LibGuides: E334.1 The Short Story: Short Story Research

Literature Criticism Resources Online

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of virtually every academic, scholarly and professional discipline, delivering titles for all kinds of research..
Scholars can access select titles from university and academic presses such as SAGE, Macmillan, Cambridge University Press, and Scribner. Educators will find select professional development titles from ISTE, ASCD, and Corwin Press.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews of writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Includes: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy & Religion This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading scholars discuss research and the latest thinking in the fields of Philosophy & Religion. Select Unlocked and Free, left of the results list.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
Salem Press Reference This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources for Critical Insights, Defining Document, Great Events, Great Lives from History, Introduction to Literary Context, Milestone Documents, Earth Science and more

Short Story Authors
Non-exhaustive list of suggested short story authors from around the world.

Books on Literary Theory can be found in 801.95

or by searching the library catalog with these keywords: literary theory

or by searching the library catalog with this subject search query: su:literature theory

Handbooks on Literature can be found by searching the library catalog with these subject search queries: su:literature terminology; su:literary form terminology

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A wealth of Knowledge can be explored through Exhibitions, by Places, by Dates.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
DPLA is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources, wherever they may be in America.
DPLA is a platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage.
DPLA seeks to multiply openly accessible materials to strengthen the public option that libraries represent in their communities.
DOAB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
Literature in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an anthology in progress of writing in English from 1650-1800. Many of the texts have been freshly edited and annotated to provide authoritative and curated editions for the use of students and general readers, and to create an alternative to expensive print anthologies.
This project is open-access, and the texts are available for anyone to use as they wish. We also invite others to join in the project by editing and annotating texts of their own, which can be incorporated in the site to create a free, open-access anthology of reliable works for use in the classroom.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to high quality, peer-reviewed, stable content designed by the academic community, for the academic community
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. Book collections on Project MUSE were launched in January 2012 and offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.

DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to high quality, peer-reviewed, stable content designed by the academic community, for the academic community
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. Book collections on Project MUSE were launched in January 2012 and offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

EThOS -- TEMPORARILY OUT OF SERVICE
- This link opens in a new window
E-Theses Online Service provides access to the full text of all UK doctoral theses, either via download or digitization-on-demand.
A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions with free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is house.
A free resource accessible to all researchers, American Doctoral Dissertations is available on the EBSCOhost® platform, and the content is available via EBSCO Discovery Service™.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Use the Global ETD search to find electronic theses & dissertation.
Supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Search Strategies

Author Search

Use the name by which the author is most well known. Search using the author field code (au:) within the Powell catalog search box above.

For example: au:maugham; au:w w jacobs; au:saki

Biography Search

Use the author's name along with the term "biography" within the subject field (su:) to find biographies on an author within the Powell catalog.

For example: su:hemingway biography; su:james joyce biography; su:o henry biography

TIP 1: The more common the last name, the more of the name is needed. For example names like "joyce" and "jacobs" are very common names. To be sure you are getting the author of short stories, include the first name or initials by which s/he is known.

Works Search

To find critical material on a specific work, search the title of the work with the title field code (ti:) or the keyword field (kw=; use the equal sign instead of a colon to treat the title as a phrase) along with the term "criticism" in the subject field.

For example: ti:youth medusa AND su:criticism; ti:dutch courage AND su:criticism; kw=twice told tales AND su:criticism.*

In some instances it may be necessary to include the author along with the title. For example: au:london AND ti:love life AND su:criticism

TIP 2: Using the keyword field will include "collections", "works of" and anthologies that otherwise might be missed because a keyword search searches not only the title field but also the table of contents.

* AND must be in all caps for the search engine to recognize it as a Boolean command instead of the word "and".

E334.1 The Short Story: Short Story Research

Literature Criticism Resources Online

Search Strategies

Short Story Writing & Writers from the Powell Library