Here you will find resources and suggested search queries to find information on the important events during the Intertestamental Period and how it impacts our understanding of the New Testament including:
--the rise of Alexander the Great and his influence on the biblical world
--the impact of the Greek empire and language on the spread of the gospel
--the major political periods (Persian, Greek, Jewish self-rule, Roman) and their impact on the biblical world
--the process and importance of the Old Testament translation into Greek (LXX, Septuagint)
--Josephus and his contribution to our understanding of the intertestamental period
Last updated June 2022.
In addition to the selected resources below, browse the shelves at: 220.95; 229; 296.09; 956.9401.
Abingdon Bible Commentary by
Contains two chapters on the Intertestamental period:
The literature of the Intertestamental period.
The religious development of the intertestamental period.
Archaeology and the Old Testament by
This richly illustrated book gives visual context to the study of the people, customs, and history of the Old Testament world including a section on the Intertestamental Period.
Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
The Drama of Scripture by
Contains a succinct overview of the Intertestamental Period.
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
The Encyclopedia of Christianity by
The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi
Encyclopaedia of Judaism by
This new edition of the prize-winning Encyclopaedia of Judaism is nearly double in size to the original three-volume edition. It features 52 new entries and includes the two separately published supplementary volumes and bibliographic updates.This second edition offers an authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, this edition also includes principal entries on circumcision, genetic engineering, homosexuality, intermarriage in American Judaism, and other acutely contemporary issues.Articles are written in essay form, and many are illustrated for further emphasis. The elaborate index facilitates ready access to significant people, places, and other factual information. This invaluable reference work is written for an audience from all backgrounds, scholars and general readers alike.
Great Events of Biblical Times by
Uses maps to help trace the history of the Holy Land, recounts Old Testament battles, and describes the various cultures of the region.
A History of Israel by
Part IX discusses the Intertestamental Period.
Introduction to the Intertestamental Period by
The historical background. The Jews under Persian rule ; The Jews and Alexander the Great ; The Ptolemies and the Jews ; The Jews under the Seleucids ; The Jews under the Maccabees ; The Jews under the Hasmoneans ; The Jews under the Romans (63 B.C.-A.D. 135) -- The religious background. The religious sects of Judaism ; Theological teachings of the intertestamental period -- Jewish literature of the intertestamental period. The translation of the Hebrew Old Testament into Greek ; The literature from the Dead Sea caves ; The Apocrypha ; The individual books of the Apocrypha ; Introduction to the pseudepigraphical literature ; The individual pseudepigrapha ; Philo and his writings ; Josephus and his writings.
Jesus and the Gospels by
Provides an overview of the Intertestamental Period.
Legacy of Zion by
Aims to help students gain a sense of the history of Judaism, Judaic thought and the importance of the literature during the Intertestamental Period,
The Macarthur Bible Commentary by
Contains a chapter on the Intertestamental Period
Nelson's Complete Book of Bible Maps and Charts by
Provides maps and a short overview of the Intertestamental Period.
A Survey of Israel's History by
Includes an overview of the Intertestamental Period.
The Wycliffe Bible Commentary by
Short section entitled "From Malachi to Matthew" gives an excellent synopsis of the Intertestamental Period.
The Cambridge History of Judaism: Introduction; the Persian Period by
The first three volumes of The Cambridge History of Judaism cover the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 BCE to the early Roman period extending into the third century CE. A comprehensive examination is made of all the relevant literary and archeological sources, and special attention is given to the interaction of Iranian, Semitic, Hellenistic and Roman cultures. The contributors include both Jewish and Gentile scholars from many countries, and this History thus helps to deliver the study of Jewish history and Christian origins from geographical and religious limitations, and contributes to a deeper understanding and a broader tolerance. This first volume opens with three introductory chapters to the work as a whole dealing with the geographical background, the chronology and the numismatic history of Judaism. The remainder of this volume concentrates on the Persian period, the two and a half centuries following the Babylonian Exile.
The Cambridge History of Judaism by
This is the second of four volumes covering the history of Judaism from the Persian period, roughly 539-322 BCE, to the Tannaitic period, which culminated in the codification of the Mishnah around 250 CE. It deals with the encounter of Judaism with the Hellenistic culture spread throughout the Mediterranean world and beyond by Alexander the Great and his successors. The volume describes both the rejection and adoption of Hellenism by Judaism. Religiously the rejection provoked new developments and politically the Maccabaean Revolt, which resulted in the creation of the independent Hasmonean state, 142-63 BCE. Culturally, the adoption of Hellenistic forms by Judaism led to a significant Jewish-Greek and Hebrew and Aramaic literature. At the same time, the tensions in the religious, intellectual, social and political life of Jews spawned apocalyptic thought and literature. In the light of the interpenetration of Judaism and Hellenism in this period the volume questions some established dichotomies.
The Cambridge History of Judaism: Volume 3, the Early Roman Period by
This volume covers the history of Judaism in the Roman period. Political history is treated from Pompey to Vespasian, but many chapters on Jewish life and thought go beyond the period of the Flavian emperors to present themes and evidence of importance for Judaism up to the 3rd century CE. The approach has concentrated on the study of institutions and schools of thought through consideration of archaeological finds and inscriptions. Jewish-Gentile relations, temple and synagogue, groups and schools of thought - Pharisees, Sadducees, Essenes, Baptist sects, the 'fourth philosophy' and similar groups, Samaritans and the Christian movement - are examined. An unusual feature of the volume is its historical treatment of Christianity within the context of ancient Judaism. The Qumran texts, Philo and Josephus receive attention as does Jewish society in Judaea and Galilee.
The Cambridge History of Judaism: The Late Roman-Rabbinic Period by
This fourth volume of The Cambridge History of Judaism covers the period from 70 CE to 640 CE (the rise of Islam). It deals with the major historical, political and cultural developments in Jewish history and the history of Judaism in this crucial era during which Judaism took on its classical shape. It provides discussion and analysis of all the essential subjects pertinent to an understanding of this period, and is especially strong in its coverage of the growth and development of rabbinic Judaism and of the major classical rabbinic sources such as the Mishnah, Jerusalem Talmud, Babylonian Talmud and various Midrashic collections. In addition, it surveys the early encounter of Judaism and Christianity from both the Jewish and Christian sides and describes the rise of Jewish mystical literature, the liturgical literature of the developing synagogue, the nature of magical practices in classical Judaism and Jewish Folklore.
Copy and Paste the search terms/queries listed below into the Powell Library Discovery Catalog search box. Like this:
interbiblical
"intertestamental period"*
su:judaism post exilic period**
su:judah persian period
*Quotations marks indicate the search terms are to be treated as a phrase.
**su: commands the search engine to search for the terms in the Subject field
For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using the same search terms above but without the Subject field code "su:".
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases
I Search the Powell Library Catalog using this search query:
su:alexander the great
II. Browse the shelves in this area: 938.07
III. For articles, search the periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using the keyword phrase: "alexander the great". Do not use the subject field code "su:".
IV. Use the resources listed below:
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases
Biblical World: A Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology by Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
The Religious Context of Early Christianity by
Klauck's is a uniquely well-informed and comprehensive guide to the world of religion in the Graeco-Roman environment of early Christianity. Drawing on the most up-to-date scholarship, his volume paints a carefully nuanced portrait of the Christians' religious context. Besides describing ordinary domestic and civic religion and popular belief (including astrology, divination and "magic"), there is extended discussion of mystery cults, ruler and emperor cults, the religious dimensions of philosophy, and Gnosticism. An authoritative work, Klauck's will become a new standard for reference and teaching.
I. Search the Powell Library Discovery catalog with these search queries:
su:jews history 586 b.c.- 70 a.d.
su:judaism history post-exilic period
"persian period"; "greek period"; "maccabean period"; "roman period"
II. Browse the shelves in these areas: 296.09; 296.0901; 296.09014
III. For articles search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using the same search terms above but without the Subject field code "su:"
-- Also, search within the Journal for the Study of Judaism: In the Persian Hellenistic & Roman Period available through Academic Search Complete.
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases
IV. Use the Reference resources listed below:
The Cambridge History of Judaism: Introduction; the Persian Period by
The first three volumes of The Cambridge History of Judaism cover the history of the Jews from the Exile in 587 BCE to the early Roman period extending into the third century CE. A comprehensive examination is made of all the relevant literary and archeological sources, and special attention is given to the interaction of Iranian, Semitic, Hellenistic and Roman cultures. The contributors include both Jewish and Gentile scholars from many countries, and this History thus helps to deliver the study of Jewish history and Christian origins from geographical and religious limitations, and contributes to a deeper understanding and a broader tolerance. This first volume opens with three introductory chapters to the work as a whole dealing with the geographical background, the chronology and the numismatic history of Judaism. The remainder of this volume concentrates on the Persian period, the two and a half centuries following the Babylonian Exile.
The Cambridge History of Judaism: Volume 3, the Early Roman Period by
This volume covers the history of Judaism in the Roman period. Political history is treated from Pompey to Vespasian, but many chapters on Jewish life and thought go beyond the period of the Flavian emperors to present themes and evidence of importance for Judaism up to the 3rd century CE. The approach has concentrated on the study of institutions and schools of thought through consideration of archaeological finds and inscriptions. Jewish-Gentile relations, temple and synagogue, groups and schools of thought - Pharisees, Sadducees, Essenes, Baptist sects, the 'fourth philosophy' and similar groups, Samaritans and the Christian movement - are examined. An unusual feature of the volume is its historical treatment of Christianity within the context of ancient Judaism. The Qumran texts, Philo and Josephus receive attention as does Jewish society in Judaea and Galilee.
The Cambridge History of Judaism: The Late Roman-Rabbinic Period by
This fourth volume of The Cambridge History of Judaism covers the period from 70 CE to 640 CE (the rise of Islam). It deals with the major historical, political and cultural developments in Jewish history and the history of Judaism in this crucial era during which Judaism took on its classical shape. It provides discussion and analysis of all the essential subjects pertinent to an understanding of this period, and is especially strong in its coverage of the growth and development of rabbinic Judaism and of the major classical rabbinic sources such as the Mishnah, Jerusalem Talmud, Babylonian Talmud and various Midrashic collections. In addition, it surveys the early encounter of Judaism and Christianity from both the Jewish and Christian sides and describes the rise of Jewish mystical literature, the liturgical literature of the developing synagogue, the nature of magical practices in classical Judaism and Jewish Folklore.
The Cambridge History of Judaism by
This is the second of four volumes covering the history of Judaism from the Persian period, roughly 539-322 BCE, to the Tannaitic period, which culminated in the codification of the Mishnah around 250 CE. It deals with the encounter of Judaism with the Hellenistic culture spread throughout the Mediterranean world and beyond by Alexander the Great and his successors. The volume describes both the rejection and adoption of Hellenism by Judaism. Religiously the rejection provoked new developments and politically the Maccabaean Revolt, which resulted in the creation of the independent Hasmonean state, 142-63 BCE. Culturally, the adoption of Hellenistic forms by Judaism led to a significant Jewish-Greek and Hebrew and Aramaic literature. At the same time, the tensions in the religious, intellectual, social and political life of Jews spawned apocalyptic thought and literature. In the light of the interpenetration of Judaism and Hellenism in this period the volume questions some established dichotomies.
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
Jewish Civilization in the Hellenistic - Roman Period by Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period by
A reference for readers of the Old and New Testaments and related works at all levels of knowledgeability, from laypersons to scholars. Some 3,300 cross-referenced alphabetical entries define terms and concepts that are relevant to the era during which the sacred writings of both Judaism and Christi
Great Events of Biblical Times by
Uses maps to help trace the history of the Holy Land, recounts Old Testament battles, and describes the various cultures of the region.
For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using the same search terms above but without the Subject field code "su:".
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest
1. Search the Powell Library Discovery catalog with these search queries:
su:josephus
su:rome history 30 b.c. josephus
2. Browse the shelves in these areas: 920 J779; 956.9401
3. For articles, search these periodical indexing databases ATLA Religion with Serials, Christian Periodical Index and ProQuest Religion using the same search terms above but without the Subject field code "su:".
NOTE: to find the periodical indexing databases mentioned above, go to the Powel Library web site and select "Find Databases". For more information on using the A to Z Databases list, watch this short video tutorial: Find Databases
4. Use the resources listed below:
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism by
Two page synopsis of the effects of Alexander's conquest