LibGuides: LS220 Research Methods: Science Research Resources

Science Research Resources

All EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Newly redesigned EBSCO Discovery Service simultaneously searching all of the TMU subscribed EBSCO databases.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspective of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. .
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine with indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back to 1990.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Captures current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; Sets the work in historical context; Highlights the major questions that remain to be addressed and the likely course of research in upcoming years; and Outlines the practical applications and general significance of research to society. As of 2023, every new volume is converted to Open Access under a Creative Common license and is available for everyone to read and use. In addition, all articles from the most recent nine volumes are also accessible to all.
The number of Annual Review journals continues to grow over a broad range of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Covers over 15 different academic subjects.
Careers In This link opens in a new window
Includes Careers in Sports Medicine & Training, the Music Industry, Biology, Engineering, Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity.
Earth Science This link opens in a new window
essays on basic topics in geology, geophysics, atmospheric sciences, oceanography, environmental science, paleontology and planetology, is designed to provide and introduction to our latest understanding of the Earth's physical features and dynamic processes, as well as those of the solar system in which it resides.
Electronic Collections Online This link opens in a new window
An OCLC index of scholarly journals. Last updated June 2012.
Freely view abstracts from numerous university and scholarly publishers. Full-text articles may be ordered through Interlibrary Loan. 1995 to present. Updated daily.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Understand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content..
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
Gardening & Horticulture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment..
Contains scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts as well as Open Access full text.
Health Source: Consumer This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer health information on many health topics..
Includes access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines in the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines..
Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers generic drug patient education sheets including brand names as well as Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to literature in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing..
Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. 1950 to present. Updated daily.
Principles of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides a solid foundation to the study of several popular fields of science. An excellent starting off point to develop a thorough understanding of this complex subject.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Browse by Topic, Titles list and Educator Resources..
Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search.
Science Reference (Salem) This link opens in a new window
Search Reference sources about ancient creatures, earth science, principles of astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, mechanics, modern agriculture, physical science, physics, programming & coding, robotics and artificial intelligence, and sports medicine & exercise science.
The Reference Shelf (Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A balanced exploration of current topics through selected essays.

Agricola This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window Open access to e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals. The journals span all areas of biology, medicine and health.
- This link opens in a new window
All original research articles we publish are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. Authors retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window BioOne Complete is a database of 207 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
- This link opens in a new window

Bird Academy Broaden your understanding of birds. Free and premium content for all knowledge levels. Learn everything—from birding basics to comprehensive ornithology. Includes COURSES, INTERACTIVES, VIDEOS, ARTICLES, AND ALL KINDS OF BIRD-OLOGY
more...less...
A team of biologists, educators, illustrators, designers, and web developers working together to create a site that does justice to the fascinating lives of birds.

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal This link opens in a new window An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health. This site offers unprecedented access to climate- and health-related literature published between 2007 and 2023. The wide-ranging content features literature from the biomedical, ecological, and geophysical sciences. Information focuses primarily on health impacts associated with climate variability/change and weather-related natural disasters.
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Cochrane gathers and summarizes the best evidence from research to help you make informed choices about treatment for anyone interested in using high-quality information to make health decisions. Whether you are a doctor or nurse, patient or carer, researcher or funder,
- This link opens in a new window
eLife This link opens in a new window eLife is a peer-reviewed open access scientific journal for the biomedical and life sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
Elsevier Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window A–Z Directory of open access journals provided by Elsevier.
- This link opens in a new window
Elsevier supports both gold and green open access.
Gold: published research available for free to everyone
Green: a subscription article which is also available for free
Food & Nutrition Information Center This link opens in a new window FNIC strives to serve the professional community (including educators, health professionals and researchers) by providing access to a wide range of trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources.
The FNIC website provides information about food and human nutrition. The materials found on this website are not intended to be used for the diagnosis or treatment of a health problem or as a substitute for consulting a licensed health professional.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility This link opens in a new window Allows "anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet." GBIF functions as a one-stop shop for data from a number of institutions around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Created in 1999 on the recommendation of an Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development panel. In the Data section, researchers can access information in a number of ways, including by Country, Dataset, and Species.
[MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
HHMI BioInteractive This link opens in a new window Multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs. Video resources range from a series of short films to lectures given by Nobel-prize winners, all supplemented by teacher guides and classroom activities.
- This link opens in a new window
Many of the resources are targeted to a high school and undergraduate audience but can be easily adapted to different levels of instruction. They can be used in a flipped, blended, or traditional classroom.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher
- This link opens in a new window
MDPI This link opens in a new window Provides diverse, peer-reviewed, open access journals ensuring the latest research is freely available and all content is distributed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY). Content is available to everyone free of charge.
- This link opens in a new window
MedCrave This link opens in a new window MedCrave publishes journals and eBooks of original research and case studies, making original scientific content freely available to researchers; think pieces, editorial essays, and more. Their expert Editorial Board members ensure that everything they publish goes through a comprehensive peer review process.
- This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window MedlinePlus is the most authoritative source for consumer-oriented health information.
- This link opens in a new window
Mednar This link opens in a new window Federated Search of public collections such as CDC, PubMed and Medline Plus for medical researchers.
- This link opens in a new window
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window The most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals and is updated regularly with accurate information curated by experts.
- This link opens in a new window
The Merck Index* Online offers the same highly authoritative information as the print edition in a convenient and easily searchable full text database. It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition.
Merck Manuals This link opens in a new window Merck Manuals one of the most widely used medical information resources containing the best current medical information to enable more informed decisions, enhance relationships between patients and professionals and improve health care outcomes around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Professional version <>
Consumer version <>
Veterinary edition <>
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window Known for iconic design, rigorous scholarship, and creative technology, the MIT Press is a leading publisher of books and journals at the intersection of science, technology, and the arts.
- This link opens in a new window
NCBI This link opens in a new window Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- This link opens in a new window
OMICS International This link opens in a new window OMICS International is an organization that amalgamates Open Access Publications and International science events for the benefit of the global scientific community.
- This link opens in a new window
Open Knowledge Maps This link opens in a new window OPEN KNOWLEDGE MAPS is a visual interface to the world's scientific knowledge. Geared toward teachers, students, and researchers, this open-source search engine for scientific knowledge provides users with a visual map of their results, making it easier to identify relevant content and concepts.
- This link opens in a new window
PeerJ This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed & Open Access journal publishing primary research and reviews in biology, life sciences, environmental sciences, medicine and computing.
- This link opens in a new window
PLOS This link opens in a new window PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
- This link opens in a new window
Channels for collaboration where peers can share work and exchange ideas, with proper acknowledgement for contributions. Through this interchange, work can advance faster, so science can advance further and in a more dynamic way than ever before.
PLOS Collections This link opens in a new window Content from PLOS journals and the PLOS Blogs Network are selected and compiled to provide structured access to papers of interest in the PLOS corpus and demonstrate innovative approaches to the assessment, organization and reuse of research, data and commentary.
- This link opens in a new window
PLOS Collections can be broadly divided into two types: Archive Collections selects content on particular topics and Special Collections involve the submission of new papers on a particular topic or by a specific group and are by arrangement only.
PLOS Currents This link opens in a new window An innovative, online publication channel for new scientific research and ideas organized by focused research areas.
- This link opens in a new window
It aims to minimize the delay between the generation and publication of new research, and publishes content which is peer-reviewed; citable; publicly archived in PubMed; and indexed by Scopus.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- This link opens in a new window
Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- This link opens in a new window
The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies. It is making available free journal articles, peer-reviewed accepted manuscripts, and reports of research funded by federal science agencies, as well as the agencies’ public access policies and requirements.
Science Direct Open Access This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect Open Access hosts a growing number of open access journals. There are no subscription charges for these journals, and all articles are available to anyone with an internet connection.
- This link opens in a new window
Enables open science through itsr approach to open access, open data, research integrity, knowledge exchange, metrics and more, to benefit research and society and drive research performance.
ScienceOpen This link opens in a new window ScienceOpen is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open. It provides advanced search and discovery functions, along with post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing, and collection-building features.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceResearch.com This link opens in a new window ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that retrieves the most relevant results from over 300 authoritative science and technology collections to one, easily navigable page.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceResearch.com removes duplicate results, and then weighs each result for relevance according to how closely it matches your search word or phrase.
Scientific Data This link opens in a new window Scientific Data is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data.
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific Data primarily publishes Data Descriptors, a new type of publication that focuses on helping others reuse data, and crediting those who share.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window Offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books.
- This link opens in a new window
It has a high-level peer-review and production processes guaranteeing the quality and reliability of the work. The use of a Creative Commons License enables authors/editors to retain copyright to their work. Publications can be reused and redistributed as long as the original author is correctly attributed.
The work is freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication,
Teach Me Anatomy This link opens in a new window A comprehensive anatomy encyclopedia presented in a visually-appealing, easy-to-read format.
Created by a team of doctors and medical students, each topic combines anatomical knowledge with high-yield clinical pearls, seamlessly bridging the gap between scholarly learning and improved patient care.
The Lancet This link opens in a new window A journal suite for biomedical & clinical open access research, ranging from preclinical studies with human relevance and diseases mechanisms to population-level studies and global health.
- This link opens in a new window
The Math3ma Institute This link opens in a new window The Math3ma Institute is a group of academic researchers based at The Master’s University in Santa Clarita, CA, who work in a wide range of STEM fields including mathematics, computer science, engineering, machine learning, life sciences and more. Fascinated by the beauty, complexity, and mysteries in the world around us, we seek to dive deep into the unknown and share those scientific discoveries with the world in engaging and accessible ways.
- This link opens in a new window
USDA FoodData Central This link opens in a new window Search the database by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for your food items. You can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content.
WolframAlpha This link opens in a new window A fundamentally new paradigm for getting knowledge and answers—not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms and methods. Bringing broad, deep, expert-level knowledge to everyone... anytime, anywhere.
- This link opens in a new window
WolframAlpha collects and curates objective data; implements every known model, method and algorithm; and makes it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Their work builds on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries.
WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases.
- This link opens in a new window
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
The WorldWideScience Alliance, a multilateral partnership, consists of participating member countries and provides the governance structure for WorldWideScience.org.

American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is house.
A free resource accessible to all researchers, American Doctoral Dissertations is available on the EBSCOhost® platform, and the content is available via EBSCO Discovery Service™.
Dissertations Express This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Students, faculty, and other researchers search the database for titles related to their scholarly interests. You may purchase either unbound, shrink-wrapped print copies or PDF files.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NDLTD is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Use the Global ETD search to find electronic theses & dissertation.
Supports electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Full Text includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

American Mathematical Society Blogs
A blog that covers a variety of mathematic topics in an entertaining way.
Botanical Art & Artists: How to draw and paint leaves and trees
Tips and techniques for how to draw and paint botanically correct trees and leaves.
Drawing and watercolor painting instruction includes step by step demonstrations, videos and books.
CDC: 500 Cities Project
An interactive map that allows researchers to quickly access and analyze health data from the 500 largest cities in the United States. Visitors can browse this information, which is drawn from census and city data, in a number of ways. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu
more...less...
Researchers interested in learning more about data by region can select an individual state on the map. From there, select from three categories (Health Outcomes; Prevention; Unhealthy
Behaviors) to view a variety of specific data measurements for cities in that state. Measurements include rates of high blood pressure, smoking, and health insurance coverage, to name just a few. Alternatively, visitors may also chose to simultaneously view all data in the United States for a particular measurement (e.g. prevalence of arthritis). Data is color coded, allowing visitors to compare cities at first glance, or visitors may hover their cursor over any individual city to view available data. In addition to this map feature, researchers can also request a comparison report for two cities, download a PDF copy of 28 data maps, or download all available data. [MMB]
Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu

Linus Pauling Institute This link opens in a new window
Research programs at the Linus Pauling Institute investigate the role that vitamins and essential minerals (micronutrients) and chemicals from plants (phytochemicals) play in human aging, immune function, and chronic disease.
The goal of these studies is to understand the mechanisms by which diet, micronutrients, and dietary supplements affect disease initiation and progression and can be used in the prevention or treatment of human diseases, thereby enhancing lifespan and healthspan.
MeSH This link opens in a new window
The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is a controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabulary produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is used for indexing, cataloging, and searching of biomedical and health-related information. MeSH includes the subject headings appearing in MEDLINE/PubMed, the NLM Catalog, and other NLM databases.
NASA Image and Video Library This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images freely available.
Paleobiology Database This link opens in a new window
The Paleobiology Database (PBDB) is a non-governmental, non-profit public resource for paleontological data. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for organisms of all geological ages, as well as data services to allow easy access to data for independent development of analytical tools, visualization software, and applications of all types. The Database’s broader goal is to encourage and enable data-driven collaborative efforts that address large-scale paleobiological questions.

Related Research Guides

*Research Help*
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 3023 views this year
*The Robert L. Powell Library*
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 4865 views this year
Access Library Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 788 views this year
Copyright for Students
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 791 views this year
Copyright for TMU Faculty
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 1004 views this year
Discovery Catalog
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 72 views this year
Faculty Favorites
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 672 views this year
For Faculty
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 151 views this year
Frequently Asked Questions
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 239 views this year
GS150 Essentials of Geology
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 155 views this year
Identifying Scholarly Sources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 1171 views this year
InterLibrary Loan
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 403 views this year
Library Jargon
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 123 views this year
Library News
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 47 views this year
LS150 Biology
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Nov 26, 2024 8 views this year
LS220 Research Methods
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 18 views this year
LS252 Cell Biology Research Abstracts
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 22 views this year
Science Research
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 60 views this year
Troubleshooting Access Issues
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 6, 2024 140 views this year
World View Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Dec 13, 2024 199 views this year

Reference Librarian

Janet "Miss T." Tillman

Email Me

Contact:

Robert L. Powell Library
The Master's University
21726 Placerita Canyon. Rd.
Santa Clarita, CA 91321

1.661.362.2201

Subjects: About the Library, Biblical Counseling, Biblical Studies, Business, Communication, Copyright Law, Education, Fine Arts, Global Studies & Missions Abroad, History, Humanities, Kinesiology, Law & Legislation, Literature, Mathematics, Politics & International Relations, Research, Sciences, TMS

LS220 Research Methods: Science Research Resources

Access Resources

Science Research Resources

Related Research Guides

Reference Librarian