Card.
Florida Electronic Library -- provides electronic resources to the citizens of Florida.
Georgia: Georgia Public Library Service:
Hawaii -- State Public Library System permits anyone to obtain a library card. Residents, military personnel and their dependents are free; Non-residents pay a $10 fee for 3 months or a $25 fee for 5 years. All cards provide access to the numerous online databases.
Idaho: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Illinois: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Indiana -- INSPIRE is a collection of online academic databases and other information resources that can be accessed freely by all Indiana residents who have Internet access.
Iowa -- State Library Resources: anyone who lives in Iowa may apply for a State Library Card online, by mail, or in person at the Law Library. A number of online resources are available to State Library card holders.
Kansas -- all libraries, colleges and universities and state residents can sign-up to receive a free Kansas Library E-Card and they can connect to a good number of Digital Databases and Online Databases using it.
Kentucky -- KYVL Kentucky Virtual Library providing access to core database resources for all KYVL member libraries including colleges and universities, public libraries, K12 schools, hospitals, Department of Defense libraries, the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives (KDLA), and more.
Louisiana: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Maine -- Digital Main Library (previously known as MARVEL, (Maine State Library and Maine InfoNet)) may be accessed from any public, school or academic library in Maine. Access is also available from your home or business in Maine. Access from out of state is available with a valid Maine library card
Maryland -- SAILOR collection ensures all Maryland residents have equitable access to a core collection of research databases.
Massachusetts -- MBLC Every Massachusetts resident has immediate access to a vast array of general and scholarly periodical articles, encyclopedias, reference materials. They can be accessed directly from the Massachusetts Libraries portal (mass.gov/libraries) and from the websites of libraries all around the Commonwealth.
Michigan -- MeL is available to all Michigan residents. No library card needed, just residency in Michigan and a drivers license or state ID issued by Michigan.
Minnesota -- ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota gives Minnesota residents online access to magazine, journal, newspaper, and encyclopedia articles, eBooks (online books), and other information resources.
Mississippi: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Missouri: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Montana: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
Nebraska -- NebraskAccess
Nevada: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
New Hampshire: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
New Jersey -- JerseyClicks Electronic resources provided to New Jersey’s libraries by the New Jersey State Library and the Institute for Museum and Library Services.
New Mexico: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries.
New York -- NOVELny: The New York Online Virtual Electronic Library provides a wide variety of resources (books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources and more) to New York State residents with NO FEES 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
North Carolina -- NCLIVE includes academic and public libraries of North Carolina. Residents obtain a library card via their public library and have access to all the electronic resources.
North Dakota -- ODIN participating libraries include North Dakota academic, public, state agency, school, and special libraries. The use of ODIN licensed databases is restricted to users with current credentials issued by participating North Dakota libraries.
Ohio -- OWL: The Ohio Web Library is a core collection of information resources available to all Ohioans with a library card.
Oklahoma: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries
Oregon: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries
Pennsylvania -- Power Library Services provided by the State Library of Pennsylvania include electronic databases, digital collections, and a 24/7 live chat service.
Rhode Island -- Ocean State Libraries (OSL)
South Carolina -- has DISCUS, a set of database resources available to anyone who lives in SC. All that is necessary it to go to a local library or a nearby academic institution to get the password that will allow access to the resources from anywhere.
South Dakota Share-It
Tennessee -- TEL: Tennessee Electronic Library allows access to Databases, eBooks, Career and Educational Practice Tests, Genealogy resources, World Book Encyclopedia, Homework help (including games for little ones) and Language Learning software.
Texas: Texshare cards are available, but not every library participates. Libraries (all types) have access to databases that are state funded.. TexShare is a consortium of Texas libraries joining together to share print and electronic materials. The TexShare Databases are electronic resources licensed for the exclusive use of Texas libraries and their patrons available 24/7. The TexShare CARD lets you borrow books and other physical materials from more than 500 libraries across the state!
Utah: Utah's Online Public Library (formerly Pioneer) provides free access to educational and recreational resources. A card from your local library is all you need.
Vermont: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries
Virginia: Find it Virginia is a carefully curated selection of authoritative databases, online learning products, and digital reading content (both text and audio) for Virginians of all ages. All resources are free and available with a public library card anywhere in Virginia.
Washington: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries
West Virginia: no statewide access online resources. See individual city/county libraries
Wisconsin -- WI BadgerLink
Wyoming -- GoWYLD provides Wyoming libraries and residents access to databases and other resources that support research, lifelong learning, business and career development, personal enrichment, and more.
U.S. Virgin Islands -- All residents of the Virgin Islands may apply for a library card which can be used in any of the territory's public libraries.
Last updated March 2022.
For a complete list of California Public Libraries click here
Alameda County, CA -- Alameda County Library Full-Service library cards are available to anyone living, working or going to school in the state of California. Applications must be made in person at any county library location: Albany Library, Castro Valley Library, Centerville Library, Dublin Library, Fremont Main Library, Irvington Library, Newark Library, Niles Library, REACH Ashland Youth Center, San Lorenzo Library, and Union City Library.
Los Angeles, City of, CA -- LAPL Library Cards are free to residents of California. You must, however, have photo identification with your name and current address. To receive a library card: Fill out an application in person at any Los Angeles Public Library location. Alternatively, residents of Los Angeles can get an e-Card by registering online. An e-Card provides access to online databases and downloadable e-media. LAPL provides access to ATLAReligion with Serials.
Los Angeles County, CA -i-LA County Library cards are available for free to permanent and temporary residents of California with access to library databases, audiobooks, and music.
Santa Clarita Valley, CA:
Santa Clarita Public Library: Any resident of California (or temporary residents, such as students) can register for a card free of charge at any of the three branches of the Santa Clarita Public Library. Out-of-state residents will be charged $3.00 for a card.
Canyon Country Jo Anne Darcy Library
Old Town Newhall Library
Valencia Library
Stevenson Ranch Library (LA County): Library cards are available for free to permanent and temporary residents of California
Riverside County, CA -- Riverside County Library System permits any resident of California to obtain a library card in person at any of the thirty-five libraries or two bookmobiles in the Riverside County Library System.
San Diego, City of, CA -- City of San Diego Public Library cards are free to applicants who reside in California or own property in the City of San Diego, and to men and women serving in the Armed Forces who are stationed within San Diego County. For non-residents, the annual fee for a library card is $32. A San Diego Library Card provides access to library databases, download audiobooks and ebooks and more.
San Diego County, CA -- SDCL permits California residents and military to receive a library card for free and Non-California residents may pay a $5 one-time fee.
San Francisco City/County, CA -- SFPL permits any California resident to obtain a library card which allows you to download digital media, use electronic databases, take online classes and more.
San Juaquin Valley, CA -- SJVLS cooperatively purchases group access to databases and other online materials for libraries in the counties of Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced and Tulare.
Yurba County, CA -- Yurba County Library: Library cards are free to applicants who reside within the state of California, but must be obtained in person.
Last updated October 2023..
For a complete list of Colorado Public Libraries click here.
Denver, CO -- Any Colorado resident or student in-state attending a Colorado college or university may obtain a free Denver Public Library Card.
Last updated November, 2018.
For a complete list of Massachusetts Public Libraries click here.
Boston Public Library -- anyone who lives or works in Massachusetts can register for an ecard and access the databases, ebooks and other digital media resources.
NOBLE (North of Boston Library Exchange) -- https://www.noblenet.org/home/ available to residents of NOBLE communities and those affiliated with NOBLE academic institutions.
Last updated November, 2018.
For a complete list of Nevada Public Libraries click here.
Las Vega, NV -- Las Vega-Clark County Library District provides a library card free of charge to any resident of the state of Nevada.
Last updated November, 2018.
For a complete list of New Mexico Public Libraries click here.
Los Alamos, NM -- Los Alamos Public Library SystemL Library cards are available to anyone with a New Mexico ID and UNM-LA students.
Last updated November, 2018.
For a complete list of New York Public Libraries click here.
Metro | 599 -- Metropolitan New York Library Council (METRO) is a non-profit organization where New York’s libraries and archives come together to learn, share ideas, and collaborate. METRO is the largest of nine reference and research resource councils, known as the Empire State Library Network (ESLN), in New York State.
New York City, NY -- NYPL Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge, which allows individuals to borrow books and other materials, as well as, access online journals, online newspapers and other online resources 24/7 from work or home.
Last updated November, 2018.
BCCLS -- BCCLS (Buckles) is a consortium of 77 public libraries in northern New Jersey. By county, there are 62 in Bergen, 10 in Essex, 4 in Hudson, and 1 in Passaic.
Bibliomation -- members share resources among public and school libraries all around Connecticut.
CARLI -- Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois. Library patrons have access to a consortial collection of electronic databases.
CDLN -- Central Dakota Library Network is a consortium of public and school libraries sharing resources.
CW MARS -- Commonwealth of Massachusetts resource sharing for member libraries.
ELIN -- Estacado Library Information Network (NM): a consortium of six libraries offering the libraries and citizens of southeastern New Mexico access to online databases: Hobbs Public Library, Lovington Public Library, Pannell Library, Scarborough Memorial Library, Woolworth Community Library, Eunice Public Library
ESLN -- Empire State Library Network (NY): comprised of the nine Reference and Research Library Resources Councils – provides entre for libraries and archives of all types and sizes into a statewide platform for shared services and collaborations.
FALSC -- Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative provides the Florida Virtual Campus Licenses for Florida College System and State University System
HSDL -- Homeland Security Digital Library is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.
MCLINC -- Montgomery County Library and Information Network Consortium provides independently governed and funded libraries the opportunity to cooperatively purchase and operate automation services, in order to provide the best possible public service to the residents of Montgomery County through the sharing of resources.
MERLN -- Military Education Research Library Network represents a consortium of military education research libraries that work together to provide access to a variety of unique electronic resources for the use of researchers and scholars.
Minuteman Library Network -- A consortium of 41 libraries with 60 locations working collectively to provide excellent service and value to the communities of the Metrowest region of Massachusetts
NLS -- NorthNet Library System (NC) is a consolidation of three library systems in Northern California:
NNLM -- National Network of Libraries of Medicine provides all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.
OCLN -- Old Colony Library Network (MA) is a cooperative of 29 member libraries (26 Public and 3 Academic) located on the South Shore of Massachusetts.
ORBIS Cascade Alliance (OR) is a nonprofit consortium of 39 colleges and universities in Oregon, Washington and Idaho.
SCELC -- Statewide California Library Consortium. Brings together independent nonprofit academic and research institutions to foster innovation and collaboration in the acquisition and effective use of library resources and services.
SELCO -- Southeastern Libraries Cooperating (MN) is comprised of a federation of locally autonomous public libraries and 11 counties.
VIVA -- The Virtual Library of Virginia is the academic library consortium of Virginia, serving 72 of the non-profit academic libraries, including all 39 public colleges and universities, 32 independent universities, and the Library of Virginia providing access to high quality academic resources for students and faculty at Virginia institutions.
Last updated March 2022.