INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES
LIBRARY RESOURCES
Interdisciplinary Studies students can learn how to make use of the Robert L. Powell Library and its resources with the instructional videos found on the library web site under “Using the Library”. They may also learn how to make use of many of the databases listed below with our subscription to “Niche Academy” video tutorials.
The subscription databases available through the Powell Library providing information related to various aspects of the Interdisciplinary Studies field are these:
- All EBSCO Databases: Newly redesigned EBSCO Discovery Service simultaneously searching all of the TMU subscribed EBSCO databases.
- Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources): Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents at the college and university level.
- Countries, Peoples & Cultures (Salem Reference): Includes Central & South America; Central, South & Southeast Asia; Western Europe; Easter Europe; Middle East & North Africa; Eastern & Southern Africa; Western & Central Africa; North America & The Caribbean; and East Asia & The Pacific.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context): Provides information on current issues including: Featured Viewpoints, Academic Journals, Viewpoints, Primary Sources, Reference Sources, Biographies, Infographics, Images, Videos, Audio, News, Magazines, Statistics, Websites, and Related Topics.
- Oxford Reference: The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
- ProQuest Dissertations: The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
- ProQuest Research Library: Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.
- Research Complete (Gale): Search across multiple databases: biography, business, communications & mass media, computer science, economics, environmental studies, fine arts, gender studies, global issues, health & medicine, history, opposing viewpoints, physical therapy and sports medicine, pop culture, religion & philosophy, science, vocations and careers, war & terrorism.
- Salem Press Reference: Search reference sources for Critical Insights, Defining Document, Great Events, Great Lives from History, Introduction to Literary Context, Milestone Documents, Earth Science and more.
A Research Guide for the Interdisciplinary Studies discipline has been prepared. It contains the above databases as well as information on Open Access and Web Resources. It also provides instructions for Accessing Library Resources, Evaluating Resources, Book Scanning Service, InterLibrary Loan Services, and Subject Authority Schemes.
In addition, students may search the Discovery catalog to find millions of resources on Interdisciplinary Studies and related subjects. While the Powell Library will not have all the resources found, we do offer an InterLibrary Loan Service, which allows students to request needed items at no cost to them. The Powell Library also offers a Book Scanning Service, especially useful to Online students, for selected pages/chapters of a needed book held by the Powell Library.
While TMU students cannot access other libraries’ subscription databases through the Powell Library, many university libraries and certainly all public libraries do allow locals to acquire a library card thereby granting them access to their respective collections.
Last updated September 2025.
