LibGuides: BTS512 History of the Covenant People : Databases & Open Access Resources

Biblical Studies Databases

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary & Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Anchor Bible Commentaries draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha.

Anchor Bible Dictionary includes articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text.
ATLAReligion with Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 650 full text titles. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
BAS Library: Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) and it's predecessor Biblical Review (BR) as well as Archaeology Odyssey (AO) and several symposia at the Smithsonian Institution: Aspects of Monotheism: How God Is One, 1996.; Feminist Approaches to the Bible, 1994; The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels, 1993 and The Rise of Ancient Israel, 1991.
BiblePlaces.com This link opens in a new window
Provides high-quality images from the popular Pictorial Library of Bible Lands and the new Photo Companion to the Bible for the study and teaching of the biblical world. In addition archaeological discoveries are explained, historical and geographical details are made clear.
Theology & Religion (Bloomsbury) This link opens in a new window
Anchor Bible Commentaries draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha.

Anchor Bible Dictionary includes articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text.
Brill Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, and History of Global Christianity.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Covers over 15 different academic subjects.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity related to religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology. It also indexes journals from other disciplines which put forth a Christian worldview. Current indexing includes over 140 titles back to 1976. The index is owned and indexed by the Association of Christian Librarians.
Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Evans 1639-1800: historical collection of materials printed in America over three centuries.
This Readex Archives of Americana provides searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge.
Includes information from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception This link opens in a new window
EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film.
Index Theologicus This link opens in a new window
IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.
International Critical Commentary This link opens in a new window
This collection is a curated selection of 59 titles from throughout the series' history, including both long-unavailable titles and newly-published research.
It has brought together all the relevant aids to exegesis – linguistic and textual no less than archaeological, historical, literary and theological – with a level of comprehension and quality of scholarship unmatched by any other series.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
A partnership between ATLA and Boston College. Each year an additional articles from hundreds of periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, many current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
A partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Coverage dates back to 1978.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy & Religion This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading scholars discuss research and the latest thinking in the fields of Philosophy & Religion. Select Unlocked and Free, left of the results list.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Post Reformation Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.
The PRDL spans collections from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects. The PRDL is a response to the challenge of curation arising from this situation, and is collaborative effort to organize this content for scholars of early modern theology and philosophy. The PRDL does not directly host digital copies of sources, but rather assembles links to publicly available sources from permanent collections.

The core of the PRDL project involves the organization of thousands of documents available in digital form from select digital libraries from Europe and North America, which are making digitized forms of their holdings available to the public. The project covers the work of thousands of authors from a wide variety of theological, philosophical, and ecclesiastical traditions. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
ProQuest Religion This link opens in a new window
International religion and spirituality - journal articles..
Covers formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. 1986 - current.
Reformed Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Best, Free, Biblical, Reformed Books and Articles Online. Provides the best theological literature from 1800 to today available for free on the internet. Select works from the reformation and puritan periods are included as well.
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry® (RIM®)is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA subject headings. Abstracts can be searched by keyword. Links have also been added to records for schools that also participate in the Theological Research Exchange Network.
Reviews of Biblical and Early Christian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RBECS.org is a peer-reviewed, online open-access publication (ISSN 2053-4329) that covers recent book-length contributions in the fields of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, 2nd Temple Judaism, New Testament, Early Christianity and Rabbinics.
We currently provide two different types of publication: reviews (of the traditional sort) and review articles, the latter being more substantial in length and critical engagement. We are also inviting literature reviews and conference reports.
The Finder This link opens in a new window
A combined Author/Title Index to these Reformed Publications:
The Banner of Truth Magazine 1955-2009
Reformation Today 1970-2009
Westminster/Puritan Conference 1955-2009
Banner Website Articles 1998-2009 (selected)
Compiled by Michael Keen.
The document may be searched by using the computer short cut: Ctrl f. A list of keywords to trace historical and biographical articles is supplied.

Open Access Resources (OAR)

Bryn Mawr Classical Review This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology) from 1990 to the present.
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries. The creation of CDRI was made possible by a generous grant from the Henry Luce Foundation; it is now an ongoing ATLA program.
CORE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
Digital Collections @ Dordt This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science..
DPLA is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America.
DPLA is a platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage.
DPLA seeks to multiply openly accessible materials to strengthen the public option that libraries represent in their communities.
DOAB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
E-Books Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free web resource which contains links to freely downloadable e-books, technical papers, documents, as well as user contributed content, articles, reviews and comments. E-Books Directory is a service to students, researchers and e-book lovers.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
Index Theologicus This link opens in a new window
IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.
Internet Archive: Open Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Other projects include:
Open Library: goal is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world.
Wayback Machine: archive of web pages
Archive-it.org: a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts.
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Curated high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Open Library of the Humanities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OLH is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship
Its mission is to support and extend open access to scholarship in the humanities – for free, for everyone, for ever. The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. All of its academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship publish ed showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities. Our articles benefit from the latest advances in online journal publishing – with high-quality presentation, annotative functionality, robust digital preservation, strong discoverability and easy-to-share social media buttons.
PhilArchive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An open access e-print archive in philosophy including articles, books and dissertations in all areas of academic philosophy..
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Post Reformation Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.
The PRDL spans collections from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects. The PRDL is a response to the challenge of curation arising from this situation, and is collaborative effort to organize this content for scholars of early modern theology and philosophy. The PRDL does not directly host digital copies of sources, but rather assembles links to publicly available sources from permanent collections.

The core of the PRDL project involves the organization of thousands of documents available in digital form from select digital libraries from Europe and North America, which are making digitized forms of their holdings available to the public. The project covers the work of thousands of authors from a wide variety of theological, philosophical, and ecclesiastical traditions. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to high quality, peer-reviewed, stable content designed by the academic community, for the academic community
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. Book collections on Project MUSE were launched in January 2012 and offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
Reformed Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Best, Free, Biblical, Reformed Books and Articles Online. Provides the best theological literature from 1800 to today available for free on the internet. Select works from the reformation and puritan periods are included as well.
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry® (RIM®)is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA subject headings. Abstracts can be searched by keyword. Links have also been added to records for schools that also participate in the Theological Research Exchange Network.
Reviews of Biblical and Early Christian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
RBECS.org is a peer-reviewed, online open-access publication (ISSN 2053-4329) that covers recent book-length contributions in the fields of Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, 2nd Temple Judaism, New Testament, Early Christianity and Rabbinics.
We currently provide two different types of publication: reviews (of the traditional sort) and review articles, the latter being more substantial in length and critical engagement. We are also inviting literature reviews and conference reports.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
The SEP is designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite).
The Finder This link opens in a new window
A combined Author/Title Index to these Reformed Publications:
The Banner of Truth Magazine 1955-2009
Reformation Today 1970-2009
Westminster/Puritan Conference 1955-2009
Banner Website Articles 1998-2009 (selected)
Compiled by Michael Keen.
The document may be searched by using the computer short cut: Ctrl f. A list of keywords to trace historical and biographical articles is supplied.

Theses & Dissertations

ATS Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ePlace is a digital collection of research and writing produced by the faculty, staff, and students of Asbury Theological Seminary. Managed by the B.L. Fisher Library, ePlace is designed to promote the open access of material from the Wesleyan and Holiness traditions to be shared with a global audience. It also serves as a place to preserve rare and difficult to locate material and encourage academic research and ongoing dialog between scholars in the field.
Digital Collections @ Dordt This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.
Dissertations Express This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Students, faculty, and other researchers search the database for titles related to their scholarly interests. You may purchase either unbound, shrink-wrapped print copies or PDF files.
Duke Space This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DukeSpace provides access to recent Duke dissertations and master's projects as well as access to university records and other related digital content managed by the Duke University Archives.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Use the Global ETD search to find electronic theses & dissertation.
Supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry® (RIM®)is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology, and religion.
RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA subject headings. Abstracts can be searched by keyword. Links have also been added to records for schools that also participate in the Theological Research Exchange Network.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and Canadian universities. It strives to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection, facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.
TREN This link opens in a new window
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.

The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Like:
Evangelical Theological Society
American Society of Church History
Society for Pentecostal Studies
North American Patristic Society
American Catholic Historical Association
WorldCat Dissertations This link opens in a new window
An index of all dissertations and theses cataloged in WorldCat

BTS512 History of the Covenant People : Databases & Open Access Resources

Niche Academy Database Tutorials

Biblical Studies Databases

Open Access Resources (OAR)

Theses & Dissertations