Here you will find resources and suggested search queries to find information on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Gospels and Acts,
I. Browse the shelves in 220.7 for commentary sets on the whole Bible; 221.7 for commentary sets on the Old Testament; 225.7 for commentary sets on the New Testament.
II. Use annotated bibliographies of commentaries to help select appropriate commentaries for your needs. The following bibliographies (hardcopies) have been marked to indicate those titles that the Powell Library has.
Whole Bible: Rosscup, James. Commentaries for Biblical Expositors: an annotated bibliography of selected works. Woodlands, TX: Kress Christian Publications, 2004. [220.7016 R734c]. ISBN 9780977226238.
Old Testament: Tremper Longman III. Old Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2013. [221.7016 L863o]. ISBN: 9780801039911.
New Testament: Carson, D. A. New Testament Commentary Survey. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2013. [225.7016 C239n]. ISBN: 9780801039904
Bestcommentaries.com: Rotten Tomatoes for Biblical Studies. Reviews and ratings of Bible commentaries collected from journals, books, professors and published lists like Longman & Carson.
III. Use the Powell Library Catalog to easily find all the commentaries and criticisms held by the library either as print hardcopy books or online ebooks. ONLINE STUDENTS: Feel free to make use of the Powell Library's Book Scanning Service.
A. Search the Subject field <su:> with the book of the bible and the word "commentaries" or the word "criticism". Like this:
*NOTE: “commentaries” must be plural; “criticism” must be singular.
GOSPELS (not John): Here's how to get records for the Gospels of Matthew, Mark and Luke and at the same time eliminate those records with subject headings that include a person’s name, i.e. Matthew Arnold, Mark Twain, Luke Short. See "JOHN" below for setting up search queries for the Gospel of John viz a viz the Epistles of John.
**NOTE: There must be a space between the "n" and the "t"; or if you prefer you can use periods instead of spaces, i.e., n.t.
JOHN--Gospel: To find commentaries or criticisms on the Gospel of John without getting all the commentaries on the Epistles of John, use the Boolean NOT command:
Alternatively
For example:
SAME NAME: Books of the Bible with the same name (including the Epistles of John) use the name of the book along with the Arabic numeral 1st, 2nd or 3rd within quotation marks.
CHAPTER & VERSE:
OR is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to look for either the word "commentaries" or the word "criticism".
AND is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to look for both or all of the search terms. For more details see the Boolean Logic Research Guide.
NOT is a Boolean operator commanding the search engine to leave out the search term; do not include records with the associated search term.
Last updated May 1, 2023.
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using this keyword phrase: "synoptic problem"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using this keyword phrase: "synoptic gospels"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using these keyword phrases: "q hypothesis"; "document q"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using these keyword phrases: "second temple"; "herod's temple"; "temple of jerusalem"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
Great Events of Biblical Times by
Uses maps to help trace the history of the Holy Land, recounts Old Testament battles, and describes the various cultures of the region.
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using these keywords: fasts feasts judaism; fasts feasts bible typology
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
Jewish Traditions by
Thanks to these generous donors for making the publication of this book possible: Miles z"l and Chris Lerman; David Lerman and Shelley Wallock The bestselling guide to understanding Jewish traditions, now in paperback This is a comprehensive and authoritative resource with ready answers to questions about almost all aspects of Jewish life and practice: life-cycle events, holidays, ritual and prayer, Jewish traditions and customs, and more. Ronald Eisenberg has distilled an immense amount of material from classic and contemporary sources into a single volume, which provides thousands of insights into the origins, history, and current interpretations of a wealth of Jewish traditions and customs. Divided into four sections--Synagogue and Prayers, Sabbaths and Festivals, Life-Cycle Events, and Miscellaneous (a large section that includes such diverse topics as Jewish literature, food, and plants and animals)--this is an encyclopedic reference for anyone who wants easily accessible, accurate information about all things Jewish. Eisenberg writes for a wide, diversified audience, and is respectful of the range of practices and beliefs within today's American Jewish community--from Orthodox to liberal.
Jewish Holidays by
The coeditor of the enormously popular Jewish Catalog "help[s] readers understand more fully the meaning of our holidays and thereby to observe these festivals . . . with a greater devotion and joy."--Rabbi Alexander M. Schindler
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
The Feasts of the Lord by
Isreal's feasts are infinitely more important than just a series of cultural observances. These feasts are appointed by the Lord, and they are owned by the Lord. He calls them "my feasts." Together they form God's prophetic calendar, outlining the work of history's most important person...Jesus, the Messiah. As such, few themes are more timely or rewarding for God's people today. The Feasts of the Lord covers all aspects of the biblical feasts...historical background, biblical observance, and prophetic significance. Yet, this book is not just another reference book on the feasts. It is written from the Hebrew Christian viewpoint, helping you to see the feasts through Jewish eyes. The words of the Savior, His messianic claims, and Bible prophecy will all take on a rich, new relevance for you against the exciting backdrop of The Feasts of the Lord.
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using these keywords and phrases: "jewish sects"; "scribes jewish"; pharisees; sadducees; essenes
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
The Baker Illustrated Guide to Everyday Life in Bible Times by
The authors of the Bible routinely employed mention of manners and customs from the ancient world in their inspired writing, fully intending that the Lord would change readers with these images. But modern readers often miss the full literal and figurative meaning of biblical imagery due to the distance in time and experience between the world of today and the world of the Bible. This fully illustrated guide aims to restore clarity and vitality to these portions of God's Word in order to help readers grasp the full meaning of Scripture. For example, the entry on anointing defines the nature of this act and the connotations associated with it before illustrating how the biblical authors use the act of anointing in their communication with us--communication that reaches its full maturity in Jesus, the Anointed One. Understanding manners and customs like anointing enriches our experience of reading the Bible--and even helps us correctly interpret it. This colorful guide clearly and succinctly introduces modern readers to daily life in Bible times. The cultural practices of the past are fascinating on their own, but even more so as they help us grasp the full meaning of Scripture.
Biblical World: A Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology by Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
Great Events of Biblical Times by
Uses maps to help trace the history of the Holy Land, recounts Old Testament battles, and describes the various cultures of the region.
I. Search the Discovery Catalog with these search queries:
II. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using these keywords and phrases: samaritans; ""good samaritan"; "good samaritan parable"; "luke 10:25-37"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
III. Also use the resources listed below:
Last updated December, 2020.
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
A Concise Guide to Reading the New Testament by
The New Testament came together, and comes to us, not as a randomly sorted set of individual books but as a definitely shaped and ordered whole. This concise, theological introduction to the New Testament sheds light on the interpretive significance of the canon's structure and sequence and articulates how the final shape of the canon is formative for Christian discipleship. Providing an essential overview often missing from New Testament books and courses, this book will serve as an accessible supplement to any New Testament or Bible introduction textbook.
New Testament Introduction by 
New Testament Survey by
Gromacki's New Testament survey provides a solid foundation for in-depth exegesis of each book in the New Testament. It explores the first-century historical background, social and economic conditions, Gentile religions and philosophies, and Judaistic practices. After presenting introductory data for each book - authorship, date, purpose, and the like - Gromacki provides a detailed outline and summary commentary.
New Testament Survey by
Begins with a comprehensive survey of the social, political, economic, and religious background of the New Testament, and then goes on to examine the various groups of New Testament books, which are considered in their historical settings.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Gospel of Matthew.
1. For Commentaries/Criticism on the Gospel of Matthew, browse the shelves at 226.2 (see also 226 and 226.1) and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: matthew geneology; "sermon on the mount"; "unpardonable sin"; rock matthew.
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose, Background:
4. Character study of Matthew:
5.Jesus is the King:
6. Importance of the Jewish genealogy:
7. Jesus' Humanity and Divinity in Matt. 1:1-25:
8. Interpretations and purpose of The Sermon on the Mount in chapters 5-7:
9. Meaning of the command not to judge in Matt 7:1-6 cf. judging false prophets in Matt 7:15-20:
10. What is the unpardonable sin in Matthew 12:31-32?
11. Various views of the Parables of the Kingdom in Matt 13:1-52:
12. Who or what is the "Rock" in Matt. 16:18
13. Meaning and contemporary application of "cutting off an arm" and "plucking out an eye" in Matt. 18:8-9:
14. Marriage, divorce and remarriage according to Matt. 5:31-32 and 19:1-9:
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Gospel of Mark.
1. For Commentaries/Criticism on the Gospel of Mark, browse the shelves at 226.3 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: mark authorship; transfiguration mark; naked mark
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose, Background:
4. For information on Mark's portrayal of Jesus in the Gospel use these search queries:
5. Is Mark 8:27-38 the climax of the Gospel? Compare with Mark 10:43-45
6. Transfiguration
7. Youth fled naked:
Also search ATLA Religion with this phrase: "mark 14:51-52"
8. Views on the ending of Mark's Gospel
9. Teaching on being a follower of Jesus:
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the book of Luke.
1. For Commentaries/Criticism on the Gospel of Luke, browse the shelves at 226.4 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: luke authorship; luke gentiles; "road to emmaus"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose, Background:
4. Compare Luke and Acts
5. Purpose and use of Parables
6. Gentiles in God's Kindgom
Search also ATLA Religion with these keyword: luke gentiles
7. Parable of the "Good Samaritan" cf. Parable of the "Lost Sheep" and the "Lost Coin"
8. Parable of the Prodigal Son
9. "The kingdom of God is within you" meaning and views
10. Two men on the road to Emmaus
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Gospel of John.
1. For Commentaries/Criticism on the Gospel of John, browse the shelves at 226.5 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: john authorship; jesus divinity; "new birth"; "hypostatic union"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose, Background:
4. Jesus is both divine and human:
5. Significance of the New Birth
Search also ATLA Religion with the keywords: nicodemus; "new birth"
6.Jews desire to and prevention of killing Jesus:
NOTE: The asterisk (*) is a search engine command to look for the root word and every variation thereafter.
7. Significance of the "signs" in John's Gospel
8. Jesus is the "Lamb of God"
Search also ATLA Religion with the keywords: "lamb of god"
9. "I am"
10. Abide in Christ -- meaning
11. Development of "believe" in the Gospel of John
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
I. Recommended search queries for research on issues, controversies, questions and background of the Book of Acts.
1. For Commentaries/Criticism on the Book of Acts, browse the shelves at 226.6 and/or search the catalog with these search queries:
NOTE: "su:" is the command code for limiting a search in the Discovery catalog to only the Subject field; "nu:" is the command code for limiting the search to only the Call Number field.
2. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using keywords or phrases unique to the topic like: acts authorship; acts pentecost; barnabas acts; "council of jerusalem"
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases.
3. Date, Authorship, Purpose, Background:
4. Be witnesses
5. Trace Peter's ministry
6. "The Day of Pentecost" and its Old Testament background
Browse the shelves in 270.1; 231.3 or search the catalog with nu:270.1; nu:231.3
7. Peter's use of Joel 2:28-32
8. Character study of Barnabas
Search also ATLA Religion with the keyword: barnabas acts
9. Importance of Acts 10-11
10. The ministry of Paul in Acts
11. Council of Jerusalem: importance, issues and accomplishments
12. Acts 15:13-18 relation to Amos 9:11-12
II. See also Suggested Reading below.
Last updated December, 2020.
