LibGuides: Business Resources: Business Resources

Business Databases

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business. .
This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998 in all areas of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. .
CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Economics & Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more..
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Hospitality & Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Insurance & Liability (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Nations of the World This link opens in a new window
A Political, Economics and Business Handbook, 2018 edition.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 250 U.S. & international newspapers..
The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
OCLC index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Principles of Business This link opens in a new window
Examine principles of business accounting, economics entrepreneurship, finance, management and marketing.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
An index of worldwide conference proceedings. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States..
Statista This link opens in a new window
"Statista provides access to comprehensive statistical data with an emphasis on market research and analysis. Statista’s expert tools, including Consumer Insights, eCommerce Insights, and Company Insights, feature a wealth of data referencing thousands of brands, tens of thousands of marketplaces, and hundreds of countries across the world. Response time is fast, and charts and graphics enhance the user experience." LJ’s Top 10 Picks for Best Databases 2022.

Related Research Guides

*Research Help*
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 2854 views this year
Boolean Logic
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 317 views this year
Faculty Favorites
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 608 views this year
Identifying Scholarly Sources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 18, 2024 1084 views this year
Reference Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 8, 2022 249 views this year
Research Worksheet
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 196 views this year
Save Searches/Search Alerts
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 9 views this year
Speeches
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated May 24, 2024 20 views this year
Style Guides
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 16, 2024 1335 views this year
Troubleshooting Access Issues
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 4, 2024 123 views this year

More Business Research Guides

Business Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 69 views this year
INB372 International Business Marketing
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 26 views this year
MKT482.1 Marketing Research
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Aug 8, 2024 1 views this year
Speeches
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated May 24, 2024 20 views this year
World View Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Apr 21, 2022 116 views this year

Open Access Resources

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open access to e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Biznar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free, deep web search portal focused on business issues.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool for researchers and organizations in the public, non-profit, and private sectors to discover, access, and analyze research data from idea to impact.
Enables researchers to analyze funding, publications, patents, datasets and policy papers
DMPTool This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An open source, online tool that helps users build a comprehensive and descriptive data management plan.
DOAB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
eScholarship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to
the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform
to scholars worldwide.
Powered by the California Digital Library eScholarship provides deposit and dissemination services for postprints, or previously published articles. Publications benefit from manuscript and peer-review management systems, as well as a full range of persistent access and preservation services.
Global Brand Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Global Brand Database is your gateway to more than 50,620,000 records from some 71 national and international collections, and the first step in researching whether a mark similar or identical to yours already exists. Search the Global Brand Database before filing a trademark application, or to simply browse marks in markets that interest you.
Perform a trademark search by text or image in brand data from multiple national and international sources, including trademarks, appellations of origin and official emblems.
The GDELT Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GDELT monitors the world's broadcast, print, and web news from nearly every country.
Through its ability to leverage the world's collective news media, GDELT moves beyond the focus of the Western media towards a far more global perspective on what's happening and how the world is feeling about it.
IAEA 1findr This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find and download scholarly peer reviewed research. An inclusive discovery platform aiming to index articles in all peer-reviewed journals, in all fields of research, in all languages and from all over the world.
Internet Archive: Open Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Other projects include:
Open Library: goal is to make all the published works of humankind available to everyone in the world.
Wayback Machine: archive of web pages
Archive-it.org: a web archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web.
Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital repository containing over 21,000 recent World Bank publications, including its annual reports, country opinion surveys, and policy research working papers.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for openly licensed academic textbooks. All textbooks are free, and the majority are peer reviewed.
RedShelf This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital textbooks available through a cloud-based eReader with enhanced study tools and interactive courseware features.
VitalSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provider of eTextbooks and digital course materials.

Demographics, Data and Statistics

U.S. Census QuickFacts Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more
more...less...
Includes Tables, Maps, Charts, and Dashboard

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base The IDB was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s.
more...less...
Data included in the IDB consist of indicators developed from censuses, surveys, administrative records, and special measures of HIV/AIDS-related mortality.
The IDB provides estimates and projections for 228 countries and areas which have populations of 5,000 or more and as recognized by the U.S. Department of State. Population size (by single year of age and sex) and components of change (fertility, mortality, and migration) are provided from an initial or base year through 2050, for each calendar year.
Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP)
STEP is a free service to allow U.S. citizens and nationals traveling and living abroad to enroll their trip with the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate.
more...less...
Receive important information from the Embassy about safety conditions in your destination country, helping you make informed decisions about your travel plans. Help the U.S. Embassy contact you in an emergency, whether natural disaster, civil unrest, or family emergency. Help family and friends get in touch with you in an emergency.
Aneki.com Search world rankings, records, top 10 lists, and more. Aneki is dedicated to promoting wider knowledge of the world's countries and regions. The website serves as a comprehensive source of continental and world rankings in an increasing number of categories. The data is derived from numerous sources including United Nations agencies and the United States' Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook.
BBC News Country Profiles Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets The Bureau of Public Affairs (PA) engages domestic and international media to communicate timely and accurate information with the goal of furthering U.S. foreign policy and national security interests as well as broadening understanding of American values. In carrying out its mission, PA employs a wide range of media platforms, provides historical perspective, and conducts public outreach.

Compare Countries (Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Choose two countries and compare their country profile, geography, history, population, area, and other important facts in the form of statistical charts, maps, images, articles and related resources.

Country Reports Provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world. With unique content from around the world including cultural, historical and statistical information.
Country Studies Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Each book was written by a multidisciplinary team of social scientists, who sought to adhere to accepted standards of scholarly objectivity. The books represent the analysis of the authors and should not be construed as an expression of an official U.S. government position, policy, or decision.
Country Watch an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
Cultural Profiles Project Provides cultural profiles of the countries of origin of Canadian immigrants to help Canadian hosts welcome immigrants to Canada by helping them understand the immigrants' cultural background. The cultural profiles were developed in association with the AMNI Centre at the Faculty of Social Work, University of Toronto, and are arranged alphabetically by country.
Eldis Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. You can search for the information you need according to key development topics and the country they relate to.
Embassy World Directory & Search Engine Of Every Nations Embassies & Consulates. Designed to provide a comprehensive list of contact resources for all of the world's diplomatic offices.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Access to high-quality, comprehensive information.
Written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other notable experts, the Encyclopædia Britannica articles are trusted resources with balanced, global perspectives and unique insights that users will not find anywhere else.

Ethnologue Find, read about, and research the world's 7,097 known living languages. Includes profiles for every language on earth, and overall statistics, guides and tools.
Etnopedia for an international community to translate ethnic people profiles into other languages. Its purpose is to inform Evangelical Protestant Christians taking the Gospel of Jesus Christ to unreached people groups. The Etnopedia community has translated over 10,000 ethnic people profiles into languages other than English. Search by People or by Countries
International Affairs Resources This WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources is an Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics. Sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.
International Monetary Fund Country Information The IMF is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
International Statistics Contains key international statistics and data sources. The selected data and data sources are produced by the most important and reliable international bodies and organisations.
LANIC The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) provides access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
Nation Master A vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Our World in Data An online publication that shows how living conditions are changing. It covers a wide range of topics across many academic disciplines: Trends in health, food provision, the growth and distribution of incomes, violence, rights, wars, culture, energy use, education, and environmental changes are empirically analyzed and visualized.
People Groups Info A resource to help you and your church to find and engage unreached diaspora peoples residing among us, no matter whether they are new immigrants, refugees, or international students in North America.
Public Data by Google Public search engine for finding statistical data and metrics.
RBA Statistics The Rapid Intelligence Pty Ltd, is an online publishing company based in Sydney, Australia. It repackages and compares data information from many different sources including the CIA World Factbook, World Bank, WHO, and FAO .
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web Listing of U.S. and international online sources of all kinds of reliable statistics.
Sustainable World Concentrates on national data mainly (but not exclusively) for developing countries provided in large part by international organizations. Recently many new sources of data at the sub-national level have become available and a selection these sites will be included in the revised listings. All sites listed will provide free data.
UK Data Service Its primary aim is to provide users with seamless and flexible access to a wide range of data resources to facilitate high quality social and economic research and education.
UN Data UN statistical databases can now be searched and download from a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
- This link opens in a new window
World Bank Open Data Free and open access to global development data. Browse by country or Indicator.
- This link opens in a new window
ZANRAN Zanran helps you to find ‘semi-structured’ data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs and tables and charts. For example, the data could be a graph in a PDF report, or a table in an Excel spreadsheet, or a barchart shown as an image in an HTML page. This huge amount of information can be difficult to find using conventional search engines, which are focused primarily on finding text rather than graphs, tables and bar charts.
- This link opens in a new window

Last updated November, 2018.

Federal Government Sources

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, provides the nation with a safe, flexible, and stable monetary and financial system.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: U.S. Department of Commerce
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.
more...less...
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Business.com
Business.com is the premier website for business news and engaging resource content focused on helping business owners and decision-makers launch, build, and expand their businesses.
CDC: 500 Cities Project
An interactive map that allows researchers to quickly access and analyze health data from the 500 largest cities in the United States. Visitors can browse this information, which is drawn from census and city data, in a number of ways. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
more...less...
Researchers interested in learning more about data by region can select an individual state on the map. From there, select from three categories (Health Outcomes; Prevention; Unhealthy
Behaviors) to view a variety of specific data measurements for cities in that state. Measurements include rates of high blood pressure, smoking, and health insurance coverage, to name just a few. Alternatively, visitors may also chose to simultaneously view all data in the United States for a particular measurement (e.g. prevalence of arthritis). Data is color coded, allowing visitors to compare cities at first glance, or visitors may hover their cursor over any individual city to view available data. In addition to this map feature, researchers can also request a comparison report for two cities, download a PDF copy of 28 data maps, or download all available data. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources.
more...less...
It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data.
IRS Small Business & Self Employed Tax Center
Resources for taxpayers who file Form 1040, Schedules C, E, F or Form 2106, as well as small businesses with assets under $10 million.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
This guide contains references to important primary sources of statistical information for the United States.
more...less...
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
he Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy to support public and private decision making.
more...less...
As an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL), BLS provides statistical guidance to the department and its agencies and works in partnership with those agencies to support their data needs. We support the DOL’s mission "To foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights."
U.S. Census Bureau International Data Base The IDB was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau to provide access to accurate and timely demographic measures for populations around the world. The database includes a comprehensive set of indicators, as produced by the U.S. Census Bureau since the 1960s.
more...less...
Data included in the IDB consist of indicators developed from censuses, surveys, administrative records, and special measures of HIV/AIDS-related mortality.
The IDB provides estimates and projections for 228 countries and areas which have populations of 5,000 or more and as recognized by the U.S. Department of State. Population size (by single year of age and sex) and components of change (fertility, mortality, and migration) are provided from an initial or base year through 2050, for each calendar year.
U.S. Census QuickFacts Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more
more...less...
Includes Tables, Maps, Charts, and Dashboard
U.S. Census QuickFacts Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more
more...less...
Includes Tables, Maps, Charts, and Dashboard
U.S. Department of the Treasury: Resource Center
The Treasury Resource Center contains information and documents that are organized by topic area.

Business Resources: Business Resources

Books on Business

Business Databases

Related Research Guides

More Business Research Guides

Open Access Resources

Demographics, Data and Statistics

Federal Government Sources