LibGuides: TMS Online Resources: Open Access Resources

Open Access Resources

Open Access Free to all. No access restrictions. Those included here contain peer reviewed resources.

Association of Religion Data Archives
Provides access to the best data on religion. The archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by the foremost scholars and research centers in the world.
more...less...
Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute, the College of Liberal Arts, and the Department of Sociology at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, Chapman University and the Pennsylvania State University.

Banner of Truth Magazine Index This link opens in a new window
This Index allows you to browse the articles that have been published in each issue of the magazine, and is searchable, so you can find authors and subjects that are interesting to you.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Publishes open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology) from 1990 to the present.

Choral Public Domain Library This link opens in a new window
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information. This ChoralWiki is updated daily, permits unrestricted downloads and no-edit viewing.
CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005,
and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization.

Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
more...less...
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries. The creation of CDRI was made possible by a generous grant from the Henry Luce Foundation; it is now an ongoing ATLA program.
DOAJ
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
more...less...
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Early Music Sources
The aim of this website is to simplify the access to the vast amount of online early music sources. The sources database as well as the iconography database enable quick search and gateway to sources according to various categories.
more...less...
In addition to the databases, Early Music Sources also features a youtube series dealing with various topics relating to early music.
For further research you may refer to RISM (sources) and RIDIM (iconography).

The Finder This link opens in a new window
A combined Author/Title Index to these Reformed Publications:
The Banner of Truth Magazine 1955-2009
Reformation Today 1970-2009
Westminster/Puritan Conference 1955-2009
Banner Website Articles 1998-2009 (selected)
Compiled by Michael Keen.
The document may be searched by using the computer short cut: Ctrl f. A list of keywords to trace historical and biographical articles is supplied.

Index Religosus
International bibliography of theology, church history and religious studies.
more...less...
The Index Religiosus brings together the Elenchus Bibliographicus (formerly published by the Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses) and the bibliography of the Revue d’Histoire Ecclésiastique.

Index Theologicus This link opens in a new window
IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.

Internet Scout Archives
Collects and catalogs each annotated resource featured in the weekly Scout Report and special issues. Users may find resources of particular interest to them using a keyword search, an advanced search, or by browsing by Library of Congress subject headings.
Jericho to Jerusalem Road from the Air
The road from Jericho to Jerusalem explained using aerial video and photographs. Hiking the Jericho Road. *There is a mistake in the narration. At 6:00 minute, the statement “the modern highway starts up, out of the Og Canyon…”, is incorrect. The video clip shown there is from lower down the road (east) before the modern highway arrives to the "Adummim crest". The video clip starting at 6:44 is the modern highway. Published on Jun 17, 2015
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
A standardized controlled vocabulary used by libraries around the world. Easily identify appropriate terminology to search for information on any topic.
more...less...
Historically referred to as the "Red Books". This is the authoritative source from which most subject headings are acquired.
Liddell-Scott Jones Lexicon
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is the premier standard lexicographical resource for classical Greek.
more...less...
The TLG version represents five years of intensive work to produce a fully edited and searchable version of LSJ with links to the TLG corpus.
Map LCC to DDC
This table maps Library of Congress Classification numbers to Dewey Decimal Classifications and vice versa.
Medieval Review
Reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible.
more...less...
The electronic medium allows for very rapid publication of reviews, and provides a computer searchable archive of past reviews, both of which are of great utility to scholars and students around the world. Since 2007, TMR has been sponsored by the Medieval Studies Institute and the College of Arts and Sciences at Indiana University, Bloomington.
Mutopia Project
Sheet Music Free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses.
Permitted Uses for this Database
National Center for Charitable Statistics; NTEE
The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Get Facts & Figures, charitable giving by state, NTEE Classification, and Projects & Reports
more...less...
Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society.
Permitted Uses for this Database

Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
Curated high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspective. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.

Pastoral Materials: Sovereign Grace Audio Treasures
Many of the messages are full courses or individual lectures given in an academy setting. Some were delivered at pastors conferences, or have as their topic the academy itself and/or ministerial training. Others are placed here because they deal with topics which should be of particular interest to pastors/aspiring pastors.
more...less...
They are highly recommended as exemplary, edifying, meat-of-the-word spiritual food for growth in grace and in the knowledge of our Anointed Lord, Jesus.
Pew Research Center
Numbers, facts and trends shaping the world.
more...less...
The project conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world
RAMBI
The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – was founded by Dr. Issachar Joel in 1966. It is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
more...less...
The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers. RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis.
Review of Biblical and Early Christian Studies
An online open-access review publication maintained by two doctoral students in the UK and two early career researchers overseas. Their aim is to publish, on a regular basis, book reviews and conference/seminar reports.
more...less...
The books reviewed are recently published and significant works and quality reports on conference and seminar papers by leading scholars.
Sovereign Grace Audio Treasures
Highlighting the Preaching Ministry of Albert N. Martin
Consortium of European Research Libraries
CERL provides cross-searching of catalogues of European manuscript and archival materials. In order to reflect the Consortium's interests in both the European printed heritage and written heritage, the Portal has been extended to provide cross-file searching of the HPB Database and the English Short-Title catalogue. The Advanced search interface uses the CERL Thesaurus to provide multi-lingual assisted searching of personal names.

eBooks: Classic Literature

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
Internet Archive: Open Library This link opens in a new window
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Other projects include:
Open Library: goal is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world.
Wayback Machine: archive of web pages
Archive-it.org: a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.

eBooks: Non-Fiction

DOAB This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
E-Books Directory This link opens in a new window
A free web resource which contains links to freely downloadable e-books, technical papers, documents, as well as user contributed content, articles, reviews and comments. E-Books Directory is a service to students, researchers and e-book lovers.
Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
The mission of HathiTrust is to contribute to research, scholarship, and the common good by collaboratively collecting, organizing, preserving, communicating, and sharing the record of human knowledge. There are more than 120 partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
Open Access peer reviewed publisher of STEM research.
Internet Archive: Open Library This link opens in a new window
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Other projects include:
Open Library: goal is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world.
Wayback Machine: archive of web pages
Archive-it.org: a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1995 to provide open access peer reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia's articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window
Publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Post Reformation Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included.
The PRDL spans collections from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects. The PRDL is a response to the challenge of curation arising from this situation, and is collaborative effort to organize this content for scholars of early modern theology and philosophy. The PRDL does not directly host digital copies of sources, but rather assembles links to publicly available sources from permanent collections.

The core of the PRDL project involves the organization of thousands of documents available in digital form from select digital libraries from Europe and North America, which are making digitized forms of their holdings available to the public. The project covers the work of thousands of authors from a wide variety of theological, philosophical, and ecclesiastical traditions. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks.
Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related technologies today.
Reformed Books Online This link opens in a new window
The Best, Free, Biblical, Reformed Books and Articles Online. Provides the best theological literature from 1800 to today available for free on the internet. Select works from the reformation and puritan periods are included as well.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
Offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books.
It has a high-level peer-review and production processes guaranteeing the quality and reliability of the work. The use of a Creative Commons License enables authors/editors to retain copyright to their work. Publications can be reused and redistributed as long as the original author is correctly attributed.
The work is freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication,
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
The SEP is designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite).

Online Database Administrator

Janet "Miss T." Tillman

Email Me

Contact:

Robert L. Powell Library
The Master's University
21726 Placerita Canyon. Rd.
Santa Clarita, CA 91321

1.661.362.2201

Subjects: About the Library, Biblical Counseling, Biblical Studies, Biological & Physical Sciences, Business, Communication, Copyright Law, Education, Fine Arts, Global Studies & Missions Abroad, History, Humanities, Kinesiology, Law & Legislation, Literature, Mathematics, Politics & International Relations, Research, TMS