Music Research: Databases, Open Access Resources and Web sites

The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

A collection of ebooks owned by the Powell Library covering many fields of study. .

Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..

This collection features audio collections reflecting music, art and culture. Collections include the unique contemporary compositions and performances found in the Other Minds collection, the hundreds of popular songs from the early 20th Century found in the 78 RPM collection and oral history projects.

Naxos is the world’s largest online classical music library. The contents can be browsed by composer, artist, genre, category and label. Furthermore, a vast array of background information is available including aural training exercises, libretti and synopses, and in-depth analyses of selected works..

The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..

The world’s oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. The museum holds unparalleled collections—encompassing several million objects—in the fields of photography, cinema, and photographic and cinematographic technology, and photographically illustrated books. The institution is also a longtime leader in film preservation and photographic conservation.

ePlace is a digital collection of research and writing produced by the faculty, staff, and students of Asbury Theological Seminary. Managed by the B.L. Fisher Library, ePlace is designed to promote the open access of material from the Wesleyan and Holiness traditions to be shared with a global audience. It also serves as a place to preserve rare and difficult to locate material and encourage academic research and ongoing dialog between scholars in the field.

Content includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.

An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.

The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..