LibGuides: CIS492/MIS492 Senior Seminar: Databases with CIS Journals

Find Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index and full text database covering many academic journals from many fields of study. .
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including many peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business. .
This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998 in all areas of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. .
CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). In addition, CMMC features over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.
LISTA This link opens in a new window
Indexes core journals, books, research reports and proceedings in the areas of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more..
Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects..
It is a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. From 1971 forward.

Related Research Guides

*Research Help*
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 2552 views this year
Boolean Logic
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 267 views this year
Faculty Favorites
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 552 views this year
Identifying Scholarly Sources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 950 views this year
Reference Resources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 8, 2022 231 views this year
Research Worksheet
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 168 views this year
Save Searches/Search Alerts
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 9 views this year
Speeches
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated May 24, 2024 18 views this year
Style Guides
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Oct 5, 2024 1197 views this year
Troubleshooting Access Issues
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 119 views this year

Open Access Journals and eBooks

DOAB This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enables you to search the description of the books and to download them from the site of the publisher.
DOAJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
E-Books Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free web resource which contains links to freely downloadable e-books, technical papers, documents, as well as user contributed content, articles, reviews and comments. E-Books Directory is a service to students, researchers and e-book lovers.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World’s largest Science, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher
PeerJ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed & Open Access journal publishing primary research and reviews in biology, life sciences, environmental sciences, medicine and computing.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals and books.
It has a high-level peer-review and production processes guaranteeing the quality and reliability of the work. The use of a Creative Commons License enables authors/editors to retain copyright to their work. Publications can be reused and redistributed as long as the original author is correctly attributed.
The work is freely available online for everyone, immediately upon publication,

Related CIS Research Guides

Boolean Logic
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 291 views this year
CIS492/MIS492 Senior Seminar
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated May 24, 2024 103 views this year
Identifying Scholarly Sources
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 952 views this year
Troubleshooting Access Issues
by Janet "Miss T." Tillman Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 119 views this year

Search Strategies

When searching the Powell Library Discovery Catalog or one of its Databases:

Limit the results to Scholarly and/or Peer Reviewed
Limit the results to the specified date range for the assignment
Optionally, you may want to limit the language to English

Figure 1. Powell Library Catalog

Figure 2. EBSCO Databases

Figure 3. ProQuest Databases