LibGuides: Kinesiology Research: Kinesiology Resources

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspective of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. .
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back to 1990.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Captures current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; Sets the work in historical context; Highlights the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and Outlines the practical applications and general significance of research to society. As of 2023, every new volume is converted to Open Access under a Creative Common license and is available for everyone to read and use. In addition, all articles from the most recent nine volumes are also accessible to all.
The number of Annual Review journals continues to grow over a broad range of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
Careers In: Sports Medicine & Training (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Discover the many and varied career possibilities within the field of exercise science.
Electronic Collections Online (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
An OCLC index of scholarly journals. Last updated June 2012.
Freely view abstracts from numerous university and scholarly publishers. Full-text articles may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. 1995 to present. Updated daily.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Health and Wellness (Gale Topic Overview) This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer health information on many health topics..
Includes access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines..
Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets including brand names as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Insurance & Liability (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search and Publication Search..
Nursing & Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search and Publication Search.
Principles of Science (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Provides a solid foundation to the study of several popular fields of science. An excellent starting off point to develop a thorough understanding of this complex subject.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Browse by Topic, Titles list and Educator Resources..
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Science Reference (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Search Reference sources about ancient creatures, earth science, principles of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, mechanics, modern agriculture, physical science, physics, programming & coding, robotics and artificial intelligence, and sports medicine & exercise science.

Open Access Resources & Web sites

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
All original research articles we publish are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited.
HHMI BioInteractive This link opens in a new window
Multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs. Video resources range from a series of short films to lectures given by Nobel-prize winners, all supplemented by teacher guides and classroom activities.
Many of the resources are targeted to a high school and undergraduate audience but can be easily adapted to different levels of instruction. They can be used in a flipped, blended, or traditional classroom.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
Open Access peer reviewed publisher of STEM research.
MDPI This link opens in a new window
Provides diverse, peer-reviewed, open access journals ensuring the latest research is freely available and all content is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY). Content is available to everyone free of charge.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals and is updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition.
Merck Manuals This link opens in a new window
Merck Manuals one of the most widely used medical information resources containing the best current medical information to enable more informed decisions, enhance relationships between patients and professionals and improve health care outcomes around the world.
Professional version <>
Consumer version <>
Veterinary edition <>
MeSH This link opens in a new window
The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is a controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabulary produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is used for indexing, cataloging, and searching of biomedical and health-related information. MeSH includes the subject headings appearing in MEDLINE/PubMed, the NLM Catalog, and other NLM databases.
National Center for Biotechnology Information This link opens in a new window
Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Teach Me Anatomy This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive anatomy encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format.
Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines anatomical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care.