The Short Version:
There are two separate and distinct authenticating credentials associated with using the Robert L. Powell Library.
For more details select the PDF link above.
Powell Library Instructional Videos:
Introduction to the Robert L. Powell Library (4:16)
A brief video introducing the Powell Library Web site.
Sign into your Library Patron Account (3:43)
Create your own password to access your Library Patron Account, My Personal Lists and My Saved Searches.
Introduction to Discovery: Cite, Save, Share (3:48)
Learn how to use the cite, link, email and save features of the Discovery catalog.
Introduction to Discovery: Course Reserves, Resources, Chat (3:54)
An overview of the Course Reserves, Resources links and Chat with a Librarian features of the Discovery Catalog.
Introduction to Discovery: Simple Search (6:32)
Learn how to conduct a Simple Search in the Discovery Catalog.
Introduction to Discovery: Advanced Search (4:31)
Easily set up advanced search queries.
Find Databases (2:54)
Find all of the databases licensed to The Master's University Robert L. Powell Library.
Find Journals (3:05)
Discover what journals the library subscribes to, either physical or electronic.
Basic Research Skills (4:55)
Learn basic research skills using the Discovery Catalog.
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) (2:26)
Learn how to find and use Library of Congress Subject Headings for a more efficient and effective search.
InterLibrary Loan (6:36)
Acquire books and articles when the Powell Library does not have what you want.
Seven Steps to Successful Research (8:50)
Follow these steps and become and efficient and effective researcher.
Total minutes viewing time: 55:30.
Last updated November 2023.
Step 1: Peruse the Library's Web Site:
Familiarize yourself with the library's online catalog (see "Introduction to Discovery: " links above), databases, journals, Interlibrary Loan and other library services.
Step 2: Get Background Information:
Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, textbooks, or other general works to provide background information, a readymade outline, expert authors and contextual parameters on a topic. See Reference Resources Research Guide for a description of the various types of reference tools and their use.
Step 3: Use the Library Catalog:
To find books, eBooks, eAudiobooks, articles, theses/dissertations, CD's, DVD's, etc. type your key search terms in the search box on the library’s Web site <www.masters.edu/academics/library>,
Step 4: Find Scholarly Articles:
Whether using periodical indexes like Academic Search Ultimate, ATLA Religion and ProQuest Research Library or using the library catalog, to find scholarly articles simply limit your search to "Peer Reviewed". In most instances, the "Peer Reviewed" option retrieves articles from academic scholarly journals as well as peer reviewed journals. See "Identify Scholarly Articles" in the Research Guide "Identifying Scholarly Sources" for more details.
Step 5: Systematic Serendipity:
Using sources to find more sources is the key to doing efficient and effective research. The bibliographies, subject headings, authors, tables of contents, call numbers and summaries or abstracts from each resource found can be used to find more sources. For example use the bibliographies found in encyclopedia articles as a source for both book titles and expert authors. Use the Subjects found with each record in the library catalog to search for other items with the same subject. Use the call numbers associated with each item to browse the shelves for similar items on the same topic. Alternatively, use the "Browse the Shelf" option in the catalog. Also, identify possible search terms from the tables of contents, summaries and abstracts to further expand or focus your search.
Step 6: Evaluate all Resources
Examine each potential resource for relevancy to your information need. Consider the purpose of the material; the authority and expertise of the source (author/creator, publisher/provider); the accuracy, comprehensiveness and currency of the content. See Evaluate Sources above for more information.
Step 7: Librarians are your friends.
Introduce yourself to the Reference Librarian. S/He can help you find what you need much more efficiently and effectively. There is no extra mercy granted to those who work harder instead of smarter.
Contact Miss T., Reference Librarian & Institutional Copyright Specialist: jtillman@masters.edu; 661.362.2201
Last updated September 2022.
Go to the TMU Library Web site: www.masters.edu/academics/library. Alternatively, go to www.masters.edu, select the search icon (top right) 
then select "Current Students" or "Faculty & Staff", then select 'Library'.
Use distinctive key terms or core phrases in the "Search" box and Enter.
For example use <sovereignty god>; not <the sovereignty of god> or use <"sovereignty of god">; not <"the sovereignty of god">. The quotation marks tell the search engine to treat the terms as a phrase.
Optionally, consider using these index codes to focus your search:
ti: to search just the Title field
au: to search just the Author field
su: to search just the Subject field
In addition to the Basic Search is the Advanced Search option. Select the "search" icon on the basic search line, then select "Advanced Search" from the banner at the top (left)
The Advanced Search page provides options for selecting additional index fields, Boolean operations and refining options, all of which can be used to set up a focused search query.
Once the results page has been acquired, the search query can be manipulated with the main "Search" bar at the top center of the results page.
Last updated January 2023.
To access the eResources the library provides, select the blue "View eBook" or "Access Online" button associated with the desired item.
When off campus, you will be prompted for your Master's University Login credentials. These are the same ones you use to access Self Service and Canvas.
Problems accessing eResources?
If for any reason you are unable to access the online resource, take these three steps:
First, be sure you are using your TMU credentials [TMU email address and password used to access Canvas & Self Service].
Second, if you are still unable to access the online resources, contact Miss T. right away <jtillman@masters.edu>. Please include a detailed description of the steps you took, the item(s) you are trying to access, as well as screen shots of the process, especially the error message.
Third, while you're waiting for Miss T. to get back to you, you can try using the "Troubleshooting Access Issues" to find a possible resolution to the problem. This guide can also be found on the library web site, under Research Guides --> Help with Research.
Last updated October 2021.
From Topic to Thesis by
While courses in Bible and theology typically require research papers, particularly at the graduate level, very few include training in research. Professors have two options: use valuable class time to teach students as much as they can, or lower their standards with the understanding that students cannot be expected to complete tasks for which they have never been prepared.From Topic to Thesis: A Guide to Theological Research offers a third option. This affordable and accessible tool walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position. Its goal is to take students directly from a research assignment to a research argument--in other words, from topic to thesis.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th edition by 
Quality Research Papers by
This updated third edition of Quality Research Papers--fast becoming a standard reference textbook for writing research papers in the fields of religion and theology--gives improvements and added material for such things as the expanding field of online research and doing church-related research in a professional manner. Because so many new developments have taken place in the field of research, especially in terms of electronic research, this handy reference explores the ways to do research on the internet, including how to document such research. Quality Research Papers offers great opportunities to students today, especially in distant learning situations, to determine which resources can be used and which should be rejected. For this reason Nancy Vyhmeister brought in Terry Robertson, Seminary Librarian at Andrews University and professor of the seminary master's level research courses. His expertise in library, computers, and the Internet are invaluable to the book. In addition to substantial, current information on electronic resources and online research, this third edition preserves all of the features of the original editions, now presented in a newly revised, more logical order.
Research Strategies: Finding Your Way Through the Information Fog by
Everyone does research. Some just do it better than others. In this chaotic world of information and misinformation, referred to as "information fog," university students, in particular, need to learn how to conduct research effectively. Good research is about a quest to discover more, about a burning desire to solve society's problems and make a better world. Ultimately, research is a way forward to a resolution of life's greatest difficulties. In this seventh edition of Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog, author William Badke walks you step by step through the entire research process--from choosing a topic, to writing the final project, and everything in between.A seasoned researcher and educator, Badke offers tried-and-true tips, tricks, and strategies to help you identify a problem, acquire pertinent information, and use that information to address the problem. Employing a host of examples and humor, Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog shows how research can be exciting and fun.
Writing and research: a guide for theological students by
Perfect as an introduction for new and continuing undergraduate or postgraduate students, this publication provides helpful guidelines and illustrations on all the elements that go into producing an academic work. Combining specific instruction on researching and preparing an academic work, as well as practical advice for task management, makes this an ideal go-to guide for students and supervisors alike.
1. Choose the right database for your search: search engines, databases and data repositories differ in reliability, relevancy and organization of data.
2. Master the keyword search: keywords should not be too inclusive or too limiting and they require constant iteration as you become more familiar with your research field. Become familiar with boolean operators and wildcards.
3. Filter and analyze your search results. Optimize the overall relevancy or your results with the use of refining options like format, content type, publication year, language, author and academic discipline. Analyze resources using those that are the most highly cited research
Last updated April, 2020.