Biblical World View Resources
Go to www.masters.edu/academics/library/. Search the Powell Library Discovery Catalog for the items listed on this Research Guide. For additional sources of information about a Christian world view. use this search query: kw:world view AND su:christianity philosophy; limit the Content type to Non-fiction.
Search the phrase "biblical world view" or “world view” as keywords. Do not search them as subjects, i.e. su:world view, because they are not Library of Congress Subject Headings (see below). However, searching both as keywords will provide a good list of related titles. You will pick up a few additional records by searching “worldview” as a single keyword. However, more records will be retrieved by searching it as a two word phrase. When you do find related records, identify the subject headings associated with them by selecting the title of a record in the results list. Search these for additional resources, i.e. Systematic Serendipity.
You can try searching these as subject (simply copy and paste each one into the Discovery Catalog search bar):
su:Apologetics | su:Bible Philosophy | su:Christian* Philosophy | su:Culture | su:Ideology Christianity | su:Christianity and culture | su:Christianity 20th century | su:Ethics | su:Christianity and the arts | su:Evangelicalism | su:Church and the world | su:Faith and reason | su:Knowledge, Theory of (Religion) | su:Philosophy and religion | su:Internationalism | su:Popular culture
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH):
LC Subject Headings are a controlled vocabulary created by the Library of Congress and shared by most libraries in the United States and Internationally. As a result, they are extremely valuable as a research tool for identifying similar resources on the same topic regardless of library or location.
Using the Powell Library Catalog, search your topic and add these LC Subject Headings:
*Use the field code <su:> to command the search engine to look for these terms only in the Subject Field. Like this: su:apologetics; su:christianity and culture;
The following can be added to any major subject heading like those listed above to further focus your search:
su:forecasting; or –-su:forecast (better still truncate it like this: forecast* to retrieve forecast, forecasting, forecasted, forecasts) ^^
su:globalization ^^
su:mondialisation ^^ (See also mondialization as a keyword); (definition: the increase of contact between countries, cultures, etc.)
su:religious aspects
su:christianity
su:social aspects
su:trends
su:twenty-first century --forecasting
^^Try these also as keywords along with your main topic.
Databases and Indexes
To find articles and other kinds of research documents online indexing tools are best. Be sure to read the “About”, Info icons, “Help” menus and scan the search screen for available limiting options and search functions to make your research efforts as efficient and as effective as possible.
To access all of the online research tools the TMU Powell Library provides for you, select Find Databases from the library main Web site.
If known, type the name of the database or index in the “Database Title / Keyword” box (far left). If a specific database is not known, use the Subjects list to identify appropriate databases and indexes related to a specific field of study or peruse all that are available with the Alpha list. For example: selecting the subject “Global Studies & Missions Abroad” will give you a list of the indexes that provide citations, abstracts and/or full-text to articles related to the field.
Last updated December 2024.
