LibGuides: Global Studies Research: Databases, Open Access Resources, Web sites

Databases

Compare Countries (Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Choose two countries and compare their country profile, geography, history, population, area, and other important facts in the form of statistical charts, maps, images, articles and related resources.
Countries, Peoples & Cultures (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Includes Central & South America; Central, South & Southeast Asia; Western Europe; Easter Europe; Middle East & North Africa; Eastern & Southern Africa; Western & Central Africa; North America & The Caribbean; and East Asia & The Pacific.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Analyze important global issues and events through Topic Overviews, International Viewpoints, Academic Journals, Primary Sources, Reference Sources, Biographies, Infographics, Images, Videos, Audio, News, Magazines, Statistics, Websites, and Related Topics..
Israel & Palestine (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Israel & Palestine features important information on the ongoing conflict between Israel and Palestine throughout world history. This content will provide a deeper understanding of the political, economic, and social impacts of this conflict from an historical perspective.
Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Includes information on COVID-19, General Information About Pandemics, pandemics of the Late Middle Ages, Seventeenth, Eighteenth , Nineteenth, Twentieth and the Twenty-First Centuries.
Ukraine & Russia (Salem Reference) This link opens in a new window
Includes People & Culture, Wars & Conflicts, Former Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, Treaties and Alliances.

Open Access Resources

China Biographical Database Project This link opens in a new window
A relational database with biographical information of approximately 360,000 individuals, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. The data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference.
GeoNames Gazetteer This link opens in a new window
Geographical database covers all countries and place-names and includes statistics and postal codes.
The GDELT Project This link opens in a new window
GDELT monitors the world's broadcast, print, and web news from nearly every country.
Through its ability to leverage the world's collective news media, GDELT moves beyond the focus of the Western media towards a far more global perspective on what's happening and how the world is feeling about it.
Los Angeles Area Census 2000 Statistical Compilation This link opens in a new window
Statistics on demographics, social, economic and housing characteristics for Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Ventura Counties.
Los Angeles County Census 2000 Statistical Compilation This link opens in a new window
Statistics on demographics, social, economic and housing characteristics.

Web sites

Association of Religion Data Archives This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the best data on religion. The archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by the foremost scholars and research centers in the world.
Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute, the College of Liberal Arts, and the Department of Sociology at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, Chapman University and the Pennsylvania State University.
DeepL Translator This link opens in a new window
DeepL Pro released in March of 2018, has developed an AI translation system that represents a quantum leap in translation quality. The artificial intelligence is far superior to all extant translation technologies and is free to use on www.DeepL.com.
International Mission Board Archives This link opens in a new window
The Archives collect, preserve, and make available resource materials that document Southern Baptist field personnel and missions history while networking with Southern Baptist Convention entities on research requests, records management practices, information sharing, and special projects.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.