To find Music Resources in the Powell Library, use the Discovery Catalog: https://www.masters.edu/academics/library/ with this search query: su:music
Then using the Filters to the left, select "Owned By Library" and check "The Master's University". For print or eBooks select Resource Format and check, "Book" or "Print Book" or "eBook". For Peer Reviewed articles, select Content Type and check "Peer Reviewed". Alternatively, browse the shelves on the second floor in the 780's for print books and DVD's.
Last updated December 2024.
Careers in the Music Industry by 
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music by
Although it lies far back, running roughly from about 1600 to 1750, the Baroque period is far from forgotten and Baroque music is played widely today as well, exercising numerous musicians and attracting rather substantial audiences. It experienced the emergence of a new sort of music, increasingly secular and increasingly good listening, if you will, and also the start of opera. Some of the Baroque composers appear among the most popular of all time, such as Bach, Handel and Vivaldi. So yes, this is a book for researchers, but it is also a good book for anyone who enjoys this music. The Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music certainly fills a significant space in the whole sub-series on music, since it tells us much more not only about the music but also the age that generated it. This is done particularly well in an insightful introduction, with the flow of events traced by the chronology. The dictionary section fills in the missing details with over 400 entries on the most important composers and musicians, some of the musical works themselves, important places and institutions, and a smattering of technical terms. The bibliography directs us to further reading.
Historical Dictionary of English Music by
The Historical Dictionary of English Music seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958, dates that reflect the coalescence of an identifiable English style in the early Renaissance and the death of the iconic Ralph Vaughan Williams in the mid-20th century. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about English music.
Historical Dictionary of Jazz by
The Historical Dictionary of Jazz covers the history of Jazz through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,500 cross-referenced entries on significant jazz performers, band leaders, bands, venues, record labels, recordings, and the different styles of jazz.
Historical Dictionary of Music of the Classical Period by
The Historical Dictionary of Music of the Classical Period covers the music of the Classical Period (1728-1800) with both forerunners and successors briefly described. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on composers, genres, styles, significant patrons or musicians, musical instruments, and terms demonstrating the global reach of the music of this era. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about classical music.
Historical Dictionary of Popular Music by
This book seeks to trace the rise of popular music, identify its key figures and track the origins and development of its multiple genres and styles, all the while seeking to establish historical context.
Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music by
Contains entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition important musical compositions and more.
Historical Dictionary of the American Music Industry by
This book traces the history of the music industry from the Colonial era to the present day, identifying trends and the innovative leaders who have shaped its course. It embraces the diversity of the American music industry, spanning classical to country and hip hop to heavy metal.
Naxos is the world’s largest online classical music library. The contents can be browsed by composer, artist, genre, category and label. Furthermore, a vast array of background information is available including aural training exercises, libretti and synopses, and in-depth analyses of selected works..
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available and an essential point of reference for music students, teachers, lecturers, professional musicians, as well as music enthusiasts. It offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by
An in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts. Appearing in response to the shifting landscape of biblical studies over the last decade, OEBART embraces the broadest possible definition of "interpretation," one that includes a cultural-historical perspective.
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
Last updated December 2024.
Period Search for Art & Music
The following instructions will assist you to very quickly and easily find information on the various periods associated with the history of music and art.
Go to the library Web site [www.masters.edu] copy and paste the search queries below into the Discovery search box. After the results list is retrieved, use the Refining option on the left and from "Academic Discipline" select "Art & Architecture" and "Music" as needed.
For both Art and Music during the Renaissance, Baroque and Romantic periods use
>su:renaissance
>su:baroque
>su:romantic
For the Impressionist period use the term impressionism. Like this:
>su:impressionism
For Classical Music use:
>su:music classical
For Art in the same period of time as classical music use:
>su:art modern
For 20th Century Art use:
>su:art modern 20th
For 20th Century Music use:
>su:music 20th
ONLINE STUDENTS:
* Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a voluntary system of sharing materials between libraries. ILL provides access to items not currently available in the library's collection or not available in full-text through its online databases. Please note: some libraries charge a fee for using their ILL services.
Last updated May 2022.
