MATHEMATICS LIBRARY RESOURCES
Mathematics students can learn how to make use of the Robert L. Powell Library and its resources with the instructional videos found on the library web site under “Using the Library”. They may also learn how to make use of many of the databases listed below with our subscription to “Niche Academy” video tutorials.
Databases available through the Powell Library providing information related to various aspects of the Mathematics field include these:
- Academic OneFile: Find millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Ultimate: Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study.
- arXiv.org: Open access to e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- Interactivate: A set of free, online courseware for exploration in science and mathematics. It is comprised of activities, lessons, and discussions.
- Interactive Mathematics Miscellany and Puzzles: A clearinghouse of fun and engaging mathematics exercises, puzzles, and other such activities.
- The Math3ma Institute
- MDPI: Provides diverse, peer-reviewed, open access journals ensuring the latest research is freely available and all content is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY).
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM): The world's largest mathematics education organization providing guidance and resources for teaching and learning.
- OpenLearn: Science, Maths & Technology: High quality open educational resources: articles, activities, free courses, audio video and collections
- ProQuest Dissertations: The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses.
- ProQuest Research Library: Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.
- Science (Gale OneFile): Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
- WolframAlpha: A fundamentally new paradigm for getting knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms and methods.
A Research Guide for the Mathematics discipline has been prepared. It contains the above databases as well as instructions for Accessing Library Resources, Identifying Scholarly Resources, InterLibrary Loan Services, Subject Authority Schemes, and Book Scanning Service.
In addition, students may search the Discovery catalog to find millions of resources on Mathematics and related subjects. While the Powell Library will not have all the resources found, we do offer an InterLibrary Loan Service, which allows students to request needed items at no cost to them. The Powell Library also offers a Book Scanning Service, especially useful to Online students, for selected pages/chapters of a needed book held by the Powell Library.
While TMU students cannot access other libraries’ subscription databases through the Powell Library, many university libraries and certainly all public libraries do allow locals to acquire a library card thereby granting them access to their respective collections.
Last updated September 2025.
