A study of the first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution, collectively known as the Bill of Rights, including how their meanings have changed over the years.
Selected essays to explore current events.
Choose two countries and compare their country profile, geography, history, population, area, and other important facts in the form of statistical charts, maps, images, articles and related resources.
Defines the 27 amendments in comprehensive chapters with detailed narratives on the process behind each amendment and includes supportive material designed to help students and researchers more fully grasp the rationale behind the amendments, their opposition, votes, and public sentiment.
Includes Central & South America; Central, South & Southeast Asia; Western Europe; Easter Europe; Middle East & North Africa; Eastern & Southern Africa; Western & Central Africa; North America & The Caribbean; and East Asia & The Pacific.
A collection of works containing important historical documents on a broad range of subjects in American history.
A collection of important historical documents covering the environment, immigration, dissent & protest, supreme court decisions and the legacy of 9/11.
A collection of important historical documents ranging from the ancient world to the twentieth century.
A detailed discussion of the Continental Congress, the people behind it, or what other events and persons had been important at that time and includes in-depth accounts of places, battles, laws, treaties, and court cases that were significant to the workings of the Continental Congress.
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Last updated June 2012.
Provides biographies of important people from all historical periods and from every part of the globe and covers achievements of thousands of individuals in numerous disciplines, including science, politics, arts and humanities.
Contains the Encyclopedia of Gun Rights & Gun Control in the United States.
Israel & Palestine features important information on the ongoing conflict between Israel and Palestine throughout world history. This content will provide a deeper understanding of the political, economic, and social impacts of this conflict from an historical perspective.
Examine the many issues surrounding immigration—from the earliest settlement of British North America in the seventeenth century to the latest twenty-first century immigration legislation, including: Affordable Care Act and Undocumented Immigrants; DREAM Act; Real ID Act; and Secure Fence Act.
Current News pertaining to all branches of the military and government from periodicals, academic journals and other pertinent content..
Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..
A Political, Economics and Business Handbook, 2018 edition.
Provides information on current issues including: Featured Viewpoints, Academic Journals, Viewpoints, Primary Sources, Reference Sources, Biographies, Infographics, Images, Videos, Audio, News, Magazines, Statistics, Websites, and Related Topics.
Contains: Political Corruption in America: An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power, and Greed, 3rd ed.
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..
The Electoral Process, Debates, 12th & 23rd Amendments, Presidents who won their election, but not the popular vote and more.
A balanced exploration of current topics through selected essays.
A comprehensive and up-to-date survey of the history and functioning of the U.S. Supreme Court as well as information on all the Supreme Court Justices, articles on key constitutional issues and hundreds of landmark cases.
Includes Nuclear Arms (INF treaty), Iran Nuclear Deal, NAFTA, and NATO,
Contains: Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet, 3rd ed.
Includes People & Culture, Wars & Conflicts, Former Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, Treaties and Alliances.
Democracy's Library brings together more than 700 collections from over 50 government organizations, archived by the Internet Archive since 2006. With more than half a million documents (and counting) from local, regional, and national governments,
Provides free online access to official documents and publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the federal government.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The majority of the items in the HSDL Collection are openly searchable and available to the public, with no account or authorization necessary.
"The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), a bipartisan organization serving U.S. law and policymakers, provides objective, fact- and evidence-based research across 1,400-plus issue areas, including agriculture, budget and taxes, education, health care, immigration, and more. The intuitive interface on their site ensures that users can access up-to-date information on pending legislation and new research resources. Results can be refined by topic, policy type, date, availability of databases, graphics, maps, tables, and more." LJ’s Picks for Best Free Resources 2022
A nonprofit, nonpartisan and non-advocacy fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Statistical Abstract data ranges from 1889 to 2011 with historical supplements from 1789. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available. For access to volumes not available through this project, please contact your local Federal Depository Library.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
