LibGuides: TMS Online Resources: Online Databases

Religious Online Databases

Secure Access: TMS id/password required

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary & Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Anchor Bible Commentaries draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha.

Anchor Bible Dictionary includes articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text.
ATLAReligion with Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Atla Religion Database® with AtlaSerials PLUS® (Atlas PLUS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 650 full text titles. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
More than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
more...less...
The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages in addition to English.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
Nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923 presenting a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the 20th century.
more...less...
Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern and other religions and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.

BAS Library: Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) and it's predecessor Biblical Review (BR) as well as Archaeology Odyssey (AO) and several symposia at the Smithsonian Institution: Aspects of Monotheism: How God Is One, 1996.; Feminist Approaches to the Bible, 1994; The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels, 1993 and The Rise of Ancient Israel, 1991.
Brill Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Early Christianity, Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics, and History of Global Christianity.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity related to religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology. It also indexes journals from other disciplines which put forth a Christian worldview. Current indexing includes over 140 titles back to 1976. The index is owned and indexed by the Association of Christian Librarians.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Selected theological reference titles published by Zondervan. Includes: Book of Revelation Made Clear; Christianity: the Biography; Chronological and Background Charts of Church History; Essential Companion to Life in Bible Times; Evangelical Dictionary of Theology; Expositor's Bible Commentary - Abridged New Testament; Expositor's Bible Commentary - Abridged Old Testament; Handbook of Basic Bible Tests; New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology & Exegesis; Prepositions and Theology in the Greek New Testament; Questions and Rhetoric in the Greek New Testament; Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology..

Dictionnaire d’histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques (DHGE) (Brepolis)
The Dictionary of Ecclesiastical History and Geography is an incomparable source of information on the history of the church.
more...less...
DHGE provides 20 centuries of history about 70,000 articles with two updates a year and direct links to Religiosus Index.

Early American Imprints This link opens in a new window
Evans 1639-1800: historical collection of materials printed in America over three centuries.
This Readex Archives of Americana provides searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
EEBO features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge.
Includes information from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception This link opens in a new window
EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film.

Index Religiosus (Brepols)
International bibliography of theology, church history and religious studies.
more...less...
The Index Religiosus brings together the Elenchus Bibliographicus (formerly published by the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses) and the bibliography of the Revue d’Histoire Ecclésiastique.

International Critical Commentary This link opens in a new window
This collection is a curated selection of 59 titles from throughout the series' history, including both long-unavailable titles and newly-published research.
It has brought together all the relevant aids to exegesis – linguistic and textual no less than archaeological, historical, literary and theological – with a level of comprehension and quality of scholarship unmatched by any other series.
New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement, Jubilee Volume: The Wojtyla Years This link opens in a new window
A scholarly supplement to the New Catholic Encyclopedia that focuses on the pontificate of John Paul II and includes thematic essays presenting the man and his work. Headings include: The Papacy of John Paul II; Church Documents; People and Places; Institutions and Events, Saints and Blessed.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
A partnership between ATLA and Boston College. Each year an additional articles from hundreds of periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, many current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
A partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Coverage dates back to 1978.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.

ProQuest eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Provider of authoritative scholarly sources from scholarly publishers including University Presses.
ProQuest Religion This link opens in a new window
International religion and spirituality - journal articles..
Covers formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. 1986 - current.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

TREN This link opens in a new window
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.

The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
TREN also makes available conference papers presented at annual meetings of several academic societies. Like:
Evangelical Theological Society
American Society of Church History
Society for Pentecostal Studies
North American Patristic Society
American Catholic Historical Association

Interdisciplinary and non-religious Online Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Alt Health Watch
Focuses on the many perspective of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Cambridge Core

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The authoritative style manual for source citations in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. This Chicago style is the preferred style for the Biblical Studies, Biblical Counseling and History Departments of The Master's University.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks owned by the Powell Library covering many fields of study. .

Encyclopaedia Britannica
Access to high-quality, comprehensive information.
more...less...
Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, the Encyclopædia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights that users will not find anywhere else.
ERIC
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
more...less...
The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Funk & Wagnall's Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
more...less...
Contains scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as Open Access full text.

Health Source: Consumer This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer health information on many health topics..
Includes access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines..
Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets including brand names as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

LISTA
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts indexes core journals, books, research reports and proceedings in the areas of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
more...less...
Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current News pertaining to all branches of the military and government from periodicals, academic journals and other pertinent content..
Cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and indexing & abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy & Religion This link opens in a new window
The world’s leading scholars discuss research and the latest thinking in the fields of Philosophy & Religion. Select Unlocked and Free, left of the results list.
Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Trismegistos
A platform providing information (metadata) on published papyrological documents from Graeco-Roman Egypt, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD).
WorldCat
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
more...less...
Contains millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages including: books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, papers and videotapes.

Trial Databases

No trial databases at this time.

Last updated July 2024.

TMS Online Resources: Online Databases

NEW Databases

Religious Online Databases

Interdisciplinary and non-religious Online Databases

Trial Databases