Biblical Studies Resources: Translation & Interpretation

VI. Hermeneutics and Exegesis

Archer, Gleason L. Encyclopedia of Bible Difficulties Zondervan, 1982.

Ferguson, Duncan S. Biblical Hermeneutics, an Introduction. John Knox, 1986.

Kaiser, Walter C., Jr. Toward an Exegetical Theology. Baker, 1981.

________. et.al. Hard Sayings of the Bible. IVP, 1996.

McKim, Donald. Ed. Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters. IVP, 1998.

Mickelsen, A. Berkeley. Interpreting the Bible. Eerdmans, 1963.

*Ramm, Bernard. Protestant Biblical Interpretation. Baker, 1970.

Sproul, R. C. Knowing Scripture. InterVarsity, 1977.

*Tan, Paul Lee. The Interpretation of Prophecy. BMH, 1974.

*Terry, Milton S. Biblical Hermeneutics. Zondervan, 1974.

*Thomas, Robert L. Introduction to Exegesis. [Calif.]: Robert L. Thomas, 1987.

Traina, Robert A. Methodical Bible Study. Wilmore, KY: R. A. Traina, 1980.

Virkler, Henry A. Hermeneutics, Principles and Processes of Biblical Interpretation. Baker, 1981

XI. Theological Works

Bahnsen, Greg L. Always Ready. American Vision, 1996.

________. Van Til’s Apologetic, Readings and Analysis. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1998.

*Berkhof, L. Systematic Theology. Eerdmans, 1941.

Bruce, F. F. New Testament Development of Old Testament Themes. Eerdmans, 1968.

Buswell, James Oliver. A Systematic Theology of the Christian Religion. Zondervan, 1962.

Cairns, Alan. Dictionary of Theological Terms Ambassador, 1998.

Chafer, Lewis Sperry. Systematic Theology. Dallas Seminary, 1947. 8 vols.

Elwell, Walter. Handbook of Evangelical Theologians. Baker, 1993

*Erickson, Millard J. Christian Theology. 2^nd  ed. Baker, 1998.

________. The Concise Dictionary of Christian Theology revised ed. Crossway, 2001.

*Grenz, Stanley, et al. Pocket Dictionary of Theological Terms. IVP, 1999.

Feinberg, Charles L. Millennialism: The Two Major Views. 3rd ed.; Moody, 1980.

Garrett, James Leo. Systematic Theology, Biblical, Historical, and Evangelical. Eerdmans, 1990. 2 vols.

Gill, John. Body of Divinity. Lassetter, 1965.

*Grudem, Wayne Systematic Theology. Zondervan, 1994, 2000.

Guthrie, Donald. New Testament Theology. InterVarsity, 1981.

Hastings, Adrian. Ed. The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought. Oxford, 2000.

Hastings, James ed. Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. Scribner’s, 1928. 13 vols.

Hodge, Charles. Systematic Theology. Clarke, 1960. 3 vols.

*Kaiser, Walter C. Toward an Exegetical Theology: Biblical Exegesis for Preaching and Teaching. Baker, 1981.

________. Old Testament Theology. Zondervan, 1978.

*McClain, Alva J. The Greatness of the Kingdom. Moody, 1959.

Muller, Richard A. Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms. Baker, 1985.

Murray, John. Collected Writings of John Murray. Banner of Truth, 1976-82. 4 vols.

Oehler, Gustav Friedrich. Theology of the Old Testament. Funk and Wagnalls, 1884.

Packer, J. I., ed. The Best in Theology. Carol Stream, IL.: Christianity Today, 1987-1990. 4 vols.

Payne, J. Barton. Encyclopedia of Biblical Prophecy. Harper, 1973.

*Pentecost, J. Dwight. Things to Come: A Study in Biblical Eschatology. Zondervan, 1958.

Reymond, Robert. A New Systematic Theology of the Christian Faith. Nelsons, 1998.

Ridderbos, Herman. Paul: An Outline of His Theology. Eerdmans, 1975.

Ryrie, Charles C. Biblical Theology of the New Testament. Moody, 1959.

Shedd, William G. T. Dogmatic Theology. 3rd ed. P&R Pub, 2003.

Turretin, Francis. Institutes of Elenctic Theology. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1992. 3 vols.

Van Til, Cornelius The Defense of the Faith. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1955.

________. In Defense of Biblical Christianity. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1967-71, 6 vols.

Vos, Gerhardus. Biblical Theology. Eerdmans, 1948.

Walvoord, John F. Lewis Sperry Chafer Systematic Theology. Victor, 1988 2 vols.

Warfield, Benjamin B. Biblical and Theological Studies. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1968.

________. Selected Shorter Writings of Benjamin B. Warfield. Presbyterian and Reformed, 1970. 2 vols.