Artist and Composer Paper
Suggested Research Strategies
The easiest method for finding general information on a composer or an artist is to use subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries. These provide sufficient detailed content to fulfill the requirements for the Artist and Composer Paper. Follow the instructions below and you'll have your paper done in a very short time. If you desire further assistance, please stop by the Reference Desk and see Miss T. or email her at jtillman@masters.edu.
For books on Art and Artists browse the shelves at 703.
For books on Music and Musicians browse the shelves at 780.3.
You can also find what is available in print (hardcopy) with the Discovery catalog by searching the Dewey Decimal number like this:
> nu:703
> nu:780.3
Note to Online / Distance students:
* Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a voluntary system of sharing materials between libraries. ILL provides access to items not currently available in the library's collection or not available in full-text through its online databases. Please note: some libraries charge a fee for using their ILL services.
To find hardcopy (print) and softcopy (eBook) encyclopedias and dictionaries for a composer or an artist, copy and paste the following search queries in the library Discovery catalog search box. See image below:
> su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND music*
> su:encyclopedias OR dictionaries AND art*
When you get your results list, select "Resource Format" on the left, then under "Book" select "Print Book", when the page refreshes, select "eBook". This will eliminate book reviews on the encyclopedias and dictionaries. See image below:
In addition, search for biographies of a particular composer or artist like this:
> su:mozart
> su:rembrandt
NOTE: "su:" is the command code to search only the subject field in the Discovery catalog.
Here are some important hardcopy sources for information on artists:
Here are some important hardcopy sources for information on composers:
Last updated November 2023.
Selected theological reference titles published by Zondervan. Includes: Book of Revelation Made Clear; Christianity: the Biography; Chronological and Background Charts of Church History; Essential Companion to Life in Bible Times; Evangelical Dictionary of Theology; Expositor's Bible Commentary - Abridged New Testament; Expositor's Bible Commentary - Abridged Old Testament; Handbook of Basic Bible Tests; New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology & Exegesis; Prepositions and Theology in the Greek New Testament; Questions and Rhetoric in the Greek New Testament; Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology..
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture by
The baroque period deals with the art created roughly between the end of the 16th and the early years of the 18th centuries. The masters of the era include Caravaggio, Gianlorenzo Bernini, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Diego Velazquez, and Nicolas Poussin. The Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture, Second Edition covers the most salient works of baroque artists, the most common themes depicted, historical events and key figures responsible for shaping the artistic vocabulary of the era, and definitions of terms pertaining to the topic at hand. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 600 cross-referenced entries on famous artists, sculptors, architects, patrons, and other historical figures, and events. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Baroque art.
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music by
Although it lies far back, running roughly from about 1600 to 1750, the Baroque period is far from forgotten and Baroque music is played widely today as well, exercising numerous musicians and attracting rather substantial audiences. It experienced the emergence of a new sort of music, increasingly secular and increasingly good listening, if you will, and also the start of opera. Some of the Baroque composers appear among the most popular of all time, such as Bach, Handel and Vivaldi. So yes, this is a book for researchers, but it is also a good book for anyone who enjoys this music. The Historical Dictionary of Baroque Music certainly fills a significant space in the whole sub-series on music, since it tells us much more not only about the music but also the age that generated it. This is done particularly well in an insightful introduction, with the flow of events traced by the chronology. The dictionary section fills in the missing details with over 400 entries on the most important composers and musicians, some of the musical works themselves, important places and institutions, and a smattering of technical terms. The bibliography directs us to further reading.
Historical Dictionary of English Music by
The Historical Dictionary of English Music seeks to identify and briefly annotate a wide range of subjects relating to English musical culture, largely from the early 15th century through 1958, dates that reflect the coalescence of an identifiable English style in the early Renaissance and the death of the iconic Ralph Vaughan Williams in the mid-20th century. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about English music.
Historical Dictionary of Music of the Classical Period by
The Historical Dictionary of Music of the Classical Period covers the music of the Classical Period (1728-1800) with both forerunners and successors briefly described. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1,000 cross-referenced entries on composers, genres, styles, significant patrons or musicians, musical instruments, and terms demonstrating the global reach of the music of this era. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about classical music.
Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music by
Contains entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition important musical compositions and more.
Naxos is the world’s largest online classical music library. The contents can be browsed by composer, artist, genre, category and label. Furthermore, a vast array of background information is available including aural training exercises, libretti and synopses, and in-depth analyses of selected works..
Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by
Covers Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day including biographical entries for artists with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources).
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
The Oxford Dictionary of Music is the most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available and an essential point of reference for music students, teachers, lecturers, professional musicians, as well as music enthusiasts. It offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts by
An in-depth, comprehensive reference work that covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts. Appearing in response to the shifting landscape of biblical studies over the last decade, OEBART embraces the broadest possible definition of "interpretation," one that includes a cultural-historical perspective.
The premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias..
Last updated November 2023.
To find articles on an artist or musician go to the library Web site <www.masters.edu>.
Search using the name of the artist or musician in the Subject field. Like this:
> su:bach johann
> su:josquin des prez
> su:rembrandt
When you get your results list, use the "Content Type" from the filtering options to the left and select "Peer Reviewed". This will retrieve only scholarly articles. See example below:
To access the online articles, use your TMU credentials; the same id/password used to access Self-Service and Canvas.
Alternatively, search the following article databases by selecting "Find Databases" on the library web site. Each of these databases has an option to limit the results to "Peer Reviewed" articles, which includes academic scholarly as well as actual peer reviewed articles.
Last updated May 2022.
