LibGuides: Science: Science Research Resources

Science Research Resources

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspective of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. .
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back to 1990.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Captures current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; Sets the work in historical context; Highlights the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and Outlines the practical applications and general significance of research to society.
The number of Annual Review journals continues to grow over a broad range of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Covers over 15 different academic subjects.
Electronic Collections Online This link opens in a new window
An OCLC index of scholarly journals. Last updated June 2012.
Freely view abstracts from numerous university and scholarly publishers. Full-text articles may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. 1995 to present. Updated daily.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment..
Contains scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as Open Access full text.
Health Source: Consumer This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer health information on many health topics..
Includes access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines..
Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets including brand names as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.
Salem Press Reference This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources for Critical Insights, Defining Document, Great Events, Great Lives from History, Introduction to Literary Context, Milestone Documents, Earth Science and more

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
- This link opens in a new window
All original research articles we publish are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is a database of 207 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- This link opens in a new window

Bird Academy
Broaden your understanding of birds.
Free and premium content for all knowledge levels.
Learn everything—from birding basics to comprehensive ornithology. Includes COURSES, INTERACTIVES, VIDEOS, ARTICLES, AND ALL KINDS OF BIRD-OLOGY
more...less...
A team of biologists, educators, illustrators, designers, and web developers working together to create a site that does justice to the fascinating lives of birds.

DOAB This link opens in a new window Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
- This link opens in a new window
DOAJ This link opens in a new window A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
eScholarship This link opens in a new window eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
Powered by the California Digital Library eScholarship provides deposit and dissemination services for postprints, or previously published articles. Publications benefit from manuscript and peer-review management systems, as well as a full range of persistent access and preservation services.
Food & Nutrition Information Center This link opens in a new window FNIC strives to serve the professional community (including educators, health professionals and researchers) by providing access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources.
The FNIC website provides information about food and human nutrition. The materials found on this website are not intended to be used for the diagnosis or treatment of a health problem or as a substitute for consulting a licensed health professional.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility This link opens in a new window Allows "anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet." GBIF functions as a one-stop shop for data from a number of institutions around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Created in 1999 on the recommendation of an Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development panel. In the Data section, researchers can access information in a number of ways, including by Country, Dataset, and Species.
[MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
HHMI BioInteractive This link opens in a new window Multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs. Video resources range from a series of short films to lectures given by Nobel-prize winners, all supplemented by teacher guides and classroom activities.
- This link opens in a new window
Many of the resources are targeted to a high school and undergraduate audience but can be easily adapted to different levels of instruction. They can be used in a flipped, blended, or traditional classroom.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Abstracts to literature in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Last updated December 2010.
Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. 1950 to present. Updated daily.
PLOS This link opens in a new window PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
- This link opens in a new window
Channels for collaboration where peers can share work and exchange ideas, with proper acknowledgement for contributions. Through this interchange, work can advance faster, so science can advance further and in a more dynamic way than ever before.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- This link opens in a new window
The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies. It is making available free journal articles, peer-reviewed accepted manuscripts, and reports of research funded by federal science agencies, as well as the agencies’ public access policies and requirements.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect Open Access hosts a growing number of open access journals. There are no subscription charges for these journals, and all articles are available to anyone with an internet connection.
- This link opens in a new window
Enables open science through itsr approach to open access, open data, research integrity, knowledge exchange, metrics and more, to benefit research and society and drive research performance.
ScienceResearch.com This link opens in a new window ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that retrieves the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one, easily navigable page.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceResearch.com removes duplicate results, and then weighs each result for relevance according to how closely it matches your search word or phrase.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window Offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books.
- This link opens in a new window
It has a high-level peer-review and production processes guaranteeing the quality and reliability of the work. The use of a Creative Commons License enables authors/editors to retain copyright to their work. Publications can be reused and redistributed as long as the original author is correctly attributed.
The work is freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication,
Teach Me Anatomy This link opens in a new window A comprehensive anatomy encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format.
Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines anatomical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care.
USDA FoodData Central This link opens in a new window Search the database by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items. You can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content.
WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases.
- This link opens in a new window
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
The WorldWideScience Alliance, a multilateral partnership, consists of participating member countries and provides the governance structure for WorldWideScience.org.

American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is house.
A free resource accessible to all researchers, American Doctoral Dissertations is available on the EBSCOhost® platform, and the content is available via EBSCO Discovery Service™.
Dissertations Express This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Students, faculty, and other researchers search the database for titles related to their scholarly interests. You may purchase either unbound, shrink-wrapped print copies or PDF files.
EThOS -- TEMPORARILY OUT OF SERVICE
- This link opens in a new window
E-Theses Online Service provides access to the full text of all UK doctoral theses, either via download or digitization-on-demand.
A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions with free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Use the Global ETD search to find electronic theses & dissertation.
Supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

American Mathematical Society Blogs
A blog that covers a variety of mathematic topics in an entertaining way.
Botanical Art & Artists: How to draw and paint leaves and trees
Tips and techniques for how to draw and paint botanically correct trees and leaves.
Drawing and watercolor painting instruction includes step by step demonstrations, videos and books.
CDC: 500 Cities Project
An interactive map that allows researchers to quickly access and analyze health data from the 500 largest cities in the United States. Visitors can browse this information, which is drawn from census and city data, in a number of ways. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
more...less...
Researchers interested in learning more about data by region can select an individual state on the map. From there, select from three categories (Health Outcomes; Prevention; Unhealthy
Behaviors) to view a variety of specific data measurements for cities in that state. Measurements include rates of high blood pressure, smoking, and health insurance coverage, to name just a few. Alternatively, visitors may also chose to simultaneously view all data in the United States for a particular measurement (e.g. prevalence of arthritis). Data is color coded, allowing visitors to compare cities at first glance, or visitors may hover their cursor over any individual city to view available data. In addition to this map feature, researchers can also request a comparison report for two cities, download a PDF copy of 28 data maps, or download all available data. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu

Search Discovery

Focus your search by using these metadata field commands:

su: to search the Subject Field

ti: to search the Title Field

au: to search the Author Field

kw: to search Keywords in the whole record (author, title subject, table of contents, summary, abstract, etc.) This is the default search.

Related Science Guides

Reference Librarian

Janet "Miss T." Tillman

Email Me

Contact:

Robert L. Powell Library
The Master's University
21726 Placerita Canyon. Rd.
Santa Clarita, CA 91321

1.661.362.2201

Subjects: About the Library, Biblical Counseling, Biblical Studies, Business, Communication, Copyright Law, Education, Fine Arts, Global Outreach, History, Humanities, Kinesiology, Law & Legislation, Literature, Mathematics, Politics & International Relations, Research, Sciences, TMS

Science: Science Research Resources

Access Resources

Science Research Resources

Search Discovery

Related Science Guides

Reference Librarian