DDC Number: 248.88. Use this Dewey Decimal Classification number to find books on Powell Library shelves.
Search Terms. Use these search terms to find resources on the concepts of "calling" and "vocation":
Calling, Vocation, Occupations, Work
Search Queries. Copy and paste these search queries into the Powell Library Discovery Catalog <masters.edu/library>:
calling vocation
secular sacred divide
secular/sacred
su:christian stewardship
su:employees religious life
For a Biblical and Christian Perspective add "biblical" and "christianity" to each search query. Like this:
calling vocation christianity
secular sacred divide biblical
work christianity
Last updated April 2022.
Use Dictionaries to get English language definitions, etymology and synonyms for Calling and Vocation:
Use these Bible Dictionaries for biblical definition of "CALL": 220.3
The Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible by 
The Baker Illustrated Bible Dictionary by
This comprehensive dictionary intends to help people read the Bible with increased understanding and confidence. It contains articles on major topics as well as places and people, even if they just appear in a single verse in the Bible.
The Expository Dictionary of Bible Words by 
New International Encyclopedia of Bible Words by
The Rich Meaning Behind the Hebrew and Greek Words of the Bible Whether you're a pastor, a student, or simply a lover of the Bible, this book helps you get more out of God's Word by revealing the original meanings of key biblical words. The reader-friendly, narrative style makes it easy to explore the Hebrew and Greek words that lie behind the English words. You'll discover significant shades of meaning and nuances that bring depth to your understanding of Scripture. This highly accessible reference tool surpasses the well-known Vine's Expository Dictionary of New Testament Words in a number of ways: * Thorough coverage of both Old and New Testaments gives you a firm grasp of the entire Bible. * The Goodrick/Kohlenberger numbering system allows for accurate identification of Hebrew and Greek words. * Top evangelical scholarship ensures current insights into the meanings of words. * Biblical concepts are fully discussed, providing you not only with understanding, but also, where appropriate, with practical and devotional insights you can apply to your life. * Entry words are taken from the NIV and the NASB--respectively, the best-selling contemporary translation and today's most literal word-for-word translation. * Major KJV terms are cross-referenced to broaden your understanding of translational nuances and distinctions. * Four indexes include: Hebrew words, Greek words, Scripture references, and topical index. "Exceptional value . . . Clear, precise, and balanced."--James Montgomery Boice, Pastor, Tenth Presbyterian Church, Philadelphia "A milestone in Bible study aids."--Jerry E. White, Executive Director, The Navigators Zondervan's Understand the Bible Reference Series This six-volume series supplies users of today's most popular modern Bible translation, the New International Version, with scholarly, economical, and uncompromisingly evangelical study tools. It includes the New International Bible Commentary, New International Bible Dictionary, New International Bible Concordance, and New International Encyclopedia of Bible Words, New International Encyclopedia of Bible Difficulties, and the New International Encyclopedia of Bible Characters.
The New Treasury of Scripture Knowledge by
An incredible 1-volume Bible reference library, The New Treasury of Scripture Knowledge is a unique resource for Bible study, teaching, or preaching. Dozens of special study aids help you develop powerful lessons or sermons - straight from the Bible itself! No other tool better helps you interpret Scripture with Scripture. Unlike any tool you've ever seen - loaded with helps not available anywhere else.
Wycliffe Bible Encyclopedia by 
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible by
"Now thoroughly revised, this five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Includes more than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people, more than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference; hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs; 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference; and scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics."--Publisher's information."Now thoroughly revised, this five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a well-rounded perspective on issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. Includes more than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people, more than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference; hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs; 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference; and scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics."--Publisher's information.
The Zondervan Topical Bible by Use these Theological Dictionaries to compare CALL & VOCATION
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
New Dictionary of Theology by
An Eternity 1988 Book of the Year!Since its publication, the New Dictionary of Theology has rapidly established itself as a standard, authoritative reference work in systematic and historical theology. More than 630 articles cover a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements:from creation to the millenniumfrom Abelard to Zwinglifrom Third World liberation theology to South African Dutch Reformed theologyFirmly anchored in the evangelical tradition, the NDOT is nevertheless wide-ranging in its scope. Over 200 contributors, experts in their individual fields, offer both Western and international perspective. Concise and comprehensive, biblically grounded and historically informed, even-handed and free from unduly technical language, this dictionary has been praised by general readers, pastors and scholars.
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology by For resources on the Lordship of Jesus Christ over all of life ...
Use these search queries:
"lordship of jesus"
su:jesus christ lordship
su:lordship of jesus christ
su:jesus christ person and offices
su:jesus christ history of doctrines
su:christology
Last updated April 2022.
