Theses and Dissertations are very valuable resources for scholarly researchers. Even if the thesis or dissertation does not exactly match your topic, it could prove very useful in furthering your research efforts.
Consider, the key to doing research is to "Use Sources to Find Sources". Theses and Dissertations make excellent sources of information for finding more excellent sources of information.
Usually, the bibliography of a thesis or dissertation is extensive and will most often contain the better scholarly sources as well as primary sources. As a scholarly researcher, you will want to identify theses and dissertations even if they only vaguely make mention of your topic. Scan the bibliographies for potential sources of information that will give you more detailed information related to your topic.
Access limited to TMUS users only
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowePlace is a digital collection of research and writing produced by the faculty, staff, and students of Asbury Theological Seminary. Managed by the B.L. Fisher Library, ePlace is designed to promote the open access of material from the Wesleyan and Holiness traditions to be shared with a global audience. It also serves as a place to preserve rare and difficult to locate material and encourage academic research and ongoing dialog between scholars in the field.
This link opens in a new windowContent includes conference papers, research, theses, presentations, publications, and special collections by faculty, students, and staff at Dordt College. Sharing knowledge with a broader audience is an important goal of Digital Collections @ Dordt.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
An open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses.
This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
From Topic to Thesis by
While courses in Bible and theology typically require research papers, particularly at the graduate level, very few include training in research. Professors have two options: use valuable class time to teach students as much as they can, or lower their standards with the understanding that students cannot be expected to complete tasks for which they have never been prepared.From Topic to Thesis: A Guide to Theological Research offers a third option. This affordable and accessible tool walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position. Its goal is to take students directly from a research assignment to a research argument--in other words, from topic to thesis.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th edition by 
Quality Research Papers by
This updated third edition of Quality Research Papers--fast becoming a standard reference textbook for writing research papers in the fields of religion and theology--gives improvements and added material for such things as the expanding field of online research and doing church-related research in a professional manner. Because so many new developments have taken place in the field of research, especially in terms of electronic research, this handy reference explores the ways to do research on the internet, including how to document such research. Quality Research Papers offers great opportunities to students today, especially in distant learning situations, to determine which resources can be used and which should be rejected. For this reason Nancy Vyhmeister brought in Terry Robertson, Seminary Librarian at Andrews University and professor of the seminary master's level research courses. His expertise in library, computers, and the Internet are invaluable to the book. In addition to substantial, current information on electronic resources and online research, this third edition preserves all of the features of the original editions, now presented in a newly revised, more logical order.
Research Strategies: Finding Your Way Through the Information Fog by
Everyone does research. Some just do it better than others. In this chaotic world of information and misinformation, referred to as "information fog," university students, in particular, need to learn how to conduct research effectively. Good research is about a quest to discover more, about a burning desire to solve society's problems and make a better world. Ultimately, research is a way forward to a resolution of life's greatest difficulties. In this seventh edition of Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog, author William Badke walks you step by step through the entire research process--from choosing a topic, to writing the final project, and everything in between.A seasoned researcher and educator, Badke offers tried-and-true tips, tricks, and strategies to help you identify a problem, acquire pertinent information, and use that information to address the problem. Employing a host of examples and humor, Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog shows how research can be exciting and fun.
Writing and research: a guide for theological students by
Perfect as an introduction for new and continuing undergraduate or postgraduate students, this publication provides helpful guidelines and illustrations on all the elements that go into producing an academic work. Combining specific instruction on researching and preparing an academic work, as well as practical advice for task management, makes this an ideal go-to guide for students and supervisors alike.
|
Full-Time Faculty |
Field/Profession |
Master's Thesis |
Doctoral Dissertation |
|
Anderson, Ross |
MicroBiology |
Mammalian Cell Surface Glycolipids: Structure, Distribution and Biosynthesis. M.B.S., University of Colorado at Boulder, 1982. |
Terminal deoxynucleotidyltransferase : genetic, structural, and activity studies. Ph.D. Biochemistry, Baylor College of Medicine, 1993. |
|
Baker, Ernie |
Biblical Counseling |
M.Div. Capital Bible Seminary. No thesis required |
Preparing Your Heart for Marriage. D.Min., Westminster Theological Seminary, 2003. |
|
Beck, John |
Communications Management |
Comprehensive exam. M.A. Communication Management, University of Southern California, 1994 |
In progress Ed.D. Organizational Change & Leadership, USC, extimated completion 2020. |
|
Behle, Greg |
Christian Education |
A Research Study of Outward Bound with a View Towards Implications for Christian Education. Th.M., Dallas Theological Seminary, 1986. |
Scholars from the Sod : The Social Origins and Backgrounds of Students at the University of Illinois, 1868-1894. Ph.D., University of Southern California, 1996. |
|
Berry, Paul |
Athletics |
A Coaching Aid tot the Fundamentals of Pitching. MA Men's Physical Education, CalState Long Beach, 1972 |
N/A |
|
Blackwell, Claire |
Mathematics, Music |
N/A |
N/A |
|
BloomField, Ruta |
Music, Harpsicord |
M.M. in Musicology and Harpsichord Performance. Northwestern University, Chicago, 1981. No Thesis Required |
Bernard De Bury's Premiere Livre di Pieces di Clavecin: Critical Edition and Commentary. D.M.A., Claremont Graduate University, 2008 |
|
Bolen, Todd |
Geograhy & Archaeology of Israel |
||
|
Boyd, Steven |
Biblical Hebrew |
28-Apr |
A Synchronic Analysis of the Medio-Passive-Reflexive in Biblical Hebrew. Ph.D., The Hebrew Union College - Jewish Institute of Religion, 1993. |
|
Brooks, Monte |
Head Coach |
Oral Exam; no thesis required. M.A. Education Azusa Pacific |
“The Effectiveness of Selected Teacher Training Institution in Promoting the Education and Professional Goals, Objectives, and Attitudes of Student-Teachers.” Ed.D. Northern Arizona University |
|
Brown, Benjamin |
Business |
|
|
|
Brown, Matthew |
Education; English; Writing |
Portfolio, no thesis required M.A. Secondary Education CSUN, 2005 |
N/A |
|
Button, Michael |
Pure Mathematics |
Qualifying exams |
Representable, Non-Solvable Varieties of Lattice-Ordered Groups. Ph.D. Mathematics, Bowling Green State University, 1996. |
|
Carothers, Linn |
|
|
The Association of the Social and Familial Environment with Adolescent and Young Adult Crime: A Longitudinal Perspective. Ph.D. University of Southern California, 1987 |
|
Chou, Abner |
New Testament |
Hermeneutical implications of Old Testament intertextuality on redemptive history. M.Div., The Master's Seminary, 2005.; The prophetic hermeneutic : hermeneutically defined, theologically displayed. Th.M., The Master's Seminary, 2007. |
The Curse, the King, and the Cross : the Intertextual Impact of Deuteronomy 21:22-23 in Prophetic and Apostolic Hermeneutics. Th.D. The Master's Seminary, 2010. |
|
Chua, Esther Joy Tan |
Literature |
Nov 6 M.A. Cal State Northridge |
N/A |
|
Dickson, Bob |
Writing |
Novella instead of a thesis. "The Spiritual War of Jorge O'Connor", 1996. M.S. Northeastern Oklahoma State University |
In progress-- Ed.D. Organizational Change and Leadership, USC Rossier Online, est. completion 2020. |
|
Drai, Remi |
Applied Mathematics; part of NASA's Rover prelaunch team |
"Applications of Monge-Ampere Equations". M.A. Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis, France, June 1993. |
Commande Robuste de Structures Flixibles et Dissipativité. D.Sc., Mathématiques Appliquées, Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis, France, 1998 |
|
Eickemeyer, John |
Computing |
Nov. 6 M.S., UCLA |
Visualizing p-flats in N-space using parallel coordinates. Ph.D. UCLA, 1991. |
|
Englin, Dennis |
Biology |
Oral exam and research study on "The Resolubilization of Immunoglobulins in Hypertonic Solution" |
A Model for Supporting Studies in Chemistry for the Undergraduate Biological Sciences Major. Ed.D., University of Southern California, 1976. |
|
Ennis, Patricia |
Home Economics |
Techniques and Materials for Individualizing Instruction in Home Economics. Part A, 1973. Development and Evaluation of a Programmed Instruction Unit for Beginning Foods. Part B, 1974. MAE San Diego State University, 1974. |
“The Effectiveness of Selected Teacher Training Institution in Promoting the Education and Professional Goals, Objectives, and Attitudes of Student-Teachers.” Ed.D. Northern Arizona University, 1982. |
|
Forehand, K. Ferrell |
|
The Movies, 19027-1929: From the Birth of Sound to the Death of Silence. MA Fine Arts, Texas Christian University, 1970. |
|
|
Foreman, Benjamin |
IBEX, Metaphor in the Hebrew Bible |
M.A., The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. No thesis required. |
"Who Teaches Us More than the Beasts of the Earth?": Animal Metaphors and the People of Israel in the Book of Jeremiah. Ph.D., The University of Aberdeen, 2009. |
|
Forgerson, Michael |
Taxes, Accounting, Law; Member CA State Bar |
M.S. Cal State Northridge; M.Div., The Master's Seminary No thesis required. |
J.D. Southwestern University of Law |
|
Francis, Joe |
Science |
N/A |
Flourescence Studies of Neutrophil Adherence Interactions with Substrates and Target Particles. Ph.D., Wayne State University, 1988. |
|
Frazer, Gregg |
Political Studies |
Comprehensive Exam |
The Political Theology of the American Founding. Ph.D. Political Science, Claremont Graduate School, 2004. |
|
Green, Matt |
Film |
N/A |
N/A |
|
Greer, Clyde |
History |
M.S. History, Radford University. No Thesis Requirement |
The Quest for a Just Society, 1945-1981. DA, History, Carnegie-Mellon University, 1982. |
|
Gruss, Ed |
|
|
|
|
Hallman, Cindy |
Education; Arts |
11/6/2017 M.A. LaVern University |
|
|
Halstead, Tom |
Biblical Studies |
The Significance of the Signs in the Gospel of John. M.Div., New Testament Languages and Literature, Talbot Theological Seminary, 1977. |
Nov 6 (Assessment) Nova Southeastern University Ft. Lauderdale FL 1994 |
|
Ham, Dwight |
Business Management |
A biblical perspective on learning contentment : an issue of the heart M.A. The Master's College, 2005; M.B.A. Pepperdine University |
DBM in process George Fox University |
|
Hild, Kurt |
English |
The Hermeneutics of John Milton. M.A. English. Cal State Northridge, 1983. |
Development of a Strategy to Assess Critical Writing Abilities of Students Graduating from The Master's College With Plans for Implementation and Evaluation. Ed.D. Nova Southeastern University, 1998. |
|
Hill, Kevin |
Business Administration |
Comprehensive Exam, M.A. Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Cal State Northridge, 1997; M.B.A. UC, Irvine, 2000. |
Evaluating Workplace Output of Full Time Employees Who Are Full Time Students. Ph.D. Business Management, Northcentral University, 2008. |
|
Horner, Grant |
Literature |
No thesis requirement M.A. University of Alabama |
The Heresy of John Milton, Calvinist: Reforming the Puritan Poet With Historical Theology. Ph.D. Claremont Graduate University, 2017. |
|
Hotchkiss, John |
English |
Melville's Quarrel with the Missionaries. M.A. English Studies, Pepperdine University, 1970. |
Honorary Ph.D. from TMS |
|
Howe, George |
Science |
|
Time Course of the Photosynthetic Induction Periods and Photosynthetic Rhythms in Certain Higher Plants as Related to Changes in Degree of Stomatal Opening. Ph.D., Ohio State University, 1959. |
|
Hulet, Tricia |
Theatre Arts |
God’s Grace When the Womb is Empty. M.A. Biblical Counseling, The Master’s College, 2013 |
N/A |
|
Hutchison, Dennis |
New Testament |
"A Comparative Analysis of the Sermon Organization of Alexander Maclaren, G. Campbell Morgan and Harry A. Ironside". M.Div., Talbot School of Theology, 1971 "The Use of Ego Eimi in the Writings of John" Th.M., Talbot School of Theology, 1975. |
"The Nature of Christ's Comings in Revelation 2-3" Th.D. Grace Theological Seminary, 1986. |
|
Ingle, Matt |
Genetic health, behavioral ecology, parasitology, phylogenetics and herpetology |
No thesis -- M.S. Natural Science, Loma Linda University |
"Baylisascaris procyonis Prevalence and Impact in Raccoon (Procyon lotor) Populations" Ph.D. Biology, Loma Linda University, 2014 |
|
Jensen, Jeff |
History |
No thesis – Comprehensive Exams; M.A. History, CSU Long Beach, 1997 |
N/A |
|
Jones, Kim |
Opera Performance |
N/A |
Study and Comparison of Béla Bartók's BlueBeard's Castle and Three Operas Based on Works by Maurice Maeterlinck: Pelléas et Mélisande, Ariane et Barbe-Bleue and Monna Vanna. DMA, University of Texas at Austin, 1990. |
|
Jones, Taylor |
Chemistry |
|
Investigation of Orbital Interactions by Photoelectron Spectroscopy ad Molecular Orbital Calculations. Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin, 1975. |
|
Keller, Joe |
Biblical Counseling |
N/A |
"The Distinctives of Spiritual Development as The Master's College", D.Min., Westminster Theological Seminary, 2014. |
|
Kornoff, Michael |
Chemistry |
Frustrated Lewis Pairs. M.A. Chemistry, USC, 2010. |
N/A |
|
Kostjuk, Todd |
CPA, Finance |
M.B.A. Indiana University; CPA State of California |
In progress: EdD in Organizational Change and Leadership, USC, anticipated completion 2020. |
|
LaGeorge, Lisa |
Global Outreach; |
M.A., TEFL/ICS, Columbia International University No thesis required. |
Short Term Missions at The Master’s College: An Experiential Education. Ph.D., Biola University, 2009. |
|
Larsen, Dave |
Sports Medicine |
Concentric and Eccentric Isokinetic Torque Values in College Baseball Pitchers. M. A. Cal. State Long Beach, 1995 |
N/A |
|
Larson, Julie |
Rhetoric |
21/1/2017 |
A Narrative Analysis of the Scopes Trial. Ph.D. Communication, University of Southern California, 1995 |
|
Lawson, Lazella |
Botany |
Evidence for Simultaneous Seedling and Clonal Reproduction of Quaking Aspen (Populus Tremuloides Michx.) in Southeastern Arizona. M.S. Biological Sciences, Cal. State Polytechnic University, Pomona, 2008. |
N/A |
|
Mackey, Beth |
Home Economics |
N/A |
N/A |
|
Mackey II, RW |
Business |
M.R.E., M.Div., Grand Rapids Theological Seminary No thesis required. |
A Description and Analysis of Change in a Small Christian Liberal Arts College Over a Two-year Period. Ed.D., Pepperdine University, 1988. |
|
Mays, Kenneth Robert |
Piano Performance |
The Use of Hymn Tunes in the Works of Charles Ives. M.M., Indiana University, 1961. |
Harmonic Style in the Madrigals of Claudio Monteverdi.Ph.D. Music, Indiana University, 1971. |
|
McLain, Matt |
Geology |
N/A |
Taphonomy of a Lance Formation (Maastrichtian, WY) Dinosaur Bonebed with a Focus on Tooth Traces. Ph.D. Earth Sciences Loma Linda University, 2016. |
|
McLaughlin, James |
Education; Online Program |
|
|
|
Milton, Constance |
Nursing |
|
Making a Promise. Ph.D. Nursing, Loyola University, Chicago, 1998. |
|
Morley, Brian |
Philosophy; Photography |
How Divine Predicates Can Convey Cognitive Meaning. ThM., Talbot, 1986 |
Swinburne's Inductive Argument for Theism. Ph.D., Claremont Graduate School, 1991. |
|
Morton, Jordan |
Education |
no thesis requirement. |
|
|
Opfer, Steve |
Orchestra Conducting |
Looking for it 4/28/2017 M.M. Cal State Fullerton |
A Survey of Attitudes of California University Band Conductors Toward a Synthesis of Music Disciplines Within the University Wind Band Rehearsal. D.M.A. Music Education, University of Southern California, 1996. |
|
Owen, Jim |
History |
Premillenial Dispensationalists and the Great Depression 1929-1939: An Analysis of Their Political, Economic and Social Thought and Action. M.A. Humanities, Cal. Stat Univ. Dominguez Hills, 1979. |
N/A |
|
Plew, Paul |
Choral Conducting |
M.M. Pacific Lutheran University |
4/28/2017Ed.D. Nova Southeastern University |
|
Powell, Benjamin |
Business |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Richardson, K |
|
|
|
|
Rickard, Jim |
Soccer Coach |
|
|
|
Schlegel, Bill |
IBEX, Hebrew Biblical Geography |
M.A. Hebrew Language, Jerusalem University College |
|
|
Simons, Carolyn "Woody" |
Music |
H. L. Mencken: Music from a Layman's Point of View. MA Music, Baylor University, 1971. |
The History of Mechanically Bowed Keyboard Instruments with a Description of Extant Examples. Ph.D. Music, University of Iowa, 1996. |
|
Simons, Jack |
Journalism |
28-Apr |
Memoir: A life and Reading. Ph.D. Bowling Green State University, 1999. |
|
Skaar, Jonathan |
|
|
N/A |
|
Stead, John |
Political Studies |
28-Apr |
The Roots of Democracy in Thomas Jefferson and Mao Tse-Tung. Ph.D. University of Southern California, 1977. |
|
Stone, John |
Puritans |
MLIS Cal State San Jose, 1998. comprehensive exam. |
N/A |
|
Street, John |
Biblical Counseling |
Ten Loci of Biblical Theology, M.Div. Grand Rapid, 1982 |
Purifying the Heart of Sexual Idolatry. D.Min., Westminster Theological Seminary |
|
Suzuki, Joe |
Postmodernism; Rhetoric |
M.Div. Talbot Theological Seminary |
4/28/2017 Ph.D. ABD University of Texas at Arlington |
|
Tatlock, M |
Missions |
|
|
|
Tatlock, Lisa |
Home Economics |
|
|
|
Taylor, Janet |
Home Economics |
|
|
|
Tillman, Janet |
Research |
MLS Florida State University, 1983. no thesis requirement. |
N/A |
|
Toqe, Karen |
Home Economics |
|
|
|
Varner, Will |
New Testament & Greek |
To Preach or Not to Preach?: A Biblical Study of Women in the Church. M.A. Sacred Theology, Biblical School of Theology, 1976. [262.1082 V431t, 1976]. |
The Temple School of Theology and Protestant Theological Education in America, 1894-1969. EdD, Temple University, 1995. |
|
Wong, Daniel |
New Testament; Pastor Chinese Church |
M.Div., Th.M., Talbot School of Theology |
Ph.D. Dallas Theological Seminary |
|
Wright, Nate |
Physical Education |
The Effects of Skill-Simulated Isokinetic Training on the Accuracy and Velocity of the Instep Drive Kick. MA. Physical Education, 1979 |
|