GEOSCIENCE LIBRARY RESOURCES
Geoscience students can learn how to make use of the Robert L. Powell Library and its resources with the instructional videos found on the library web site under “Using the Library”. They may also learn how to make use of many of the databases listed below with our subscription to “Niche Academy” video tutorials.
The subscription databases, open access and public web sites available through the Powell Library providing information related to various aspects of the Geoscience field are these:
- Agricola: Citations and abstracts describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including earth and environmental sciences.
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile)
- Annual Reviews: Captures current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial. Highlights the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and Outlines the practical applications and general significance of research to society. As of 2023, every new volume is converted to Open Access under a Creative Common license and is available for everyone to read and use.
- Earth Science (Salem Reference): essays on basic topics in geology, geophysics, atmospheric sciences, oceanography, environmental science, paleontology and planetology, is designed to provide and introduction to our latest understanding of the Earth's physical features and dynamic processes, as well as those of the solar system in which it resides.
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context): Understand environmental issues that affect people globally
- Global Issues (Gale In Context): Analyze important global issues and events.
- Paleobiology Database: a non-governmental, non-profit public resource for paleontological data.
- Principles of Geology: Introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of Geoscience using easy-to-understand language for a solid background and a deeper understanding and appreciation.
- ProQuest Dissertations: The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
A Research Guide for the Geoscience discipline has been prepared. It contains the above databases, Open Access and Web Resources as well as instructions for Accessing Library Resources, Evaluating Resources, Book Scanning Service, InterLibrary Loan Services, and Subject Authority Schemes.
In addition, students may search the Discovery catalog to find millions of resources on Geoscience and related subjects. While the Powell Library will not have all the resources found, we do offer an InterLibrary Loan Service, which allows students to request needed items at no cost to them. The Powell Library also offers a Book Scanning Service, especially useful to Online students, for selected pages/chapters of a needed book held by the Powell Library.
While TMU students cannot access other libraries’ subscription databases through the Powell Library, many university libraries and certainly all public libraries do allow locals to acquire a library card thereby granting them access to their respective collections.
Last updated September 2025.
