To easily find the library's databases supporting the field of Biblical Studies, go to
For more details watch this short video tutorial: 
Find Databases (2:54). Find all of the databases licensed to The Master's University Robert L. Powell Library.
TRY THESE FIRST:
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Includes Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) and it's predecessor Biblical Review (BR) as well as Archaeology Odyssey (AO) and several symposia at the Smithsonian Institution: Aspects of Monotheism: How God Is One, 1996.; Feminist Approaches to the Bible, 1994; The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels, 1993 and The Rise of Ancient Israel, 1991.
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
Research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.
The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
Anchor Bible Commentaries draws from the wisdom and resources of Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from around the world. Includes a book-by-book translation and exegesis of the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha.
Anchor Bible Dictionary includes articles on pseudepigraphic and apocryphal texts, Nag Hammadi tractates, and individual Dead Sea Scrolls, including the most recently published sectarian Dead Sea Scrolls as well as articles illustrating the literary artistry of the biblical text.
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion..
Find religious audio books hand selected by John Stone, Powell Library Director.
Includes Biblical Archaeology Review (BAR) and it's predecessor Biblical Review (BR) as well as Archaeology Odyssey (AO) and several symposia at the Smithsonian Institution: Aspects of Monotheism: How God Is One, 1996.; Feminist Approaches to the Bible, 1994; The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels, 1993 and The Rise of Ancient Israel, 1991.
Provides indexing to Evangelical Journals.
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge.
EBR offers a comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible in its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora; in Islam, in other religious traditions and current religious movements, Western and non-Western alike, as well as in literature, art, music, and film.
This collection is a curated selection of 59 titles from throughout the series' history, including both long-unavailable titles and newly-published research.
An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
A scholarly supplement to the New Catholic Encyclopedia that focuses on the pontificate of John Paul II and includes thematic essays presenting the man and his work. Headings include: The Papacy of John Paul II; Church Documents; People and Places; Institutions and Events, Saints and Blessed.
Research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
International religion and spirituality - journal articles..
Search TREN for over 10,000 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 139 different institutions. Authorized users from TMUS may download edocs for free.
The best way to search TREN is with a single term or phrase. To search a phrase you will need to select “more search options” from the home page and then select “exact phrase” from “Search For Theses/Dissertations” (do not put quotation marks around the phrase).
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
The authoritative style manual for source citations in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. This Chicago style is the preferred style for the Biblical Studies, Biblical Counseling and History Departments of The Master's University.
Access to high-quality, comprehensive information.
Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. .
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. .
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.
Last updated March 2022.
From Topic to Thesis by
While courses in Bible and theology typically require research papers, particularly at the graduate level, very few include training in research. Professors have two options: use valuable class time to teach students as much as they can, or lower their standards with the understanding that students cannot be expected to complete tasks for which they have never been prepared.From Topic to Thesis: A Guide to Theological Research offers a third option. This affordable and accessible tool walks students through the process, focusing on five steps: finding direction, gathering sources, understanding issues, entering discussion and establishing a position. Its goal is to take students directly from a research assignment to a research argument--in other words, from topic to thesis.
Quality Research Papers by
This updated third edition of Quality Research Papers--fast becoming a standard reference textbook for writing research papers in the fields of religion and theology--gives improvements and added material for such things as the expanding field of online research and doing church-related research in a professional manner. Because so many new developments have taken place in the field of research, especially in terms of electronic research, this handy reference explores the ways to do research on the internet, including how to document such research. Quality Research Papers offers great opportunities to students today, especially in distant learning situations, to determine which resources can be used and which should be rejected. For this reason Nancy Vyhmeister brought in Terry Robertson, Seminary Librarian at Andrews University and professor of the seminary master's level research courses. His expertise in library, computers, and the Internet are invaluable to the book. In addition to substantial, current information on electronic resources and online research, this third edition preserves all of the features of the original editions, now presented in a newly revised, more logical order.
Research Strategies: Finding Your Way Through the Information Fog by
Everyone does research. Some just do it better than others. In this chaotic world of information and misinformation, referred to as "information fog," university students, in particular, need to learn how to conduct research effectively. Good research is about a quest to discover more, about a burning desire to solve society's problems and make a better world. Ultimately, research is a way forward to a resolution of life's greatest difficulties. In this seventh edition of Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog, author William Badke walks you step by step through the entire research process--from choosing a topic, to writing the final project, and everything in between.A seasoned researcher and educator, Badke offers tried-and-true tips, tricks, and strategies to help you identify a problem, acquire pertinent information, and use that information to address the problem. Employing a host of examples and humor, Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog shows how research can be exciting and fun.
