Biblical Word Studies: Word Studies, Textual Criticism and Translations

You will need Bible concordances & Word studies. Bible concordances are in the 200’s. But Greek and Hebrew word studies are mostly in the 400’s with Languages. Greek Language resources are in the 480’s with most of the Greek New Testament word studies in 487’s. Hebrew Language resources are in 492. However, some word studies are put in 200’s with either the whole bible 220’s or the Old Testament 221 or the New Testament 225. The difference is mostly those in the 400’s have a greater emphasis on the language aspect whereas those in the 200’s the emphasis is on the biblical aspect. However, often times it depends on the perception of the cataloger.​

See this PowerPoint Presentation for more information on a variety of tools needed for biblical & theological word studies: Bible Study Research.

You will find RESOURCES in these areas of the library:

220.3
225.3
230.041
487.43

Here are some TITLES that will be useful:

• Expository Dictionary of Bible Words (220.3 Ex76r)
• Mounce's complete expository dictionary of Old & New Testament words (220.3 M862m)
• Vine's Complete Expository Dictionary  of Old and New Testament words (220.3 V75v; 487.43 V75v)
• Unger's Bible Dictionary (220.3 Un3b)
• Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by Laird Harris (492.4 T342h)
• Moulton & Milligan. Vocabulary of the Greek Testament [487.43 M862v] 
• Vincent’s Word Studies in the New Testament. [225.7 V743w]​
• Wuest’s Word Studies from the Greek New Testament: for the English Reader [225.7 W953w]​
• Zodhiates’ Complete Word Study Dictionary : New Testament. [487.43 Z72c]​
• BDAG – Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Christian Literature (Bauer, Danker, Arndt, Gingrich) [487.43 D23g]​
• BAG - Index to the Revised Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich Greek Lexicon [487.43 Ar61g]​
• Thayer’s Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament [487.43 T337g]​
• Daniel Wallace’s Basics of New Testament Syntax [487.45 W155b] and Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics [487.4 W155g]​

You can find more (both print and electronic) by using these SEARCH QUERIES in the Discovery catalog:

su:bible new testament dictionaries
su:greek language biblical
su:bible new testament glossaries
bible new testament word studies

You’ll find a more thorough understanding of both the old testament and the new testament by examining how the old testament is used in the new testament. Use these two search queries:

su:bible old testament quotations in the new testament
su:bible new testament relation to the old testament

Browse these two areas: 220.6 and 225.6. See also 232.954 M874.

You will also want to USE COMMENTARIES AND CRITICISMS on the books of the Bible. Use this search query formula in the Discovery Catalog:

su:[book of the bible] commentaries
su:[book of the bible] criticism

For more detailed instructions see the research guide "Find Commentaries & Criticisms"

Last updated December 2024.

Search the Discovery Catalog. Watch the short instructional video above for details on using the Discovery Catalog

You'll find works on textual criticism of the Bible with these search queries:

su:bible textual criticism
su:bible old testament textual criticism
su:bible new testament textual criticism
su:bible interpretation
su:old testament interpretation
su:new testament interpretation
su:bible hermeneutics
su:old testament hermeneutics
su:new testament hermeneutics

NOTE: "su:" is the metadata code instructing the Discovery search engine to look only in the Subject Field of the bibliographic record.

Search also these keyword phrases

"textual criticism" "old testament"
"textual criticism" "new testament"
"textual criticism"

Search Dewey Decimal numbers using the metadata code "nu:" in the Discovery catalog. Like this:

nu:220.4
nu:221.66
nu:221.44
nu:221.446
nu:225.486
nu:225.6

Search ATLAReligion Plus, Christian Periodical Index, ProQuest Religion, Old Testament Abstracts and New Testament Abstracts using these keyword search terms:

textual criticism
hermeneutics

Search TREN using just these terms: 

hermeneutics
textual criticism (select exact phrase)

NOTE: TREN (Theological Research Exchange Network) is a database of theological theses and Dissertations. Go to "Find Databases" on the library web site to access it. Watch the short instructional video above for details on how to Find Databases.

Last updated December 2024.

You'll find information on the history and methodology of various bible translations in the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:

manuscripts bible translations
su:manuscripts (papyri)
su:bible manuscripts (papyri)
su:old testament manuscripts
su:bible translating
su:bible translat* history
su:bible english versions history
su:bible english authorized history
su:bibles multiple translations

Search ATLAReligion Plus, Christian Periodical Index, New Testament Abstracts, and ProQuest Religion, using these keyword search terms:

translating
translations manuscripts
"biblical manuscripts"
bible versions
bible versions history
bible translation history
bible translat* history

Search TREN using just these terms: 

translation
versions

NOTE: TREN (Theological Research Exchange Network) is a database of theological theses and Dissertations. Go to "Find Databases" on the library web site to access it. Watch the short instructional video above for details on how to Find Databases.

Last updated December 2024.