For books and ebooks, search the phrase "philosophy of ministry" in the Powell Library catalog: www.masters.edu/library.
For articles, search the same phrase "philosophy of ministry" in ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index, and ProQuest Religion.
To access these databases, go to the library web site and select "Find Databases".
For theses & dissertations search the phrase "philosophy of ministry" in Research in Ministry and TREN.
To access these databases, go to the library web site, select "Find Databases"
Search the term "ministry" in Oxford Handbooks Online.
To access this database, go to the library web site, select "Find Databases"
Last updated April 2022.
Contemporary American Religion by 
Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education by
The comprehensive dictionary presents 850 articles representing the salient issues Christian educators face today. Each topic integrates scriptural principles with discoveries made in the fields of education, psychology, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. The articles explore the history, philosophy and theology of Christian education as well as provide insight into educational methodology, learning theory and practice, and relevant biblical issues.
Exploring the History and Philosophy of Christian Education by
Written by two leading scholars in the field, this volume integrates the history and philosophy of Christian education and explores the contemporary applications.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology (OEBT) is a new encyclopedic treatment of major theological issues and themes in the Bible that surpasses all similar reference works in scope and significance. Leading scholars provide extensive overviews of key topics, offering analyses ofthe trajectory and reception history of theological issues as well as critical assessment of Near Eastern and Greco-Roman antecedents for Old and New Testament perspectives. While many entries address the Bible's historical context, including traditional theological perspectives on creation, sin,covenant, grace, and forgiveness, others are more rooted in modern issues, featuring biblical perspectives on contemporary concerns such as wealth and poverty, gender/race discrimination, and market economics.The two-volume OEBT contains 168 entries ranging in length from 2,000 to 8,000 words. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry affords students and scholars a comprehensive topical and methodological summary of the topic that serves as both a go-to reference anda starting point for original research. The OEBT's distinctive approach and range of entries make it a unique resource that fills a void in biblical scholarship.
Reaching Your World by 
Transforming Discipleship by
Many churchgoers complain that their churches lack a coherent plan for discipleship and spiritual growth. In turn, many church leaders lament their lack of resources to build and manage effective programs to help people become fully devoted followers of Christ. In Transforming Discipleship Greg Ogden introduces his vision for discipleship, emphasizing that solutions will not be found in large-scale, finely-tuned, resource-heavy programs.Instead, Ogden recovers Jesus' method of accomplishing life change by investing in just a few people at a time. And he shows how discipleship can become a self-replicating process with ongoing impact from generation to generation.Biblical, practical and tremendously effective, Transforming Discipleship provides the insights and philosophy of ministry behind Ogden's earlier work, Discipleship Essentials. Together, these ground-breaking books have the potential to transform how your church transforms the lives of its people.
Last updated April 2022
Last updated April 2022.
