Use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to find appropriate terminology, variants terms and narrower terms to use for a more focused search query: https://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects.html.
1. For resources about the major world religions use these search queries:
su:religions
su:comparative religion
su:religious denominations
su:world religions
2. For resources about a specific religion, use the name of the religion as a subject. Like this:
su:buddhism | su:jainism | su:sikhiism | su:zoroastrianism
3. Use encyclopedias for an overview of a religion. Encyclopedias will provide a basic outline and the broad parameters of the religion. They will also help you focus a research topic and enhance your understanding when reading more detailed information. The bibliographies and authors are excellent sources for further research. When searching for encyclopedias and dictionaries, limit the results to books, this will eliminate book reviews.
Use this search query:
su:(encyclopedias OR dictionaries) AND su:(religions) AND (x0:book)
If you only want eBooks, use this search query:
su:(encyclopedias OR dictionaries) AND su:(religions) AND (x0:book + x4:digital)
Last updated September, 2020.
KEYS TO BECOMING AN EER: Efficient & Effective Researcher
If At First You Don't Succeed . . . | You Can't Have Just One . . . | Use Sources to Find More Sources | Evaluate Resources for Usefulness & Scholarship | Make Friends with the Reference Librarian | When You Can Talk on the Topic with Confidence, You're Done Researching--Time to Start Writing!
Powell Library Video Tutorials
Introduction to the Robert L. Powell Library
A brief video introducing the Powell Library Web site.
Sign in to your Library Patron Account
Create your own password to access your Library Patron Account, My Personal Lists and My Saved Searches.
Introduction to Discovery: Simple Search.
Learn the basics of using the Discovery Catalog's Simple Search.
Introduction to Discovery: Cite, Save, Share
Learn how to use the cite, link, email and save features of the Discovery catalog.
Introduction to Discovery: Course Reserves, Resources, Chat
An overview of the Course Reserves, Resources links and Chat with a Librarian features of the Discovery Catalog.
Find Databases
Find all of the databases licensed to The Master's University Robert L. Powell Library.
Find Journals
Discover what journals the library subscribes to, either physical or electronic.
Last updated February 2023.
