Skip to Main Content

*The Robert L. Powell Library*: NEWS

Discover who we are and what we can do for you at The Master's University, Robert L. Powell Library.

NEWS

The Powell Library is happy to announce a new resource for students and faculty alike -- NICHE ACADEMY!

Niche Academy will help you WORK SMARTER NOT HARDER!

Niche Academy contains numerous instructional videos for using many of the Powell Library databases: EBSCO, GALE, Naxos, ProQuest and more. It also has video tutorials on Research Skills, Critical Thinking Skills, Using AI Ethically, U.S. Copyright Basics, and even how to use Citation Generators like Zotero. 

To access Niche Academy use this link: <https://my.nicheacademy.com/masters-edu> or from the library web site select Niche Academy from the options under Robert L. Powell Library Resources. The link is also available on Find Databases.

Last updated July 2024.

Special Events

THE REFORMATION IN ONE HOUR

"The Entire Reformation in One Hour!" is an upcoming lecture hosted by Dr. Horner in the Legacy Room, Friday, October 25th at 7pm. Everyone is welcome.

POETRY SLAM

Powell Library invites you to attend the 8th Annual Charles Miller Poetry Slam! Join us Friday,  November 1 at 7 p.m. in the Library for a night of light refreshments and artistic expression from your very own TMU students. For any questions, please contact ksheridan@masters.edu.

Last updated October 2024.

New Databases

AVAILABLE NOW!

NICHE ACADEMY

Provides instructional videos for selected databases, research skills, critical thinking skills, generative AI, and more.

PQDT GLOBAL: HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES COLLECTION 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on humanities and social science. Index coverage: 1637 - current; Full text coverage 1861 - current.

Last updated July 2024.

Trial Databases

BRILL: Includes all Brill E-Books in the Humanities & Social Sciences, Biology and the International Law and Human Rights & Humanitarian Law E-Book collections.

TRIAL ENDS December 31, 2024.

De Gruyter Brill: De Gruyter/Brill publish over 1,500 books and 16,000 journal articles every year, across 30 subject areas. TRIAL ENDSs December 31, 2024.

De Gruyter eBooks: One of the world’s largest and most reputable publishers of scholarly books.

TRIAL ENDS December 31, 2024.

De Gruyter eJournals: Subjects include areas like natural and social sciences, economics, technology, mathematics, architecture, design and more.

TRIAL ENDS December 31, 2024.

HeinOnline 
Provides resources for political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, pre-law, and more. Includes Pentagon Papers, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Code, Legal Classics, California State Law & Legislation, and more.
TRIAL ENDS January 3, 2025.
 
Last updated October 2024.

Noteworthy Services

Book Scanning Service: The Copyright Law Fair Use exemption permits scanning of portions of books for scholarship, research, criticism, comment, parody and transformative use. Therefore, selected hardcopy book chapters/sections can be scanned and delivered electronically to current TMU students and faculty upon request. This service is limited only to those books available in The Master’s University Powell Library. Click here for details.

Additional Noteworthy Services:

  • Book Drop: The external book drop is to the left of the entrance near the water fountain.
  • Book Pick-up Service: Click here for details.
  • Controlled Digital Lending: Borrow a digital form of a physical book held by the Powell Library for your personal research, scholarship, commentary, criticism, teaching, or transformative use. Downloading, printing, copying or otherwise duplicating are prohibited. Click here for details.
  • Group Study Rooms: The Robert L. Powell Library is pleased to provide Group Study Rooms to TMU students, faculty and staff. Group Study Rooms are intended for student collaborative study, small group projects, small group instruction and small group meetings. Please see the GSR Policy Agreement for more details.
  • Reference Services: Contact Miss T. at jtillman@masters.edu.or 661.362.2201 or stop by the new Reference Desk Monday thru Friday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
  • InterLibrary Loan Service (ILL): See InterLibrary Loan for more details. Please note: patrons must authenticate access by signing in to their library patron account.
  • Direct to Student Delivery Service: click here for details.

Last updated November 2023.