To find information on the Historical Background, Date, Authorship or Purpose of a book of the Bible, copy and paste the search terms/queries listed below into the Powell Library Discovery Catalog search box. Like this:
ONLINE STUDENTS: Feel free to make use of the Powell Library's Book Scanning Service and/or Controlled Digital Lending Service
HISTORICAL BACKGROUND
SUBJECTS: to command the Discovery search engine to look only in the Subject field, precede subject terms with su:
su:history biblical events (for the date and history of the Exodus use su:exodus, the)
su:bible antiquities (use instead of bible archaeology; also use "antiquities" along with the names of biblical countries and cities e.g.
su:bible geography
su:classical dictionaries
su:history ancient
su:judaism history post-exilic period
su:jews history to 70 a.d.
su:bible manners customs
su:bible handbooks
Note: use “n.t.”, "new testament", “o.t.” and "old testament" as needed e.g., su:n.t. history biblical events; su:old testament history biblical events; su:bible new testament antiquities; su:bible o.t. antiquities
Tip 1: You may leave out the periods between n.t. and o.t. however, you must keep the space where the periods belong (e.g. bible n t geography).
Tip 2: The online catalog is not case sensitive making it unnecessary to capitalize search terms however, doing so will not affect the search.
KEYWORDS: Search with these keywords:
bible backgrounds
bible backgrounds "new testament"
bible backgrounds "old testament"
Alternatively, you may precede a keyword search with the field code: kw: although it is not necessary as "keyword" is the default search. Like this:
kw:bible backgrounds
kw:bible backgrounds "new testament"
AUTHORS: to command the Discovery search engine to look only in the Author field, precede the author's name with au:. These authors are especially important: James Bennett Pritchard, Yohanan Aharoni, Michael Avi-Yonah, Anson Rainey and Ze'ev Safrai.
au:james bennet pritchard
au:yohanan aharoni
au:ze'ev safrai
DATE & AUTHORSHIP
For the date and authorship of a specific book of the bible use su:bible [book] date; su:bible [book] authorship; su:bible [book] biography; Like this:
su:bible genesis date
su:bible genesis authorship
su:bible genesis biography
su:pentateuch date (for the date of the book of Exodus)
su:exodus, the (for the historical event of the Exodus)
PURPOSE
For the purpose of the bible or books of the bible use su:bible [book] introductions.
su:bible introductions
su:bible new testament introductions
su:bible old testament introductions
su:bible genesis introductions
JOURNAL ARTICLES
To find articles, search the following periodical databases using the same search terms as indicated above but without the field codes <su:>, <kw:>, <au:>:
-- ATLA Religion
-- Christian Periodical Index (CPI)
-- ProQuest Religion
-- Old Testament Abstracts
-- New Testament Abstracts.
Go to Find Databases on the library web site to access these databases. For more information, view the short video tutorial "Find Databases"
THESES, DISSERTATIONS
Use TREN to find theological theses and dissertations. Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) provides free downloads of their eDocs to TMUS students. Find the link to TREN on the Find Databases page of the Powell Library web site.
Last updated February 2023.
The TMU library’s collection is arranged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC). An outline of the whole DDC can be found at Summaries: DDC. The following are the more common DDC numbers used for bible backgrounds research.
You may search for a specific DDC number in the Discovery catalog with this field code: nu: like this:
Bible as a whole:
220.9 Geography, history, chronology, persons of Bible lands in Bible times
220.91 Geography
220.92 Collected persons (individual persons can be found with the part of the Bible in which the person is chiefly considered e.g., Abraham 222.11092)
220.93 Biblical Archaeology
220.931 Manners & Customs of the Biblical world
220.95 History of Biblical events
Old Testament:
221.9 Geography, history, chronology, persons of Old Testament lands in Old Testament times
221.93 Archaeology (Material remains)
New Testament:
225.9 Geography, history, chronology, persons of New Testament lands in New Testament times
225.95 New Testament background
Other Testaments:
229 Apocrypha, pseudepigrapha, intertestamental works
296.155
Ancient History:
930 History of the Ancient World to ca 499
930.1 Archaeology
932
933
935
936 Europe north and west of
937
937.06 Period of
938
939 Other parts of the Ancient World to ca. 640
The Master’s Seminary Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System (LC). For an outline of the entire LC System go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline. The following are the more common LC numbers used for bible backgrounds research
BS 410-780 Works about the Bible
BS701-1830 Old Testament
BS1901-2970 New Testament
CB History of civilization
CC Archaeology (General)
D 51-95 Ancient history
DF 10-289 Ancient
DS 1-326 Ancient Near
GN Anthropology
The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook by
One of the keys to enjoying an in-depth and rewarding experience of reading the Bible is recapturing the ancient world--its cultures, customs, and histories. With this innovative guide, readers can enrich their study with fascinating insights into the Bible and the world in which it was written. The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook offers the most up-to-date evangelical biblical scholarship in a format that is readable and easy to understand. This book-by-book guide brings the Bible to life with more than 1,100 full-color pages packed with illustrations, maps, and photos, and 112 in-depth articles on a wide range of topics important to students of the Bible. Readers will discover how each part of the Bible fits into and informs every other part, giving them a cohesive understanding of God's Word. No reference collection will be complete without this incredible new handbook to the Bible.
The Baker Illustrated Guide to Everyday Life in Bible Times by
Introduces modern readers to daily life in Bible times covering a whole host of issues, imagery and customs.
The Carta Bible Atlas by 
A Cultural Handbook to the Bible by
The task of interpreting the Bible -- which was written by and to people living in very different cultural contexts from contemporary Western society -- can seem monumental. The opposite is also true: people can easily forget that studying the Bible is a type of cross-cultural encounter, instead reading their own cultural assumptions into biblical texts. In A Cultural Handbook to the Bible John Pilch bridges this cultural divide by translating important social concepts and applying them to biblical texts. In short, accessible chapters Pilch discusses sixty-three topics related to the cosmos, the earth, persons, family, language, human consciousness, God and the spirit world, and entertainment. Pilch's fresh interpretations of the Bible challenge traditional views and explore topics often overlooked in commentaries. Each chapter concludes with a list of useful references from cultural anthropology or biblical studies, making this book an excellent resource for students of the Bible.
The Cultural World of the Bible by
A guide to the manners and customs of the ancient world, from what people wore, ate, and built to how they exercised justice, mourned, and viewed family and legal customs,
Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity by
Most Bible dictionaries on the market today miss a number of cultural and sociological issues of interest to the study of the Scriptures. The Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquityaims to fill this void. Written and edited by a world-class historian and also by a highly respected biblical scholar, this unique reference work provides background cultural and technical information on the world of the Hebrew Bible and New Testament from 2000 BC to approximately AD 600. Articles on domestic life, technology, culture, laws, and religious practices are rarely found in available Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias, but here they are explained in detail, accompanied by bibliographic material for further exploration. Articles range from 5-20 pages long. While the authors are well known, they have also recruited 35-40 experts in the actual fields being discussed in numerous cases, and thus the series is further strengthened by the high level of scholarship applied to each of the articles. Scholars, pastors, and students (and their teachers) will find this to be a very useful resource for biblical study, exegesis, and sermon preparation. This first volume in the The Dictionary of Daily Lifeseries covers topics including: agriculture, art, barbers and beards, boats and ships, camels, childbirth and children, clothing, dance, and many more.
Eerdmans' Handbook to the Bible by 
Historical Backgrounds of Bible History by
Presents figures identifiable as specific Bible characters as they lived and labored in their respective centuries and spheres.
Manners and Customs in the Bible by
Each chapter furnishes an introduction to the political and physical setting of the period in Israel's history and outlines the basic structure of its social world. Scenes from the biblical text shed light on the daily life of the people of that time.
Manners and Customs of the Bible by
Secular and religious customs, observances, dress, and traditions that are directly or indirectly referred to in the Bible.
The New Moody Atlas of the Bible by 
The New Unger's Bible Handbook by
Includes a complete commentary, diagrams and charts, plus hundreds of color illustrations and photographs.
Social World of Ancient Israel by
Examines five major areas of daily life in antiquity: politics, economics, diplomacy, law and education.
The Way It Was in Bible Times by
Discusses housing, food, clothing, family, worship, weights & measures, and education.
Zondervan Handbook to the Bible by
Study guide for the bible including the land, cultures, battles, feast days, heroes, and villains of Scripture.
Last updated May 2022.
Ancient near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament with Supplement by 
Daily Life in Biblical Times by
The book introduces different aspects of daily life. It deals with the economy, both rural and urban, emphasizing the main sources of livelihood such as agriculture, herding, and trade. These topics are discussed in relation to the family in particular and the social structure in general. Beyond material culture, the book delves into daily and seasonal cultural, social and religious activities, art, music, and the place of writing in Israelite society.
Families in Ancient Israel by
Four respected scholars of the Hebrew Bible and early Judaism provide a clear portrait of the family in ancient Israel. Important theological and ethical implications are made for the family today.
Life in Biblical Israel by
Presents a vivid description of the world of Ancient Israel.
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary: Old Testament by
Passage-by-passage commentary presents archaeological findings, historical explanations, geographic insights, notes on manners and customs, and more.
Last updated November, 2020.
Christianity in the Greco-Roman World by
Understanding the sociological setting for New testament in Asia Minor and Europe-the Greco Roman World-is essential for correctly interpreting the letter of Paul. Hubbard address the realms of religion and superstition, of education and philosophy, of the urban society, and of the family. Each major section begins with a brief fictional tale, followed by description of the cultural setting related to that vignette, and culminating in drawing out the implications of the cultural setting for understanding Paul's letters written to that World. Book jacket.
Commentary on the New Testament by
Verse-by-verse explanations with a literal translation Shouldn't a Bible commentary clarify what God's Word actually says? Going beyond questions of authorship, date, sources, and historicity, respected linguist and teacher Gundry offers a one-volume exposition of the New Testament that focuses on what is most useful for preaching, teaching, and individual study--what the biblical text really means. Providing interpretive observations in a "breezy" style that's easy to read and adaptable for oral use in pulpit or classroom presentations, Gundry directs his book to an evangelical audience. His crisp translation of the New Testament inserts various phrasings of passages in brackets, allowing for smooth transition from original text to alternative and contemporary readings. SAMPLE TEXT OF TRANSLATION JOHN'S PREDICTING A MORE POWERFUL BAPTIZER THAN HE (Mark 1:1-8) 1:1-3: The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ, God's Son, according as it's written in Isaiah the prophet, "Behold, I'm sending my messenger before your face = ahead of you], who'll pave your way = the road you'll travel], the messenger who is] the voice of one crying out in the wilderness, 'Prepare the way of the Lord. Make his paths straight.'" Pastors, Sunday school teachers, small-group leaders, and laypeople will welcome Gundry's non-technical explanations and clarifications. And Bible students at all levels will appreciate his sparkling interpretations of the NT Scriptures. A trustworthy guide for anybody wanting to delve deeper into God's Word. SAMPLE TEXT OF COMMENTS "Gospel" means "good news." Jews would associate this good news with Isaiah 52:7. Non-Jews would think of the good news of an emperor's accession to power, birthday, visit to a city, military victory, or bringing of prosperity to the empire. But Mark's good news has to do with the salvation and victory brought by Jesus over evil in all its demonic and physical forms. "The gospel of Jesus Christ" therefore means "the gospel about Jesus Christ" and refers to a proclaimed message ("the voice of one crying out"), not a book (though because books like Mark's contain that proclaimed message, the term came to refer to those books in the capitalized form of "Gospels" to distinguish them from the message, kept uncapitalized as "gospel").
Daily life in the time of Jesus by 
Everyday Life in New Testament Times by
This book gives a picture of how people lived in Palestine at the time of the Roman occupation.
A Guide to the New Testament World by 
Jerusalem in the Time of Jesus by
An Investigation into Economic and Social Conditions during the New Testament Period.
The New Testament in Its Social Environment by
Examines the social, political, and economic world of early Christianity.
New Testament Introduction by 
The New Testament World by
Introduces students to both the New Testament and the social-scientific study of the New Testament.
The Social World of Jesus and the Gospels by
In order to interpret historical writings, the reader must not employ their modern understanding of the world, but must strive to grasp the mindset of the original audience. Provides the reader with a set of possible scenarios for reading the New Testament.
Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary: New Testament by
Walks you verse by verse through all the books of the New Testament..Things that seem mystifying, puzzling, or obscure will take on tremendous meaning when you view them in their ancient context.
Last updated November, 2020.
