BTS512 History of the Covenant People : Old & New Testament Tools

X. Survey and Introduction

*Alexander, David, and Pat Alexander. Eerdman's Handbook to the Bible. Eerdmans, 1973.

Andrews, Samuel J. The Life of Our Lord Upon the Earth. Zondervan, 1954.

*Archer, Gleason L. A Survey of Old Testament Introduction. Rev. ed.; Moody, 1974.

Bock, Darrell L. Jesus According to Scripture, Restoring the Portrait from the Gospels. Baker, 2002.

*Bruce, A. B. The Training of the Twelve. Zondervan, 1963.

Bruce, F. F. The Letters of Paul and Expanded Paraphrase. Eerdmans, 1965.

________. Paul: Apostle of the Heart Set Free. Eerdmans, 1977.

Bullock, C. Hassell. An Introduction to the Old Testament Poetic Books. Moody, 1988.

Conybeare, W. J., and Howsen, J. S. The Life and Epistles of Saint Paul. Eerdmans, 1954.

Craigie, Peter C. The Old Testament, Its Background, Growth, and Content. Abingdon, 1986.

*Culver, Robert D. The Life of Christ. Baker, 1976.

Dillard, Raymond B. and Tremper Longman III. An Introduction to the Old Testament. Zondervan, 1994.

Farrar, Frederic W. The Life of Christ. Cassell, 1874. 2 vols.

________.The Life and Work of St. Paul. Cassell, 1879. 2 vols.

Foakes Jackson, F. J., and Kirsopp Lake. The Beginnings of Christianity. Macmillian, 1920. 5 vols.

*Freeman, Hobart E. An Introduction to the Old Testament Prophets. Moody, 1968.

*Gundry, Robert H. A Survey of the New Testament. Zondervan, 1981.

Guthrie, Donald. The Apostles. Zondervan, 1975.

________. Jesus the Messiah. Zondervan, 1972.

*________. New Testament Introduction. Rev. ed.; InterVarsity, 1990.

*Gromacki, Robert. New Testament Survey. Baker, 1974.

*Harrison, Everett F. Introduction to the New Testament. Eerdmans, 1964.

Harrison, Roland K. Introduction to the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1969.

*Hiebert, D. Edmond. An Introduction to the New Testament. Moody, 1975-77. 3 vols.

Kaiser, Walter C. Classical Evangelical Essays in Old Testament Interpretation. Baker, 1972.

Kidner, Derek. An Introduction to Wisdom Literature, The Wisdom of Proverbs, Job, and Ecclesiastes. InterVarsity, 1985.

Lange, John Peter. The Life of the Lord Jesus Christ. Zondervan, 1958.

*Lasor, William Sanford, David Hubbard, and Frederic Bush. Old Testament Survey. Eerdmans, 1982.

MacArthur, John. The MacArthur Bible Handbook. Nelson, 2003.

Morgan, G. Campbell. The Crises of the Christ. Old Tappan, N.J.: Fleming H. Revell, 1936.

________. The Parables and Metaphors of Our Lord. Revell, [1943]

________. The Teaching of Christ. Revell, [1913].

Pentecost, J. Dwight. The Words and Works of Jesus Christ. Zondervan, 1981.

Ramsay, William. The Church in the Roman Empire. Baker, 1954.

________. The Cities of Saint Paul. Baker, 1960.

________. Saint Paul the Traveler and Roman Citizen. Baker, 1949.

Robertson, A. T. A Harmony of the Gospels for Students of the Life of Christ. Harper, 1950.

Schultz, Samuel J. The Old Testament Speaks. Harper, 1970.

Scroggie, William Graham. A Guide to the Gospels. Revell, 1948.

*________. Know Your Bible. Pickering, 1940.

________. The Unfolding Drama of Redemption. Zondervan, 1970.

Shepard, J. W. The Christ of the Gospels, An Exegetical Study. Eerdmans, 1957.

________. The Life and Letters of Saint Paul. Eerdmans, 1950.

Smith, David. The Days of His Flesh, The earthly life of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1909.

*Tenney, Merrill C., rev. by Walter M. Dunnett. New Testament Survey. Eerdmans, 1985.

Thomas, Robert L. Charts of the Gospels and the Life of Christ. Zondervan, 2000.

*________. , and Stanley N. Gundry. A Harmony of the Gospels with Explanations and Essays. Harper, 1978.

________. The NIV Harmony of the Gospels. Harper, 1988.

Trench, R. C. Notes on the Parables. Pickering, 1953.

Unger, Merrill F. Introductory Guide to the Old Testament. Zondervan, 1951.

*________. Unger's Guide to the Bible. Tyndale, 1974.

Wiersbe, Warren W. Wiersbe’s Expository Outlines on the New Testament. Victor, 1992.

________. Wiersbe’s Expository Outlines on the Old Testament. Victor, 1993.

Willmington, H.L. Willmington’s Guide to the Bible. Tyndale, 1981.

Young, Edward J. An Introduction to the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1960.

 

IX. Works on Archaeology, Geography, and History

Aharoni, Yohanan. The Land of the Bible: A Historical Geography of the Bible. 2d ed., rev. and enl. Philadelphia: Westminster, 1979.

Arnold, Bill T. and Bryan E. Beyer. Encountering the Old Testament. Baker, 1998. with CD-ROM.

*________. The Macmillan Bible Atlas. Macmillan, 1977.

Baly, Denis. The Geography of the Bible. New and rev. ed. Harper, 1974.

Barrett, C. K. The New Testament Background: Selected Documents. S.P.C.K., 1958.

Beitzel, Barry J. The Moody Atlas of Bible Lands. Moody, 1985.

Blaiklock, E. M., and R. K. Harrison, eds. The New International Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology. Zondervan, 1983.

Bouquet, A. C. Everyday Life in New Testament Times. Scribner, 1953.

Bruce, F .F. Israel and the Nations. Eerdmans, 1963.

*________. New Testament History. Doubleday, 1971.

Dowley, Tim Atlas of the Bible and Christianity. Baker, 1997.

*Edersheim, Alfred. Bible History. Eerdmans, 1954. 2 vols.

*________. The Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah. Eerdmans, 1954. 2 vols.

Elwell, Walter A. and Robert W. Yarbrough. Encountering the New Testament. Baker, 1997. with CD-ROM.

Finegan, Jack Handbook of Biblical Chronology. rev. ed. Hendrickson, 1998.

*Gower, Ralph. The New Manners and Customs of Bible Times. Moody, 1987.

Harrison, Roland K., ed. Major Cities of the Biblical World. Nelson, 1985.

*________. Old Testament Times. Eerdmans, 1990.

Heaton, E. W. Everyday Life in Old Testament Times. Scribner's, 1956.

Jeremias, Joachim. Jerusalem in the Times of Jesus. Fortress, 1969.

Josephus, Flavius. Complete Works. Kregel, 1960.

Kaiser, Walter C. A History of Israel. Broadman, 1998.

Keener, Craig S. The IVP Bible Background Commentary, New Testament. IVP, 1993.

Lohse, Eduard. The New Testament Environment. Abingdon, 1976.

Merrill, Eugene H. Kingdom of Priests. Baker, 1987.

Metzger, Bruce Manning. The New Testament, Its Background, Growth, and Content. Abingdon, 1965.

Miller, Madeleine S., and J. Lane, rev. by Boyce M. Bennett and David Scott. Harper's Encyclopedia of Bible Life. Harper, 1978.

*Pfeiffer, Charles F. The Biblical World. Baker, 1966.

*________. Old Testament History. Baker, 1973.

*________ and Howard F. Vos. The Wycliffe Historical Geography of Bible Lands. Moody, 1967.

Reicke, Bo. The New Testament Era. Fortress, 1968.

Schultz, Samuel J. The Old Testament Speaks. 3rd. ed.; Harper, 1980.

*Tenney, Merrill C. New Testament Times. Eerdmans, 1965.

Thompson, J. A. The Bible and Archaeology. Eerdmans, 1972.

*________. Handbook of Life in Bible Times. InterVarsity, 1986.

Vos, Howard F. Archaeology in Biblical Lands. Moody, 1987.

Walton, John H., Victor H. Matthews and Mark W. Chavalas. The IVP Bible Background Commentary, Old Testament. IVP, 2000.

Wood, Leon. Israel's United Monarchy. Baker, 1979.

________. The Prophets of Israel. Baker, 1979.

*________. A Survey of Israel's History. Rev. by David O'Brien. Zondervan, 1986.

________. Israel's United Monarchy. Baker, 1979.

Yamauchi, Edwin M. Pre-Christian Gnosticism. 2nd ed. Baker, 1983.

 

IV. Old Testament Tools

*Armstrong, Terry A., Douglas L. Busby, and Cyril F. Carr. A Reader's Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament. Zondervan, 1989.

Botterweck, G. Johannes, and Helmer Ringgren, eds. Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1974-1996. Vols. 1-15.

*Brown, Francis, Samuel R. Driver, and Charles A Briggs. A Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament. Oxford, 1907.

Desmond, T. Alexander and David W. Barker. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch. IVP, 2003

Einspahr, Bruce. Index to Brown, Driver, and Briggs Hebrew Lexicon. Moody, 1977.

*Even-Shoshan, Abraham. A New Concordance of the Old Testament. Baker, 1989.

Girdlestone, Robert Baker. Synonyms of The Old Testament. Eerdmans.

*Harris, R. Laird, Gleason L Archer, and Bruce K. Waltke, eds. Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Moody, 1980. 2 vols.

Hatch, Edwin, and Henry A Redpath. A Concordance to the Septuagint and the Other Greek Versions of the Old Testament. Akademische, 1955. 2 vols.

*Holliday, William. A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1971.

Jenni, Ernst and Claus Westermann. Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. Hendrickson, 1997. 3 vols.

Koehler, Ludwig, and Walter Baumgartner,. The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Brill, 1994-2000. 5 vols.

*Kohlenberger III, John R., James A Swanson. The Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament. Zondervan, 1998.

Liddell, Henry G., and Robert Scott. A Greek English Lexicon. 9th. ed., rev. by. H. S. Jones and R. McKenzie; Oxford, 1968.

*Owens, John Joseph. Analytical Key to the Old Testament. Baker, 1989. 4 vols.

Seow, C. L. A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew. Abingdon, 1987.

Van Gemeren, Willem A. New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology And Exegesis. Zondervan, 1997. 5 vols.

Waltke, Bruce. An Intermediate Hebrew Grammar. Eisenbrauns, 1984.

Waltke, Bruce K., and M. O'Connor. An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew Syntax. Eisenbrauns, 1990.

*Weingreen, Jacob. Practical Grammar for Classical Hebrew. Oxford, 1959.

Wilson, William. Old Testament Word Studies. Kregel, 1978.

*Wigram, George The Englishman’s Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament. Hendrickson, 1996.

Unger, Merrill F., and William White. Nelson's Expository Dictionary of the Old Testament. Nelson, 1980.

 

V. New Testament Tools

*Abbot-Smith, George. A Manual Greek Lexicon of the New Testament. T. & T. Clark, 1936.

Alsop, John R., ed. An Index to the Revised Bauer-Arndt-Gingrich Greek Lexicon. 2nd ed. by Wilbur Gingrich and Frederick W. Danker; Zondervan, 1981.

Balz, Horst, and Gerhard Schneider, eds. Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament. Eerdmans, 1978. 3 vols

Barclay, William. New Testament Words. Westminster, 1974.

*Bauer, Walter, W. F. Arndt, F.W. Gingrich, and F.W. Danker. A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. University of Chicago, 3^rd ed, 2000.

Blass, F. W., A. Debrunner, and Robert W. Funk. A Grammar of New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. University of Chicago, 1961.

Bromiley, Geoffrey. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Ed. by Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich, trans. by Geoffrey W. Bromiley, abridged in 1 vol. Eerdmans, 1985.

*Brown, Colin, ed. The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. Zondervan, 1975-86. 4 vols.

Burton, Ernest DeWitt. Syntax of the Moods and Tenses in New Testament Greek. T. & T. Clark, 1898.

Cremer, Hermann. Biblico-Theological Lexicon of New Testament Greek. 4th ed. T. & T. Clark, 1962.

Dana, H. E., and Julius R. Mantey. A Manual Grammar of the Greek New Testament. Macmillan, 1955.

Evans, Craig A. and Stanley E. Porter. Eds. Dictionary of New Testament Backgrond. IVP, 2000.

Gingrich, F. W. A Shorter Lexicon of the Greek Testament. 2nd ed., rev. by Frederick W. Danker. University of Chicago, 1983.

Green, Joel B. and Scot McKnight. eds. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. IVP, 1992.

Hanna, Robert. A Grammatical Aid to the Greek New Testament. Baker, 1983.

Hawthorne, Gerald F. and Ralph Martin. Eds. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. IVP, 1993.

Kittel, Gerhard, and Gerhard Friedrich. The Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Trans. by Geoffrey Bromiley. Eerdmans, 1964-76. 10 vols.

Kohlenberger III, John R., Edward W. Goodrick and James A. Swanson. The Exhaustive Concordance to the Greek New Testament. Zondervan, 1995.

*________, The Greek English Concordance To the New Testament. Zondervan, 1977

Liddell, H. G., and R. Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon. 8th ed.; Clarendon, 1897.

*Machen, J. Gresham. New Testament Greek for Beginners. Macmillan, 1923.

Martin, Ralph and Peter H. Davids. Eds. Dictionary of the Later New Testament and its Developments. IVP, 1997.

Moule, C. F. D. An Idiom Book of the New Testament Greek. Cambridge, 1963.

Moulton, James Hope. A Grammar of New Testament Greek. T. & T. Clark, 1908. 4 vols.

________ and George Milligan. The Vocabulary of the Greek New Testament Illustrated from the Papyri and Other Non-Literary Sources. Hodder and  Stoughton, 1952.

Moulton, William, and A. S. Geden. A Concordance to the Greek Testament. 6th ed., fully rev. by I. Howard Marshall. T. & T. Clark, 2002.

Richards, Lawrence O. Expository Dictionary of Bible Words. Zondervan, 1985.

*Rienecker, Fritz. A Linguistic Key to the Greek New Testament. Zondervan, 1980.

Robertson, A. T. A Grammar of the Greek New Testament in the Light of Historical Research. Broadman, 1923.

Rogers, Cleon L Jr. and Cleon L Rogers III The New Linguistic and Exegetical Key to The Greek New Testament. Zondervan, 1998

Smith, J. B. Greek-English Concordance to the New Testament. Herald, 1955.

Spicq, Ceslas. Theological Lexicon of the New Testament. Hendrickson, 1994. 3 vols.

*Thayer, Joseph H. Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament. Zondervan, 1962.

Trench, Richard Chenevix. Synonyms of the New Testament. Eerdmans, 1953.

Turner, Nigel. Christian Words. Nelson, 1981.

________. Grammatical Insights into the New Testament. T. & T. Clark, 1977.

*Vine, W. E., Merrill F. Unger, and William White. An Expository Dictionary of Biblical Words. Nelsons, 1984.

*Wingram, George V. The Englishman's Greek Concordance of the New Testament. 9th ed. Zondervan, 1970.

Zerwick, Max, and Mary Grosvener. A Grammatical Analysis of the Greek New Testament. Biblical Institute, 1981.