LibGuides: *The Robert L. Powell Library*: FAQs

Accessing Library Resources

If you are attempting to access the Powell Library’s online resources, i.e., ebooks, articles, etc., you need to use your TMU credentials, the same ones used to access Canvas & Self Service. See the Research Guide: “Access Library Resources” <https://masters.libguides.com/searchthelibrary> for details. You will also want to watch this short video tutorial to learn how to find all the databases licensed to the Powell Library: Find Databases.

If you are attempting to access your library patron account, you will need your People ID number (aka System ID number), which can be found on Self Service (select My Profile then Account Information).along with whatever password you create. Use all nine digits, but do not use the dashes or the "P". If you do not receive an email after selecting "Set/Reset Password", your patron account does not yet exist. Please fill out the Patron Registration Form and send it to Miss T. at jtillman@masters.edu. She will create your account and let you know when you may try again to create your password. Watch this short video tutorial for instructions: Sign in to your Library Patron Account. You could also read this Research Guide: “Sign in to My Account”:

Last updated May 2024.

Find and Use Resources

Access electronic resources?
Use the same TMU credentials you use to access Self Service and Canvas to access the library's eBooks and articles.
Find Books & Articles on my topic?
Use the library's Discovery catalog to find books, articles and more on any research topic.
Find Peer Reviewed articles?
Use "Content Type" and select "Peer Reviewed" when searching the library Discovery Catalog. Many online databases also have an option to limit your results to "Scholarly / Peer Reviewed Journals". See the link above for more details.
Find Scholarly books?
Look for these criteria: bibliography; index; illustrations, graphs or charts; 100+ pages; scholarly publisher. See the link above for additional information on how to identify a scholarly book.
Find Commentaries?
Search the subject field [su:] with the book of the bible and the word "commentaries" or the word "criticism". Like this:
su:genesis commentaries
su:genesis criticism
Find MABC Theses?
Use the link above for lists of the completed MABC Theses by Author, Title and Topic.

-- Find opposing viewpoints / issues related to my topic?

Use these search terms: view*; "comparative studies"; problem*; difficulty; dilemma*; dispute*; controver*; ideas; opinion*; perspective*; position; standpoint.

NOTE: the asterisk (*) is a truncation symbol commanding the search engine to look for the root word and every variation thereafter, i.e. view* will retrieve view, viewed, viewing, views.

Format papers in Turabian?
Use the Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMOS) [https://masters.libguides.com/cmos] or "The Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian, et al. [9780226430577]. Using the link above see also the Citation Quick Guide and Tip Sheets for more details.
How do I troubleshoot a bad link?
There's almost always another way to access the same resources. Use the attached link to troubleshoot errors when View eBook or View Article links don't work properly. Feel free to contact Miss T. for assistance, jtillman@masters.edu.
May I make a copy of a work?
Use the Fair Use Checklist to help weigh the Purpose, Nature, Amount and Market Effect of a copyrighted work to determine the likelihood of freedom to duplicate it.
Obtain Books or Articles the library does not have?
The library can get almost any book, article or other resource for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
How do I "check out" print books as a distance learning student?
There are several options available to you as a distance student. You can utilize our Book Scanning Service, our Controlled Digital Lending Service or use your local public library’s Interlibrary Loan service.
Download EBSCO eBooks
From the EBSCO database platform, select "Sign In" at the tope of the EBSCOhost toolbar. Then click "Create a new Account".

For more information see Research Guides.

Last updated November 2022.

Patron Account, ID numbers and ID cards

Find my People ID number?
Your People ID number is located on your TMU ID card. Also, it can be found on Self Service (Students: https://www.masters.edu/current-students/; Faculty: https://www.masters.edu/faculty-staff/); select My Profile, then Account Information. The System ID number is your People ID number.
Get my ID card?
New students' ID cards are put in your mailboxes within a few days of arrival on campus. Lost or damaged ID cards may be replaced in the library for a fee.
The Transact eAccounts app can be downloaded to your cell phone. It functions as your ID card everywhere on campus except the library. For assitance contact IT Help desk.
How do I Sign in to My Account?
Use your People ID number (without the "P") and a password that you create to sign in to your library patron account. Use the link above for further instructions on setting/resetting your "Sign in" password.
My Patron Account has expired
*Contact the Circulation Desk: libcircdesk@masters.edu; 661.362.2278.
*Provide your name and People ID number (aka System ID number).
*Your expiration date will be extended another year.
My People ID number doesn't work
1. Do not include the "P"
2. Use all nine digits
3. Do not use dashes
4. If you are trying to access the library's electronic resources, use your TMU credentials. The same credentials used to access Canvas and Self Service.
5. You may not have an account yet. Fill out a Patron Registration Form https://masters.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=76512740. Return completed form to Miss T. at jtillman@masters.edu. You will need your System ID number (aka People ID number) which can be found on Self Service (https://www.masters.edu/current-students/); select My Profile then Account Information.

For more details see About the Library.

Last updated May 2024.

Work smarter not harder. Ask Miss T

Janet "Miss T." Tillman

Email Me

Contact:

Robert L. Powell Library
The Master's University
21726 Placerita Canyon. Rd.
Santa Clarita, CA 91321

1.661.362.2201

Subjects: About the Library, Biblical Counseling, Biblical Studies, Business, Communication, Copyright Law, Education, Fine Arts, Global Outreach, History, Humanities, Kinesiology, Law & Legislation, Literature, Mathematics, Politics & International Relations, Research, Sciences, TMS

Whom to See About What

For more information or assistance contact:

Circulation Desk: 661.362.2278; libcircdesk@masters.edu

Circulation Manager: Miss K. (Kyrie Sheridan); (661) 362-2272; ksheridan@masters.edu. Miss K. will assist with anything related to your library patron account, borrowing privileges, Reserve materials, InterLibrary Loan, etc. Miss Sheridan will also fulfill your requests for Book Scanning Services and Book Pick-up Service. Please submit all service request forms to libcircdesk@masters.edu.

Reference Desk: Miss T. (Janet Tillman); jtillman@masters.edu; 661.362.2201. Miss T. is available for assistance with any research need and can help in selecting and searching online databases. She also should be consulted for issues relating to accessing online resources as well as questions regarding copyright law. In addition, Miss T. can be consulted for questions on the Chicago/Turabian Style formatting.

Interlibrary Loan Service: Mrs. Grace Kamffer; gkamffer@masters.edu. . ILL provides access to items not currently available in our own library collection or not available in full-text through our online databases. For problems concerning your ILL requests, please contact Mrs. Kamffer. See https://masters.libguides.com/il for more details.

Library Director: Mr. John Stone; 661.362.2271; jstone@masters.edu. Mr. Stone provides oversight, management and direction for both the Robert L. Powell Library and The Master’s Seminary Library. He is particularly knowledgeable of books and authors in the areas of Bible and theology especially those of the Puritans.

Last updated July 2023.