Use the Discovery Catalog to find resources for various aspects of the reformation era. Simply add "16th century" to your search query, with or without "reformation". Add a country or a person as desired.
su:reformation culture 16th century su:reformation music 16th century su:reformation society 16th century su:church music 16th century
su:reformation social sciences 16th century su:reformation social aspects 16th century su:reformation politics 16th century su:military 16th century
su:reformation communication 16th century su:reformation psychology 16th century su:reformation technology 16th century su:marriage 16th century luther
su:suffering 16th century calvin su:government 16th century calvin
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Covers over 15 different academic subjects. To access content available to TMUS, search a topic then select “Only show content I have access to” from the refining options to the left.
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
A collection of important historical documents ranging from the ancient world to the twentieth century.
EEBO features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
A collection of titles organized around significant events from ancient times to the 21st century.
Provides biographies of important people from all historical periods and from every part of the globe and covers achievements of thousands of individuals in numerous disciplines, including science, politics, arts and humanities.
Primary source documents covering African American History, American History, World History, World Religions and American Leaders.
The world’s leading scholars discuss research and the latest thinking in the fields of Philosophy & Religion. Select Unlocked and Free, left of the results list.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
International religion and spirituality - journal articles..
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.
The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Last updated January 2025.
Publishes open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology) from 1990 to the present.
A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books including creeds & catechisms, early church fathers, hymns, reference works, and commentaries.
DIAMM is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts.
A digital library service provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
Monergism.com is a free, comprehensive online theological library comprised of Reformed Christian resources designed to bring glory to Jesus Christ alone. The directory consists of original and aggregated content from around the world emphasizing the good news that salvation is God's free gift for guilty sinners, not a reward for the righteous.
Curated high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.
The Best, Free, Biblical, Reformed Books and Articles Online. Provides the best theological literature from 1800 to today available for free on the internet. Select works from the reformation and puritan periods are included as well.
Last updated January 2025.
Find more reference resources on the Reformation with this search query:
su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND ti:reformation
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation
by
The Encyclopedia of Martin Luther and the Reformation is a comprehensive global study of the life and work of Martin Luther and the movements that followed him--in history and through today. Organized by a stellar advisory board of Luther and Reformation scholars, the encyclopedia features nearly five hundred entries that examine Luther's life and impact worldwide. The two-volume set provides overviews of basics such as the 95 Theses as well as more complex topics such as reformational distinctions. Entries explore Luther's contributions to theology, sacraments, his influence on the church and contemporaries, his character, and more. The work also discusses Luther's controversies and topics such as gender, sexuality, and race. Publishing at the five hundredth anniversary of the Reformation, this is an essential reference work for understanding the Reformation and its legacy today.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation
by
Exploring the period of transition from medieval to modern times, Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition covers all aspects of the European Renaissance and Reformation, from visual arts and architecture to philosophy, religion, and politics. In some 2,100 A-to-Z entries, this comprehensive reference provides detailed information on three centuries that have defined the shape of modern Western civilization. The scope of this encyclopedia is the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries, during which time the pivotal events of the Renaissance and Reformation occurred, irrevocably changing the future's course. as well as general interest topics such as the role of women, drawing, families, food and cookery, literacy, libraries, and travel. Along with the addition of substantial new material emphasizing the recent findings of cultural historians, the text has been updated and revised throughout, taking into account the newest scholarship. Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition is complete with a new introduction, chronology, and bibliography, as well as a comprehensive index, approximately 100 black-and-white photographs, and an insert of 20 full-color images. An authoritative work for students and professionals alike, the encyclopedia is an accessible reference written with the non-specialist in mind.
Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation
by
The Protestant Reformation of the 16th century has traditionally been viewed as marking the onset of modernity in Europe. It finally broke up the federal Christendom of the middle ages, under the leadership of the papacy and substituted for it a continent of autonomous and national states, independent of Rome. The Historical Dictionary of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation provides a comprehensive account of two chains of events_the Protestant Reformation and the Catholic Counter-Reformation_that have left an enduring imprint on Europe, America, and the world at large. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on persons, places, countries, institutions, doctrines, ideas, and events.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
by
In 1517, Martin Luther's legendary Ninety-five Theses set in motion a chain of events that fundamentally altered European history. The resulting Reformation of the sixteenth century proved to be one of the most important and far-reaching phenomena of an era marked by dramatic religious and social upheaval. A critical chapter in the history of Christian thought, the movement provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world.The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole.The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation-- including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, and literature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, the Augsburg Confession, music, the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution, and literacy.Offering exhaustive interdisciplinary and international coverage of all aspects of the Reformation, this is the ultimate reference on the subject. Transcending the bounds of denominational encyclopedias and dictionaries of Reformation history currently available, it offers the only comprehensive picture of western Europe and the British Isles, along with southern Europe, Scandinavia, and east-central Europe in the early modern period. It is the first source scholars, students, and general readers in any discipline will reach for when studying the Reformation.
Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620
by
Covering the period comprising the Renaissance and Reformation, this volume introduces a unique set of interdisciplinary biographical dictionaries providing basic information on the people who have contributed significantly to the culture of Western civilization. Unlike general dictionaries which focus on political and military figures, this book covers such figures as the religious leaders who contributed to the Reformation, scientists who paved the way for a new view of the universe, and Renaissance painters, sculptors, and architects, as well as writers, musicians, and scholars. While the great personalities are included--Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Galileo--the volume covers lesser known figures as well--the Muslim scholar Leo Africanus, the Flemish geographer-astronomer Gemma Frisius, the English travel writer Thomas Coryate. Although many of the subjects also had political influence, the entries are written to highlight their individual cultural achievement. An exciting, tumultuous, and chaotic age, the years from 1500 to 1620 saw increasing discontent with Catholicism and the beginning of Protestantism with Luther's 95 theses, great strides in the development of the printing press and a resulting increase in literacy, the humanist movement with its emphasis on the arts of antiquity, a proliferation of literature and art inspired by but moving beyond classical forms, and conflict between the triumph of Renaissance culture and the theologians of the Protestant Reformation. The resulting cultural production was astounding. This volume covers those who contributed to the fields of art and architecture, music, philosophy, religion, political and social thought, science, mathematics, literature, history, and education. With over 350 entries written by 72 scholars, the book provides a good basic resource on an exciting age.
Last updated January 2025.
