History Research: History Resources

Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level..

Covers over 15 different academic subjects.

Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Last updated June 2012.

The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses..

Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources..

Quickly access articles from scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes Topic Finder, Subject Guide Search, and Publication Search..

Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.

Features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history from several time periods in American History.

Publishes open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology) from 1990 to the present.

Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

The Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) is a standard work of reference with articles on more than 29,000 notable figures from British history. It was originally published in 63 volumes between 1885 and 1900, by Smith, Elder & Co.

Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science..

Europeana provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with digital access to European cultural heritage material.

Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present, including books, articles, maps, e-resources, and more.

Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Also includes primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, Art & Archaeology Artifacts, Arabic language documents, Materials for the study of the Germanic Peoples, Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States, Primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature, Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch, and Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin.

The core works and authors listed on this site were taken from the Great Books Foundation adult reading program, the reading list in the back of How To Read A Book (Mortimer Adler's classic text on intelligent reading), the Great Books of the Western World collection, and the Harvard Classics series. Some books have been included based on their reputation.