A History of Western Philosophy and Theology by
A History of Western Philosophy and Theology is the fruit of John Frame's forty-five years of teaching philosophical subjects. No other survey of the history of Western thought offers the same invigorating blend of expositional clarity, critical insight, and biblical wisdom. The supplemental study questions, bibliographies, links to audio lectures, quotes from influential thinkers, twenty appendices, and indexed glossary make this an excellent main textbook choice for seminary- and college-level courses and for personal study. Book jacket.
Mapping Apologetics by
Everyone believes something. But how and why do people believe? What counts as evidence? How much can be assumed or believed by faith alone? When it comes to religious faith, the questions become at once more difficult and more important. Over the centuries, Christians have offered different approaches to explaining or defending the Christian faith, a discipline known as apologetics. But it has not always been clear how different apologetic methods work, or what each approach has to offer.In this comprehensive survey, Brian Morley provides an overview of Christian apologetic approaches and how they differ. He explores the historical and philosophical underpinnings of key figures and major schools of thought, from the presuppositionalism of Cornelius Van Til to the evidentialism of Gary Habermas. Moving beyond theory, Morley also covers apologetic application, demonstrating how each view works out in practical terms. This guide covers the complexities of apologetics in a way that is accessible to the nonspecialist. Even-handed and respectful of each apologist and their contribution, this book provides the reader with a formidable array of defenses for the faith.
Counseling and Christianity by
What does authentic Christian counseling look like in practice?This volume explores how five major perspectives on the interface of Christianity and psychology would each actually be applied in a clinical setting. Respected experts associated with each of the perspectives depict how to assess, conceptualize, counsel and offer aftercare to Jake, a hypothetical client with a variety of complex issues. In each case the contributors seek to explain how theory can translate into real-life counseling scenarios.This book builds on the framework of Eric L. Johnson's Psychology & Christianity: Five Views. These include the Levels-of-Explanation Approach, the Integration Approach, the Christian Psychology Approach, the Transformational Approach and the Biblical Counseling Approach. While Counseling and Christianity can be used independently of Johnson's volume, the two can also function as useful companions.Christians who counsel, both those in practice and those still in training, will be served by this volume as it strengthens the connections between theory and practice in relating our faith to the mental health disciplines. They will finally get an answer to their persistent but unanswered question: "What would that counseling view look like behind closed doors?"
Scripture and Counseling by
Today we face a tremendous weakening of confidence in the Bible. This is just as true for the pastor offering counsel in his office as it is for the person in the pew talking with a struggling friend at Starbucks or the small group leader who is unsure of what to say to a hurting group member. We need to regain our confidence in God's Word as sufficient to address the real life issues we face today. We need to understand how the Bible equips us to grow in counseling competence as we use it to tackle the complex issues of life. Scripture and Counseling is divided into two sections of nine chapters each: Part One helps readers to develop a robust biblical view of Scripture's sufficiency for "life and godliness" leading to increased confidence in God's Word. Part Two assists readers in learning how to use Scripture in the counseling process. This section demonstrates how a firm grasp of the sufficiency of Scripture leads to increased competence in the ancient art of personally ministering God's Word to others. Part of the Biblical Counseling Coalition series, Scripture and Counseling brings you the wisdom of twenty ministry leaders who write so you can have confidence that God's Word is sufficient, necessary, and relevant to equip God's people to address the complex issues of life in a broken world. It blends theological wisdom with practical expertise and is accessible to pastors, church leaders, counseling practitioners, and students, equipping them to minister the truth and power of God's word in the context of biblical counseling, soul care, spiritual direction, pastoral care, and small group facilitation.
Biblical Doctrine by
Doctrine isn't just for theologians--it's important for every Christian because it shows us who God is and how we should live. Systematizing the robust theology that has undergirded John MacArthur's well-known preaching ministry for decades, this overview of basic Christian doctrine covers topics such as God the Father, Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, the Bible, salvation, and more. Comprehensive in scope yet written to be accessible to the average reader--with non-technical vocabulary, minimal footnotes, and a helpful bibliography--this volume offers Christians a solid foundation for what they believe and why.
PROLEGOMENA & THEOLOGY PROPER
By searching the phrase "theology proper" in the Powell Library Catalog (on the library Web site <masters.edu/library> or with the search box above), you will find numerous "Systematic Theologies". These will give you a good introduction to theology and a discussion of the person of God. Like this: "theology proper". You'll want to read several to get a thorough understanding of the issues. Just like the potato chip, "You can't have just one"!
PHILOSOPHY & PHILOSOPHERS
Search the subject heading "philosophy" to find resources covering general philosophy. Like this:
>su:philosophy
To find works written by a particular philosopher, search the name either as an author (au:) or as a subject (su:). Like this:
>au:plato
>su:plato
To find works on the philosophy of soul care, search <soul care> in the Title field (ti:) as well as the Subject field (su:). In addition search these phrases "pastoral care", "pastoral counseling", care of souls, cure of souls, as subjects. Like this:
>ti:soul care
>su:soul care
>su:"pastoral care"
>su:cure of souls
TIP: Alternatively, use su= to indicate a phrase instead of su: with quotations marks. Sometimes the former works better than the latter and vice versa. Sometimes, no phrasing works better as in the case of su:soul care, and su:cure of souls.
TIP: You will find additional terms to use in your search by searching "soul care" in the Library of Congress Subject Headings online. Simply type the words soul care in the search box. You'll get three Subject Headings each with other possibilities. Select each one and look for the Variants, Broader Terms, Narrower Terms and Related Terms for each one.
PSYCHOLOGIES
To find information on various psychologies, search "psychologies" as a subject (su:). Like this:
>su:psychologies
This search will result in over 3M (yes, million) records. This can easily be reduced and focused by limiting the results using the Search Tools on the left (See Figure 1 below). In turn, these results can be easily further focused by using the Topic option at the bottom of the Search Tools menu (Fee Figure 2 below).
Click on "Show More" and scroll through to identify the broad area or specific area to focus on. For instance, if you select Psychology, your results list will be reduced to just over 200K. You can again go to the Topics area and further narrow your result so an even more focused set of records.. For instance Major Theories & Systems will reduce the results list to just over 13K with all of the records dealing with psychology theories and systems.
You may want to consider experimenting with some of the other Filters available like Author, Year, and/or Language. If the need is urgent, i.e. you can't wait two weeks for an InterLibrary Loan request to be fulfilled), further limit the search to The Master's University under Library.
For additional assistance with finding sources, copyright law and/or proper citations, please contact Miss T. at <jtillman@masters.edu> or stop by the Reference Desk and ask her in person!
Last updated May, 2018
To find articles related to a specific counseling, theological, philosophical or psychological issue search either the Powell Library Discovery Catalog or search these Periodical indexes directly: ATLAReligion (ATLA), Christian Periodical Index (CPI).
When searching the Discovery Catalog:
Search your topic as a keyword(s). Don't search your terms as Subjects (su:) as many catalog records do not associate subject headings with articles.
When you get your results list, select "Peer reviewed" from the Content limiting option on the left. 
Alternatively, select "Articles" from the Format options. 
Search ATLA or CPI.
First, go to "Find Databases": There are three ways to get to "Find Databases" See access options 1. 2. 3. below.
Second, select the link to the needed database (See access option a. b. c. below).
When off campus, you will be prompted for your Master's username/password. This is the same one you use for access to Self Service.
Three ways to Find Databases
From the A to Z List there are three ways to find the link to the needed Database:
a. Select the appropriate letter, i.e. "C" for Christian Periodical Index", 
b. Type the name of the database in the Search box (top right), 
c. Use the "Subject" drop down box to select the appropriate field, i.e. Counseling. 
For additional assistance contact Miss T. <jtillman@masters.edu> or visit her in person!
Last updated May, 2018.
