I. Browse the shelves in 220.7 for commentary sets on the whole Bible; 221.7 for commentary sets on the Old Testament; 225.7 for commentary sets on the New Testament.
II. Use annotated bibliographies of commentaries to help select appropriate commentaries for your needs. The following bibliographies (hardcopies) have been marked to indicate those titles that the Powell Library has.
Whole Bible: Rosscup, James. Commentaries for Biblical Expositors: an annotated bibliography of selected works. Woodlands, TX: Kress Christian Publications, 2004. [220.7016 R734c]. ISBN 9780977226238.
Old Testament: Tremper Longman III. Old Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2013. [221.7016 L863o]. ISBN: 9780801039911.
New Testament: Carson, D. A. New Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2013. [225.7016 C239n]. ISBN: 9780801039904
Bestcommentaries.com: Rotten Tomatoes for Biblical Studies. Reviews and ratings of Bible commentaries collected from journals, books, professors and published lists like Longman & Carson.
III. Use the Powell Library Catalog to easily find all the commentaries and criticisms held by the library either as print hardcopy books or online ebooks. ONLINE STUDENTS: Feel free to make use of the Powell Library's Book Scanning Service.
A. Search the Subject field <su:> with the book of the bible and the word "commentaries" or the word "criticism". Like this:
*NOTE: “commentaries” must be plural; “criticism” must be singular.
GOSPELS (not John): Here's how to get records for the Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke and at the same time eliminate those records with subject headings that include a person’s name, i.e. Matthew Arnold, Mark Twain, Luke Short. See "JOHN" below for setting up search queries for the Gospel of John viz a viz the Epistles of John.
**NOTE: There must be a space between the "n" and the "t"; or if you prefer you can use periods instead of spaces, i.e., n.t.
JOHN--Gospel: To find commentaries or criticisms on the Gospel of John without getting all the commentaries on the Epistles of John, use the Boolean NOT command:
Alternatively
For example:
SAME NAME: Books of the Bible with the same name (including the Epistles of John) use the name of the book along with the Arabic numeral 1st, 2nd or 3rd within quotation marks.
CHAPTER & VERSE:
OR is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to look for either the word "commentaries" or the word "criticism".
AND is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to look for both or all of the search terms. For more details see the Boolean Logic Research Guide.
NOT is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to leave out the search term; do not include records with the associated search term.
Last updated May 1, 2023.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Book of Romans.
1. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Romans, browse the shelves at 227.1 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: romans justification; romans "original sin"; "romans 1-4" homosexuality;
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Authorship, Purpose, Themes, Background:
4. For information of the church in Rome see the "Rome" tab above
5. Homosexuality
NOTE: The asterisk (*) is a search engine command to look for the root word and every variation thereafter.
6. Justification
7. Sin
8. Doctrine of Election and Sovereignty of God
9. Compare Romans 1-8, 9-11 and 12-16
10. Government and civil disobedience
11. Christian Liberty then and now.
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background on I Corinthians.
1. For Commentaries/Criticisms on I Corinthians, browse the shelves at 227.2 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
Search I & II Corinthians using 1st or 2nd after Corinthians and with quotation marks, like this: su:"corinthians 1st", su:"corinthians 2nd"
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: corinthians authorship
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose:
13. su:corinth early church history
14. su:bible canon; su:bible paul canon
15.su:"corinthians 1st vii"; su:"matthew xix"; su:bibl* divorce; su:marriage bibl*
16. su:liberty religious aspects bibl*; su:liberty religious aspects christianity; su:liberty religious aspects christianity corinthians
17-19. su:"corinthians 1st xii"; su:"corinthians 1st xii-xiv"; su:spiritual gifts; su:glossolalia; su:prophecy christianity biblical teaching
20. su:corinthians; su:"corinthians 1st 5"; su:"corinthians 2nd ii"; su:church discipline;
Browse the shelves in this area: 262.9
21. su:"corinthians 1st xv 29"; su:baptism in the bible; su:baptism for the dead
22. su:"corinthians 1st xv"; su:resurrection biblical teaching; su:jesus christ mystical body; su:mystical union; su:resurrection of jesus; su:jesus resurrection;
Browse the shelves in these areas: 232.5; 232.97; 236.8
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 23-28 on II Corinthians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the II Corinthians, browse the shelves at 227.3 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"corinthians 2nd" commentaries; su:"corinthians 2nd" criticism; nu:227.3.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
23. background introduction "corinthians 2nd"; su:"corinthians 2nd" commentaries; su:bible new testament introductions
24. su:corinthians 2nd; su:corinthians 2nd i-vii; su:corinthians 2nd x-xiii;
Search ATLA Religion: 2nd corinthians 1-9; 2nd corinthians 10-13
25. su:"corinthians 2nd iii"; su:law theology biblical teaching; su:grace theology biblical teaching; su:bible paul relation old testament
26. su:corinthians 2nd commentaries; su:corinthians 2nd criticism; su:immortality; su:theology (assurance OR perseverance); su:"corinthians 2nd iv 16 - v 10"
Browse shelves in this area: 236.22
27. su:"corinthians 2nd"; su:"corinthians 2nd vii";
28.Search ATLA Religion with "thorn in the flesh"
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 29-37 on Galatians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Galatians, browse the shelves at 227.4 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:galatians commentaries; su:galatians criticism; nu:227.4.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
29. su:north/south galatian hypothesis; su:galatians commentaries; su:galatians commentaries AND kw:south;
30. background galatians; introduction galatians; su:galatians commentaries; su:new testament introductions
31. su:galatians commentaries; su:acts commentaries
32. su:"galatians iii 15-29"; su:covenants biblical teaching; abrahamic covenant; mosaic covenant; abraham mosaic covenant; su:law theology; galatians abraham;
Search ATLA Religion: galatians abraham; Browse the shelves at 231.76
33. su:"galatians iii 28"; su:sex role biblical teaching;
34. mosaic law; su:law theology; su:law gospel biblical teaching; su:"romans vii"; su:"galatians iii"
35. su:"galatians iv 21-31"'; su:old testament quotations in the new testament; su:new testament relation to the old testament
36. su:bible "galatians v 16-25"; su:sanctification biblical teaching galatians;
37. su:"galatians vi 16"; su:israel christian theology galatians; "israel of god";
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 38-45 on Ephesians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Ephesians, browse the shelves at 227.5 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:ephesians commentaries; su:ephesians criticism; nu:227.5.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
38. background ephesians; introduction ephesians; su:ephesians commentaries; su:new testament introductions
39. su:"ephesians i 3-14"; su:god trinity; su:trinity salvation;
Search ATLA Religion with ephesians 1:3-14
40. su:election ephesians; su:election theology; su:salvation christianity; su:salvation ephesians; su:predestination
Browse the shelves in 234.9
41. su:ephesians prayers; su:"ephesians i 15-23"; su:"ephesians iii 14-22"; su:"ephesians vi 18-20";
42. su:"ephesians ii 11-22"; su:jews gentiles "in the new testament"; su:jesus christ person and offices; "person and work of christ"
Browse the shelves at 232 and 232.8
43. su:"ehesians iii"; su:mysterion greek word; su:mystery biblical teaching;
44. su:"ephesians iv 17-32"; "put on" "put off" biblical teaching;
45. su:"ephesians vi 10-17";
Search ATLA Religion with these keywords: armor god
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 46-51 on Philippians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Philippians, browse the shelves at 227.6 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:philippians commentaries; su:philippians criticism; nu:227.6.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
46. background philippians; introduction philippians; su:philippians commentaries; su:new testament introductions
47. su:"philippians ii 1-11"; su:kenosis; su:jesus lordship; su:christology philippians; su:Harpagmos (The Greek word)
Search also ATLA Religion with these keywords: kenosis philippians; harpagmos
48. su:philippians AND kw:joy; su:philippians AND kw:rejoic*
49. "philippians 3"; su:"philippians iii"; su:philippians AND kw:dogs; su:philippians AND kw:circumcision; su:philippians AND kw:suffer*; su:philippians AND kw:righteousness
50. Search the keyword phrase "enemies of the cross"; su:philippians criticism; su:philippians commentaries; su:"philippians iii"
51. su:"philippians iv 4-8"; su:philippians AND kw:rejoice; su:philippians AND kw:gentle; su:philippians AND kw:anxious; su:philippians AND kw:"peace of god"; su:philippians AND kw:excellence
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 52-58 on Colossians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Colossians, browse the shelves at 227.7 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:colossians commentaries; su:colossians criticism; nu:227.7.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
52. Search su:bible introductions; su:bible new testament introductions; su:bible colossians introductions; colossians backgrounds
53. "colossian heresy"; su:colossians criticism; su:colossians commentaries; nu:227.7
54. su:"colossians i 9-14"; su:colossians criticism; su:colossians commentaries; nu:227.7; colossians prayer'
55. su:"colossians i 15-20"; su:incarnation biblical teaching; su:jesus christ person offices; su:christology
56. su:"colossians ii 16-17"; su:"leviticus xxiii"; su:sabbath christianity; su:sabbath biblical teaching; su:fasts feasts judaism;
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 62-67 on I Thessalonians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on I Thessalonians, browse the shelves at 227.81 (see also 227.8) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"thessalonians 1st" commentaries; su:"thessalonians 1st" criticism; nu:227.81; nu:227.8.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 68-72 on II Thessalonians.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on II Thessalonians, browse the shelves at 227.82 (see also 227.8 and 227.81) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"thessalonians 2nd" commentaries; su:"thessalonians 2nd" criticism; nu:227.82; nu:227.8; nu:227.81.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 73-79 on I Timothy.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on I Timothy, browse the shelves at 227.83 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"timothy 1st" commentaries; su:"timothy 1st" criticism; nu:227.83.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 80-84 on II Timothy.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on II Timothy, browse the shelves at 227.84 (see also 227.83) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"timothy 2nd" commentaries; su:"timothy 2nd" criticism; nu:227.84; nu:227.83.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 85-89 on Titus.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Titus, browse the shelves at 227.85 (see also 227.8 and 227.83) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:titus commentaries; su:titus criticism; nu:227.85; nu:227.8; nu:227.83.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 59-61 on Philemon.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Philemon, browse the shelves at 227.86 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:philemon commentaries; su:philemon criticism; nu:227.86.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 90-98 on Hebrews.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Hebrews, browse the shelves at 227.87 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:hebrews commentaries; su:hebrews criticism; nu:227.87.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 99-107 on James.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of James, browse the shelves at 227.91 (see also 227.9) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:bible james commentaries; su:bible james criticism; nu:227.91; nu:227.9.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 108-112 on I Peter.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on I Peter, browse the shelves at 227.92 (see also 227.9) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"peter 1st" commentaries; su:"peter 1st" criticism; nu:227.92; nu:227.9.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 113-116 on II Peter.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on II Peter, browse the shelves at 227.93 (see also 227.9) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"peter 2nd" commentaries; su:"peter 2nd" criticism; nu:227.93; nu:227.9.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 119-124 on I John.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on I John, browse the shelves at 227.94 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"john 1st" commentaries; su:"john 1st" criticism; nu:227.94.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 125-126 on II John.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on II John, browse the shelves at 227.94 (see also 227.95) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"john 2nd" commentaries; su:"john 2nd" criticism; nu:227.94; nu:227.95.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 127-128 on III John.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on III John, browse the shelves at 227.94 (see also 227.95) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:"john 3rd" commentaries; su:"john 3rd" criticism; nu:227.94; nu:227.95.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 117-118 on Jude.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Jude, browse the shelves at 227.97 (see also 227.9; 227.91; 227.92; 227.93) and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:bible jude commentaries; su:bible jude criticism; nu:227.97; nu:227.9; nu:227.91; nu:227.92; nu:227.93.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
I. Recommended search queries for Study Questions 129-143 on Revelation.
II. For Commentaries/Criticisms on the book of Revelation, browse the shelves at 228 and/or search the catalog with these search queries: su:revelation commentaries; su:revelation criticism; nu:228.
III. See also Suggested Reading below.
A Concise Guide to Reading the New Testament by
The New Testament came together, and comes to us, not as a randomly sorted set of individual books but as a definitely shaped and ordered whole. This concise, theological introduction to the New Testament sheds light on the interpretive significance of the canon's structure and sequence and articulates how the final shape of the canon is formative for Christian discipleship. Providing an essential overview often missing from New Testament books and courses, this book will serve as an accessible supplement to any New Testament or Bible introduction textbook.
New Testament Introduction by 
New Testament Survey by
Gromacki's New Testament survey provides a solid foundation for in-depth exegesis of each book in the New Testament. It explores the first-century historical background, social and economic conditions, Gentile religions and philosophies, and Judaistic practices. After presenting introductory data for each book - authorship, date, purpose, and the like - Gromacki provides a detailed outline and summary commentary.
New Testament Survey by
Begins with a comprehensive survey of the social, political, economic, and religious background of the New Testament, and then goes on to examine the various groups of New Testament books, which are considered in their historical settings.
