POLITICAL STUDIES INTERNET SITES
Domestic Policy:
Policy Library -- links; research & discussion re social, economic, & political issues
National Issues -- links and info on major public policy issues
American Enterprise Institute -- conservative think tank
Budget of the United States -- budget of the United States with numbers, documentation, analysis
Fedstats -- links to statistics and data from federal govt. agencies
Public Agenda Online -- nonpartisan information about policy
Courts/Law:
Federal Courts Home Page -- info and stats about the federal courts
The Supreme Court -- official website of Supreme Court -- docket & decisions
Senate Judiciary Committee -- activity of Senate Judiciary Committee -- track status of judicial nominees
Legal Information Institute, Cornell Univ. Law School -- gateway to a world of information and links re law and the courts
Presidency:
White House Home Page -- info on recent presidential addresses and orders, text from news conferences & documents, ways to contact White House
POTUS (Presidents of the United States) -- biographies and other info about all of the American presidents
National Archives Presidents Site -- access to presidential addresses, libraries, other info
History of Televised Presidential Debates -- just what the title says; includes video clips (inc. Kennedy-Nixon)
Watergate Site -- info on Watergate: background, testimony, press coverage, court rulings, etc.
General:
Center for Responsive Politics -- follow the political money trail -- who gets it? who contributes?
Congress:
House of Representatives Home Page -- House schedule, organization & procedures, links to committees & reps, documents
Senate Home Page -- Senate schedule, organization & procedures, links to committees & senators, documents
Thomas Legislative Information -- extensive repository of info on congress, text of bills, Congressional Record, etc.
Annals of Congress -- full text & search of Annals of Congress (first Congressional Record)
Cap Web -- directory covering federal government, focusing on Congress
Bio Guide to Congress -- biographical sketches of members of Congress from 1774 to the present
Dirksen Congressional Center -- rich info site designed for teachers of American government & history
Political Money Line -- all about campaign financing in congressional races
Federal Election Commission -- info on campaign finance for presidential and congressional elections
Elections:
National Archives -- electoral college law, practices, process
Project Vote Smart -- links to info about candidates, parties, election rules, issues
Center for Public Integrity -- good site for following the campaign money trail -- how it=s raised and spent
*History of Televised Debates -- just what the title says; includes video clips (inc. Kennedy-Nixon) FYI, you have this on the list already under “Presidency” above.
Political Parties:
Democratic National Committee -- official site of Democratic Party; info on party positions & candidates, volunteering
Republican National Committee -- official site of Republican Party; info on party positions & candidates, volunteering
National Political Index -- links to state and local parties and affiliated organizations and interest groups
Political Resources on the Web -- info on political parties in all Ademocratic@ countries
Green Party -- official site of the Green Party and affiliated groups
Reform Party -- official site of the Reform Party
Interest Groups:
Townhall -- portal to scores of conservative organizations and citizen groups
Student Environmental Action Coalition -- coalition of student environmental groups
National Organization for Women -- influential feminist women's group
Concerned Women for America -- conservative women's group
Public Opinion:
American National Election Studies -- THE survey of voters; gold standard of survey data
www.norc.org/ THE survey of American attitudes.at the University of Chicago
Gallup Organization -- recent polls and archives of Gallup polls
Polling Report -- compilation of surveys from a variety of sources
Civil Liberties:
Findlaw Supreme Court Opinions -- Supreme Court decisions & opinions
U.S. Department of Justice Office of Justice Programs -- official statistics on crimes, trials, incarceration rates, executions, etc.
First Amendment Cyber-Tribune -- moderate/liberal gateway to info on 1st Amendment freedoms/issues
Cato Institute -- conservative/libertarian point of view concerning civil liberties issues
Federalism:
National Conference of State Legislatures -- info about state governments and federal relations
National Center for State Courts -- links to court systems of each state
State Constitutions -- links to state constitutions
State and Local Government on the Net -- directory for state and local governments
Publius -- home page of leading academic journal on federalism; conservative-leaning
Assessing the New Federalism -- news, essays, and research on the new federalism; liberal-leaning
Foreign Policy/National Defense:
Statistical Resources on the Web -- vast statistical/information collection on military/national security issues
Info Nation -- world statistics; statistics/info about any nation
Fedworld -- links to federal departments and agencies involved in foreign affairs/defense
Defense Link -- home page of Department of Defense
Center for Defense Information -- analyses of defense budget, weapons systems, and national security threats. Formerly, CDI operated under the umbrella of the World Security Institute. In 2012, the World Security Institute closed,[7] and CDI merged with the Project On Government Oversight (POGO). < http://www.pogo.org/ > In addition, POGO continued the publication of The Defense Monitor.
Heritage Foundation -- essays & news about foreign and military policy; conservative
Amnesty International -- leftist reports and documents from leftist human rights organization
United Nations -- home page of the United Nations; links to wealth of statistics, documents, reports
International New York Times -- international news with broader perspective than that found in U.S.
Bureaucracy:
Fedworld (You have this one above) -- links to federal departments and agencies
Federal Register -- all rules issued by federal agencies
Office of Personnel Management -- statistics & info about federal government employees
Constitution:
Annotated Constitution -- annotation of the Constitution -- each clause tied to Supreme Court decisions re meaning
U.S. Constitution On-Line -- rich site with material on every aspect of the history/development of the Constitution
Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute -- paths to full text of Supreme Court decisions/opinions; articles on Constitutional issues
Political Science Resources -- vast collection of documents on democracy, liberty, constitutionalism
Media:
Pew Research Center for the People -- public opinion surveys on quality of media coverage of public affairs
Center for Media and Public Affairs -- studies, commentaries, forums on media and public affairs
Columbia Journalism Review -- website of leading scholarly monitor of journalism
History of Televised Debates -- just what the title says; includes video clips (inc. Kennedy-Nixon)
Gateways to Government Info:
FirstGov -- U.S. government's official web portal
Political Resources on the Web
Democracy and Governance Surveys
Each television news organization has a website:
Major newspapers have websites: