BIBLICAL COUNSELING LIBRARY RESOURCES
Biblical Counseling students can learn how to make use of the Robert L. Powell Library and its resources with the instructional videos found on the library web site under “Using the Library”. They may also learn how to make use of many of the databases listed below with our subscription to “Niche Academy” video tutorials.
Some of the subscription databases, open access resources, and peer reviewed web sites available through the Powell Library providing information related to various aspects of the Biblical Counseling field are these:
- ATLAReligion with Serials PLUS: Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
- Biblical Counsel: Resources for Renewal Web Edition: A topical annotated bibliography of works containing biblical counsel for persons seeking lasting solutions to life's problems.
- Christian Periodical Index: Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
- Health & Wellness (Grey House): Handbooks & Resource Guides on a variety of issues related to health and wellness.
- MEDLINE: Abstracts to literature in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
- Merck Index Online: The most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals and is updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
- Merck Manuals: Contains the best current medical information to enable more informed decisions, enhance relationships between patients and professionals and improve health care outcomes around the world.
- MeSH: The Medical Subject Headings thesaurus is a controlled and hierarchically organized vocabulary produced by the NLM is used for searching biomedical and health-related information.
- Principles of Sociology (Salem Reference): Provides valuable information on a wide range of issues that relate to personal relationships, group behavior, issues in society and how society develops, organizes, and changes.
- ProQuest Dissertation: The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
- ProQuest Religion: International religion and spirituality - journal articles.
- Psychology (Gale OneFile): Articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
- PTSD: National Center for PTSD: An extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans.
- Research in Ministry: A thesis and dissertation abstract database of research.
- TREN: Theological thesis/dissertation representing research from many different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.
Several Research Guides supporting the Biblical Counseling discipline has been developed including Biblical Counseling Research, Biblical Word Studies, Women in Ministry, and World View Resources, In addition, there are numerous course specific research guides to assist graduate & undergraduate students with their respective research assignments (see Research for Course Assignments).
Students may search the Discovery catalog to find millions of resources on Biblical Counseling and related subjects. While the Powell Library will not have all the resources found, we do offer an InterLibrary Loan Service, which allows students to request needed items at no cost to them. The Powell Library also offers a Book Scanning Service, especially useful to Online students, for selected pages/chapters of a needed book held by the Powell Library.
While TMU students cannot access other libraries’ subscription databases through the Powell Library, many university libraries and certainly all public libraries do allow locals to acquire a library card thereby granting them access to their respective collections.
Last updated September 2025.
