Skip to Main Content

BTS512 History of the Covenant People : Research Strategies

Research suggestions for each of the questions asked in Dr. Grisanti's research paper.

Research Tips & Tricks

Regardless of which topic you choose ...

First Get Background Information:  Search broad range tools like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to provide background information, a readymade outline, expert authors, contextual parameters on a topic, and a greater understanding when reading other resources. While these types of resources are not cited in a scholarly research paper, they are extremely valuable in the early stages of a research project.

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Find Encyclopedias and Dictionaries: The easiest method of finding encyclopedias & dictionaries on any topic is to search the library catalog with "encyclopedias OR dictionaries" in the subject field (su:) then add whatever broad field your topic fits into. Like this: 
   su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND judaism 
   su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND kw:judaism
   su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND biblical 

See also Encyclopaedia Britannica and Encyclopaedia of Judaica online.

NOTE: "OR" & "AND" must be in all caps to function as Boolean operators. It is also very helpful to limit the Resource Format: to Book. Also consider limiting the Content Type: to NonFiction and the Language: to English.

NOTE: "su:" commands the Discovery search engine to look only in the Subject field of the bibliographic record. Likewise, "SU" is used in periodical indexing tools like ATLAS Plus, Christian Periodical Index (CPI), Old Testament Abstracts (OTA), etc.

NOTE:  "kw:" searches these metadata fields: author, title, publisher, summary/abstract, table of contents, series, subjects, genre, and notes.

NOTE: When the asterisk (*) is used at the end of a term, it denotes a command in most search engines to search for the root word and every variation thereafter. Like this: bibl* will search for bible, bibles, biblical, and biblically.

TIP: Hardcopy encyclopedias and dictionaries on Judaism are located in 296 through 296.0901; hardcopy encyclopedias and dictionaries on the Bible are in 220.3.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL): Get books and articles when the library does not have what you want.

TREN = Theological Research Exchange Network indexes theological theses/dissertations. Current TMUS students and faculty may download eDocs for free. You must access TREN via Find Databases on the library web site and use your TMUS credentials for authentication to freely  download eDocs.

EThOS = Electronic Theses Online Service <ethos.bl.uk> provides access to the full text of all UK doctoral theses, either via free download or digitization-on-demand. No authentication required.

Last updated May 2023.

Problem Area

Length of the Sojourn in Egypt

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • Israel in Egypt: 222.12095; 962.01
  • Commentaries on Exodus 222.12; 220.7
  • History of Ancient Israel: 956.9401; 221.95
  • Commentaries on the whole bible 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • israel sojourn egypt
  • egypt israel exodus
  • "israelites in egypt"
  • su:exodus commentaries
  • su:exodus criticism
  • su:egyptian literature relation to the old testament
  • su:bible old testament antiquities
  • su:middle east antiquities
  • su:bible old testament historiography
  • su:bible pentateuch history of biblical events

To find articles, uses these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • israelites in egypt
  • israel sojourn egypt
  • israel egypt exodus

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • israelites in egypt
  • israel sojourn egypt
  • israel egypt exodus

Date of the Exodus

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • Commentaries on Exodus: 222.12; 221.61; 220.7
  • History of Ancient Israel: 221.95; 956.9401

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • "date of the exodus"
  • su:exodus, the
  • su:exodus the AND kw:date
  • su:exodus biblical event
  • jews exodus
  • su:bible exodus
  • su:exodus history of biblical events
  • su:exodus commentaries
  • su:exodus criticism
  • su:old testament introductions
  • bible background*

To find articles, use this search query in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • "the exodus" date

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • "the exodus"
  • egypt exodus

Search the TREN database for theological theses and dissertations:

  •  select eDOCS, select "more search options", in the Title box search: the exodus, then select exact phrase.

Conquest of Canaan -- when and how long; an actual conquest?

 

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 222.12
  • 222.2
  • 956.9401
  • 221.7
  • 220.95
  • 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • canaan israel conquest
  • su:jews history 586 B.C.
  • su:judges history biblical events
  • su:joshua history biblical events
  • "conquest of israel"
  • "conquest of canaan" NOT kw:poe*
  • su:conquest canaan NOT kw:poe*

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • SU conquest and SU joshua 
  • "conquest of canaan"
  • "conquest of canaan" joshua

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • conquest of canaan
  • "conquest of canaan"
  • "conquest of canaan" joshua

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search the TREN database, select eDOCS, use the search term "canaan"
  • Search EThOS: conquest of canaan

Joshua 10 and the sun standing still

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of Books: (Powell Library hardcopy)

  • 220.93
  • 221.6
  • 222.2
  • 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • "sun stood still"
  • su:"joshua X"
  • su:joshua commentaries
  • su:joshua criticism

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • "joshua X"
  • "joshua 10"
  • joshua "sun stood still"

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • "sun stood still"

Jephthah's vow -- what did he vow and how did he fulfill that vow?

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 222.32
  • 221.95
  • 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • jephthah vow
  • judges 11:31"
  • su:judges xi
  • su:judges commentaries
  • su:judges criticism
  • su:jephthah biblical judge

To find articles, search ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament Abstracts with these search queries:

  • jephthah vow
  • “judges 11”
  • SU jephthah’s daughter

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • jephthah
  • jepththah's vow

For theses & dissertations, search the TREN database with this search term: jephthah

The length of Pekah's reign

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 296.49
  • 256.9401
  • 222.5
  • 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • pekah
  • su:priests, jewish
  • su:jews history to b.c. 586
  • bible kings chronology
  • bible chronicles chronology

To find articles, search ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament Abstracts with this search query:

  • pekah

Search other related databases, like BAS Online, Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica, etc. with this search query:

  • Pekah

What kind of man was Mordecai and what kind of woman was Esther?

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 222.7
  • 222.9
  • 224.94
  • 222
  • 220.7

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • su:mordecai biblical figure
  • su:esther queen of persia
  • su:bible esther commentaries
  • su:bible esther criticism
  • su:esther queen of persia biography
  • su:bible esther biography

To find articles, search ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament Abstracts with this search query:

  • mordecai esther
  • mordecai biblical figure
  • SU mordecai biblical figure
  • SU esther queen of persia

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • mordecai
  • mordecai esther

For theses & dissertations, search the TREN database with these search terms:

  • mordecai
  • esther

Search EThOS with this search query:

  • mordecai esther

Last updated August 2023.

Historical Context

Historical and Biblical threads 

Division of the Monarchy -- what led to it?

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Location of Books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 221.95
  • 220.95
  • 222.5
  • 956.9401

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • "divided kingdom" israel
  • "divided monarchy" israel
  • su:bible old testament history
  • su:old testament biblical events
  • su:jews history 953-586 B.C.
  • su:kings history biblical events
  • su:chronicles history biblical events

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • divided monarchy
  • "divided monarchy" israel
  • divided kingdom
  • "divided kingdom" israel
  • SU israel divided kingdom 

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • divided monarchy
  • "divided monarchy" israel
  • divided kingdom
  • "divided kingdom" israel

Fall of Jerusalem -- what led to it? (Babylon's conquest in 586 B.C. covenantal backdrop to God's expectations of His chosen people.

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Search the Discovery Catalog

Use these search queries :

  • "fall of jerusalem" "babylonian empire"
  • "babylonian captivity"
  • "fall of jerusalem"
  • "destruction of jerusalem"
  • su:jerusalem in the bible
  • su:jerusalem history to 586 b.c.
  • su:temple of jerusalem
  • su:jerusalem history 586 b.c.

See also these resources:

Find Articles

Use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • "fall of jerusalem"
  • "babylonian captivity" israel
  • "destruction of jerusalem"

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • "destruction of jerusalem"
  • "babylonian captivity"
  • "fall of jerusalem"
  • jerusalem bronze age

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search the TREN database, select eDOCS, use the search term: babylonian
  • Search EThOS using these search terms: fall of jerusalem; babylonian captivity

Last updated August 2023.

Related Research Guides

Related Biblical Studies Research Guides

Overview of an ANE people group

Brief broad overview, history, key cultural and religious features, relevance to biblical studies, intersection of the people group with Israel in biblical records and the related period in a way that sheds light on Scripture.

New-Assyrians

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies: 

Location of books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 220.95221.95
  • 291.2117
  • 224
  • 939.4
  • 956.01
  • 956.701

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • neo-assyrian*
  • "neo-assyrian"
  • su:middle east civilization to 622
  • su:assyria history
  • su:old testament history biblical events assyria*
  • su:"assyria in the bible"
  • su:neo-assyrian empire

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • neo-assyria

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • assyria
  • neo-assyria

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search TREN and EThOS with these search terms: neo-assyrian; assyria

New-Babylonians

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Location of books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 956.7012
  • 956.9401
  • 220.93
  • 221.61

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • su:babylonia history
  • su:jews history babylonian captivity
  • su:judaism history post-exilic period
  • su:babylonian captivity biblical teaching
  • neo-babylonian

To find articles, use this search query in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • neo-babylonian

Search other related databases, like BAS Online, Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica, etc. with this search query:

  • neo-babylonian

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search TREN and EThOS with these search terms: neo-babylonian; babylonia

Persians

Before you begin your research see these Wikipedia articles which include extensively documented references and bibliographies:

Location of books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 956.9401
  • 296.09014
  • 296.09296.81
  • 222.6
  • 221.95

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • persia* biblical
  • persian period
  • "persian period"

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • persian period
  • SU persian
  • SU persia in the bible
  • SU "persia in the bible"

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • persians
  • persia
  • persian period

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search TREN with this search term: persian
  • Search EThOS with these search terms: persia; persian empire

Phoenicians

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 939.44
  • 221.9
  • 221.95

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • phoenicians
  • su:phoenicians
  • su:phoenician antiquities

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • phoenicians
  • phoenicia
  • SU phoenicia

Search other related databases, like BAS Online (select "Explore the Library" for each new search), Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica (select "Search Within" (on the right) for each new search), etc. with these search queries:

  • phoenicians
  • phoenicia

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search TREN with this search term: phoenicia
  • Search EThOS with these search terms: phoenicia' phoenicians; phoenician period

Philistines

Before you begin your research see this Wikipedia article which includes extensively documented references and bibliography:

Location of books (Powell Library hardcopy):

  • 220.93
  • 221.95
  • 956.9401

Use these search queries in the Discovery catalog for hardcopy and eBooks:

  • philistines
  • su:philistines antiquities
  • su:philistines history

To find articles, use these search queries in ATLA Religion, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion and Old Testament abstracts databases:

  • philistines

Search other related databases, like BAS Online, Cambridge Histories Online, Encyclopaedia Judaica, etc. with this search query:

  • philistines

Find Theses & Dissertations:

  • Search TREN and EThOS with this search term: philistines

Last updated August 2023.

Books for help with Research

Work smarter not harder. Ask Miss T

Profile Photo
Janet "Miss T." Tillman
Contact:
Robert L. Powell Library
The Master's University
21726 Placerita Canyon. Rd.
Santa Clarita, CA 91321
1.661.362.2201
Website