Skip to Main Content

InterLibrary Loan: ILL Request from the Discovery Catalog

Get books and articles when the library does not have what you want

Steps in using InterLibrary Loan from the Discovery Catalog

1. Sign in to your library patron account  [For details on signing in watch this short video: Sign in to your Library Patron Account]

2. Select the desired title from the catalog record

3. Select "Request item through Interlibrary Loan" under Access Options (to the right).

4. Fill in relevant/required portions of the form.

See below for more details.

 

Last updated November 2024.

Step 1: Sign in to your library Patron Account

 Signing in for the first time? Select Set/Reset Password to create your account Password.

Last updated November 2021.

Step 3. Select "Request Item ..."

Then select "Request Item through Interlibrary Loan".  If you have not already Signed in to your library patron account, you will need to do so at the "Sign in" prompt.  Distance users may only request articles and book chapters/sections as whole books are delivered only to the Powell Library. Alternatively, use your local public library's Interlibrary Loan Service or try the Open Library on the Internet  Archive.

Last updated November 2024.

Contact us

For more information or assistance contact:

Circulation Desk:  661.362.2278; libcircdesk@masters.edu
Circulation Manager:  Miss K. (Kyrie Sheridan); (661) 362-2272; ksheridan@masters.edu.  Miss K. will assist with anything related to your library patron account, borrowing privileges, Reserve materials, InterLibrary Loan, etc. Miss Sheridan will also fulfill your requests for Book Scanning Services and Book Pick-up Service. Please submit all service request forms to libcircdesk@masters.edu.
Reference Desk:  Miss T. (Janet Tillman);  jtillman@masters.edu; 661.362.2201.  Miss T. is available for assistance with any research need and can help in selecting and searching online databases. She also should  be consulted for issues relating to accessing online resources as well as questions regarding copyright law. In addition, Miss T. can be consulted for questions on the Chicago/Turabian Style formatting.
Interlibrary Loan Service:  Mrs. Grace Kamffer; gkamffer@masters.edu. . ILL provides access to items not currently available in our own library collection or not available in full-text through our online databases. For problems concerning your ILL requests, please contact Mrs. Kamffer. See https://masters.libguides.com/il for more details. 
Library Director:  Mr. John Stone; 661.362.2271; jstone@masters.edu. Mr. Stone provides oversight, management and direction for both the Robert L. Powell Library and The Master’s Seminary Library. He is particularly knowledgeable of books and authors in the areas of Bible and theology especially those of the Puritans.

Last updated July 2023.

Step 2. Select desired title.

When you get your results list, select the title of the record.

Last updated November 2024.

Step 4. Fill out ILL form

The bibliographic information for the item will be filled in for you. You have the option to request pages or selected chapter of a book instead of the whole book. See "Pages" and "Title of chapter/section/paper" in the form. When requesting pages or a chapter you will receive the item in a few days rather than 7-10 days that the whole book takes.

You will be notified via email when the book arrives or with a link to the article or book chapter.  You will also be notified via email, if the item cannot be obtained.

Books will take approximately 7 to 10 days.

Articles should arrive in about 3 to 5 days.

Address & contact information will be filled in for you. It has been erased from this example for privacy.

Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyright material.

Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries are authorized to furnish a copy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.

Last updated November 2024.